User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: 2nd Curtain Flash - Canon 50D

  1. #1
    Member jeffde's Avatar
    Join Date
    19 Nov 2006
    Location
    Central West NSW
    Posts
    509
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    2nd Curtain Flash - Canon 50D

    Hi
    I've been trying to do 2nd Curtain Flash with my 50D.

    It works with the pop up flash but isn't talking to my 580EX or my 430 Ex Canon flash. When i go into the menu it says not reading the external flash

    Any ideas would be appreciated ???
    Jeff - Jeff D Photography
    Canon -
    http://jeffdphoto.ifp3.com/
    www.jeffdphotography.com.au


  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    30 Apr 2008
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    140
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Second curtain sync is set on the flash speedlight itself. So it does not need to be set within the camera which it appears is some functionality the new 50D gives you.

    On the 580 theres a little lightning bolt, the letter 'H', a forward slash and an arrow symbol. This button will activate it if you press it once or twice.
    Brodie Butler (Perth, WA)
    Photographer / Filmmaker / Retoucher
    Canon & Elinchrom user

  3. #3
    Member
    Threadstarter
    jeffde's Avatar
    Join Date
    19 Nov 2006
    Location
    Central West NSW
    Posts
    509
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Many thanks Brodie i'll try it tonight...

  4. #4
    In Training MarkChap's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Jan 2008
    Location
    Widgee,
    Posts
    2,256
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Stupid question, but are you sure the flash was turned on when trying to set from the camera ??

    Been there done that is the only reason I ask
    Smoke Alarms Save Lives, Install One Today
    I shoot Canon
    Cheers, Mark


  5. #5
    Member
    Threadstarter
    jeffde's Avatar
    Join Date
    19 Nov 2006
    Location
    Central West NSW
    Posts
    509
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No such thing has stupid questions Mark (just stupid answers)

    No Brodie was right. I was trying to set up usuing the camera not the flash

    Thnaks Brodie, now i can experiment...

  6. #6
    Member nexus's Avatar
    Join Date
    31 Aug 2009
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    59
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by jeffde View Post
    No such thing has stupid questions Mark (just stupid answers)

    No Brodie was right. I was trying to set up usuing the camera not the flash

    Thnaks Brodie, now i can experiment...
    You can setup 2nd curtain from the camera as well. If the 50D says external flash is not compatible or not powered on and you have made sure of both (430EX II is compatible), then you need to remount your flash as the contacts are not in the right position. I thought my 430EX II was broken until I realized that
    Canon EOS 50D w/ Phottix BP-40 Grip | 17-40 f/4L | 24-70 f/2.8L | 70-200mm f/2.8L IS | 430EX II | YN560 | Cactus V5 | Benro C-257EX + B2 Ballhead
    http://picasaweb.google.com/derfel/

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    30 Apr 2008
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    140
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by jeffde View Post
    No such thing has stupid questions Mark (just stupid answers)

    No Brodie was right. I was trying to set up usuing the camera not the flash

    Thnaks Brodie, now i can experiment...

    No problem Jeff! Here's something that might also interest you, I leave my flashes in second curtain sync by default. At the fast shutter speeds it doesnt make a difference, but when you slow the shutter right down, its always in second curtain sync ready to go.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    30 Oct 2006
    Location
    Bris Vegas
    Posts
    1,102
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I set mine on my flash, as you can see it easier...

    and its only one button press compared to a few menu's in...

    M
    www.pbase.com/mcphotographics loooots of pictures!
    hmmm Eq list... 1D II, 5D II, 7D, 100-400 LIS F4.5-5.6, 70-200 F2.8L, 135 F2, 85 F1.8, 24-70 F2.8L, 16-35 F2.8L, 420EX, 580EX II x2 ST-E2 Cir polar filters and much much more all in a neat back pack that kills my back!

    Adobe CS5
    Week 16 Sheep Winner
    If you have a question about car / action / sports photography or Canon Cameras PM me...

  9. #9
    Member
    Threadstarter
    jeffde's Avatar
    Join Date
    19 Nov 2006
    Location
    Central West NSW
    Posts
    509
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks guys
    I found setting in on the flash easier. Had a play at a wedding reception on the weekend with 1/2 second exposures and 2nd curtian flash during the dancing, will post some (when i get some time)

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    30 May 2009
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    2,599
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    For what it's worth, I tend to do it on the camera itself.

    Just a habit.

    Scotty
    Canon 7D : Canon EF 70-200mm f:2.8 L IS II USM - Canon EF 24-105 f:4 L IS USM - Canon EF 50mm f:1.8 - Canon EF-s 18-55mm f:3.5-5.6
    Sigma APO 150-500mm f:5-6.3 DG OS HSM
    - Sigma 10-20mm f:3.5 EX DC HSM
    Speedlite 580 EX II - Nissin Di866 II - Yongnuo 460-II x2 - Kenko extension tube set - Canon Extender EF 1.4x II
    Manfroto monopod - SILK 700DX Pro tripod - Remote release - Cokin Z-Pro filter box + Various filters

    Current Social Experiment: CAPRIL - Wearing a cape for the month of April to support Beyond Blue
    Visit me on Flickr

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •