User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  1
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Dust Bunnies Begone!!

  1. #1
    Account Closed
    Join Date
    15 Feb 2009
    Location
    Perth,Australia
    Posts
    238
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Dust Bunnies Begone!!




    How can I get rid of them in PS? thanks

  2. #2
    Ausphotography Veteran
    Join Date
    28 Jan 2009
    Location
    Logan Reserve, QLD
    Posts
    2,862
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    use the clone stamp... select the colour as close to the spot as you can, and clone away! or you can use the healing tool as well.
    Happy to take all constructive Critique, please don't rework or edit my photos. Thanks!

    Canon 6D, 2 Canon 50D's gripped, Canon 1000D, Canon 70-200 F2.8 ( non IS),Canon 70-200 2.8, Canon 24-70 2.8, Sigma 85 1.4, Canon 50mm F1.8.. yongnuo speedlights and triggers, and manfrotto tripods.


  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    22 Jul 2008
    Location
    Rosebud, Mornington Peninsula
    Posts
    2,838
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    dust bunnies never fun
    Cat (aka Cathy) - Another Canon user - 400D, 18-55,75-300mm Kit Lens,50mm f1.8, Tamron 90mm f2.8 Macro, Sigma 28-70 f2.8-4 DG, Tripod and a willingness to learn
    Software used: PhotoImpact, Irfanview and a lot of plugins
    We don't make a photograph just with a camera, we bring to the act of photography all the books we have read, the movies we have seen, the music we have heard, the people we have loved. - Ansel Adams


  4. #4
    Account Closed
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    15 Feb 2009
    Location
    Perth,Australia
    Posts
    238
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Kirsty, the clone tool was giving me an unrealistic effect, that's why i asked, the heal tool was brilliant.

  5. #5
    Ausphotography Regular
    Join Date
    14 Sep 2008
    Location
    Salamander Bay NSW
    Posts
    737
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Use the healing tool (depending on what version of Photoshop you have) alternatively it can also be done easily in Camera Raw with the spot removal brush (B)
    Margaret

    Nikon D7100 Manfrotto MF 055XPROB Pro Tripod & gynbal head, Nikon 18-70 mm, Sigma 10-20 mm, Kenko tubes, Nikkor 80-300 mm VR, Sigma 180 mm macro, Sigma 120-400 mm OS lenses, SB600 Speedlight, Photoshop CS5 on a Mac, Caapture One 7, Lightroom 4 Critiques welcomed


  6. #6
    Ausphotography Veteran
    Join Date
    08 Nov 2009
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    3,303
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Gregg Bell View Post
    How can I get rid of them in PS? thanks
    The non-destructive approach is to create a new layer, select that layer, select the clone tool, sample an area near the dust-bunny and then clone out the dust-bunny.

  7. #7
    can't remember Tannin's Avatar
    Join Date
    16 Apr 2007
    Location
    Ballarat
    Posts
    2,895
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    When cloning, Gregg, you may find it useful to alter the opacity. Sometimes you can use three or four dobs of 40% opacity instead of 1 dob of 100% to make a neater, less obvious job. Mix and match methods depending on what is working on particular shots.

  8. #8
    Member matilda's Avatar
    Join Date
    20 Nov 2008
    Location
    Stawell, Vic
    Posts
    483
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yeah i alternate between the heal and the clone. it's trial and error

  9. #9
    Ausphotography Veteran
    Join Date
    08 Nov 2009
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    3,303
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    From memory, it's not possible to use the healing/patch tool on a separate, blank layer.

    If I'm wrong about that, can someone clarify?

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    09 Aug 2007
    Location
    Brisbane - Bayside
    Posts
    3,416
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Tannin View Post
    When cloning, Gregg, you may find it useful to alter the opacity. Sometimes you can use three or four dobs of 40% opacity instead of 1 dob of 100% to make a neater, less obvious job. Mix and match methods depending on what is working on particular shots.
    What Tony said. It blends so much better and always choose a tool with a fuzzy/blended border not the sharp edges they have as well. It will blend in easy. With the sharp edges you are bound to see it.
    Thanks for looking....Cheers,
    Julie-Anne / Julie / Jules / Julesy / JAS

    MY ..... MY BLOG..... Feel free to look.
    Canon 40D / 24-105mm L IS / 70-200mm L IS / 75-300mm / 50mm 1.8 / Sigma 10-20mm / Manfrotto tripod / Bits and pieces to fill the bag.


  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,831
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    OH HOW TEDIOUS !!!

    Lightroom, spot heal, spot heal, spot heal then copy to every other photo in the set in 2 seconds
    Darren
    Gear : Nikon Goodness
    Website : http://www.peakactionimages.com
    Please support Precious Hearts
    Constructive Critique of my images always appreciated

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •