User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Question regarding opera browser

  1. #1
    Ausphotography Regular
    Join Date
    09 May 2008
    Location
    Brightveiw
    Posts
    1,270
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question regarding opera browser

    Ok i use opera browser have done for years all website photos show up fine
    other than smug mug just wont open any just blank anyone have any tips cheers.

    steve.

  2. #2
    Moderately Underexposed I @ M's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 May 2007
    Location
    Marlo, Far East Gippsland
    Posts
    4,911
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Some sort of compatibility issue I guess Steve, your smugmug site is loading fine here ( firefox ), maybe an email to smugmug asking about issues?

  3. #3
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,641
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Opera doesnt like AP either. Do you see the same ad four times on each page of the site?
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  4. #4
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    09 May 2008
    Location
    Brightveiw
    Posts
    1,270
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i think its just a setting somewhere on the opera taskbar but stuffed if i know

    Rick i see 2 ads on each page.

    steve.

  5. #5
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,641
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    2 at top and 2 at bottom and i reckon they are all the same ad? Opera does that, all other browsers, members see 4 different ads

  6. #6
    can't remember Tannin's Avatar
    Join Date
    16 Apr 2007
    Location
    Ballarat
    Posts
    2,895
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Maybe Smugmug was down for a while, Steve - Smugmug works fine in Opera. I just tried it, works perfectly. So does AP for that matter. If it didn't, I probably wouldn't come here (because after you get used to Opera, using an ordinary browser is a drag).

  7. #7
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    09 May 2008
    Location
    Brightveiw
    Posts
    1,270
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Nah definatley something in my opera settings it still wont load the pics when you click on the thumbnails. AP has always worked brilliant for me never any probs with any other site other than smug mug.

    steve.

  8. #8
    can't remember Tannin's Avatar
    Join Date
    16 Apr 2007
    Location
    Ballarat
    Posts
    2,895
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You didn't do something silly like untick "send referrer information" in tools/oprefferences/advanced/network? That would break a lot of sites.

  9. #9
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    09 May 2008
    Location
    Brightveiw
    Posts
    1,270
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Nah refferer logging is ticked

    steve.

  10. #10
    can't remember Tannin's Avatar
    Join Date
    16 Apr 2007
    Location
    Ballarat
    Posts
    2,895
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Steve, post the address of a particulra Smugmug page that doesn't work for you in Opera. Let's make sire that I'm testing the right thing.

  11. #11
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    09 May 2008
    Location
    Brightveiw
    Posts
    1,270
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok this is a page of my site that should be my landscape gallery
    but is blank no pics on opera here.

    http://www.ambient-aperture-photogra...10233731_NbgXo

  12. #12
    can't remember Tannin's Avatar
    Join Date
    16 Apr 2007
    Location
    Ballarat
    Posts
    2,895
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Wow! Some nice shots there!



    As you can see, Opera works perfectly on that site.

    OK, it's not an Opera problem, what is it? Let's try some questions to narrow the problem down a bit.

    1: does it work OK in another browser (e.g., Firefox, Seamonkey)?
    2: what anti-virus and firewall software are you using?
    3: (via edit) What drugs are the Smugmug web designers taking? That's a daft way to write a website. No matter, we know Opera copes OK with it, but they still ought to be shot for writing a crappola pile of junk code like that and calling it a web design, Brllfsp!
    Last edited by Tannin; 26-11-2009 at 9:08pm.

  13. #13
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    09 May 2008
    Location
    Brightveiw
    Posts
    1,270
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok works fine with IE
    Anti-Virus/NOD 32
    Firewall/microsoft standaed.

  14. #14
    can't remember Tannin's Avatar
    Join Date
    16 Apr 2007
    Location
    Ballarat
    Posts
    2,895
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    OK, Nod32 should be OK, and the Windows firewall is just about the only Microsoft security product worth spitting on.

    1: Back up your Opera bookmarks, (Check help/about Opera for the location - pprobably something like: C:\Documents and Settings\steve\Application Data\Opera\Opera\bookmarks.adr

    2: Uninstall Opera (through control panel/add-remove programs)

    3: delete the Opera preferences data (delete a folder with a name like C:\Documents and Settings\steve\Application Data\Opera)

    4: reboot

    5: reinstall Opera

    That certainly ought to do it.

  15. #15
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    09 May 2008
    Location
    Brightveiw
    Posts
    1,270
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well just Uninstalled opera and rebooted it and works fine now

    Thanks for helping out tony appreciated

    steve.

  16. #16
    can't remember Tannin's Avatar
    Join Date
    16 Apr 2007
    Location
    Ballarat
    Posts
    2,895
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Excellent!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •