User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  1
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Interesting Discovery - Canon Wireless system

  1. #1
    In Training MarkChap's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Jan 2008
    Location
    Widgee, Queensland
    Posts
    2,228
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Interesting Discovery - Canon Wireless system

    Now this may be widely known and I may not be the first to make this discovery.

    I discovered that you can control the manual output level of a slave (430 EXII in my case) from a master (580 EXII in my case) even when the master is not attached to the camera, as in fired by my el cheapo radio triggers.

    That is set the 580 as Master, attached radio receiver, set 430 as Slave with OUT radio trigger attached and the 580 controls the 430

    Now this is going to add some versatility to my set up, I was thinking that I really needed at least 1 more receiver that I now no longer really need.

    As I said, this could well be common knowledge, although I had not come across it before
    Smoke Alarms Save Lives, Install One Today
    I shoot Canon
    Cheers, Mark


  2. #2
    Account Closed
    Join Date
    23 Oct 2009
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    391
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Mark, I just purchased some strobist gear including an el cheapo trigger.

    Haven't had a chance to try it yet but I will borrow my wife's 430 and try it with my 580. I was planning to use the old light trigger which I managed to find stashed away in an old box.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    23 Nov 2009
    Location
    Downtown Paradise
    Posts
    87
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Mark i believe you can also set the camera's built in flash as the master and then both your 430 and 580 's as slaves as well. It just keeps getting better and better.

    Loving this new 7D and the 580.

    Martin
    _________________________
    Martin

    Critique is always welcome as is PP with details.

    Canon 7D, 10-22mm, 18-55mm, 70-300mm
    SL 580EX11

  4. #4
    In Training
    Threadstarter
    MarkChap's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Jan 2008
    Location
    Widgee, Queensland
    Posts
    2,228
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Martin,
    The 7D is the ONLY camera in Canons line up at the moment that can use the built in flash as a master

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    23 Nov 2009
    Location
    Downtown Paradise
    Posts
    87
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ahso...........Thanks Mark. Didn't realize that. It's all new to me and there's a lotta reading in the manuals.

    Martin

  6. #6
    Ausphotography Site Sponsor/Advertiser DAdeGroot's Avatar
    Join Date
    26 Feb 2009
    Location
    Cedar Creek, Qld, Australia
    Posts
    1,890
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by MarkChap View Post
    Now this may be widely known and I may not be the first to make this discovery.

    I discovered that you can control the manual output level of a slave (430 EXII in my case) from a master (580 EXII in my case) even when the master is not attached to the camera, as in fired by my el cheapo radio triggers.
    I suspected that was the case, but have never tried it, as I have sufficient radio triggers to go around. Handy to know though
    Dave

    http://www.degrootphotography.com.au/
    Canon EOS 1D MkIV | Canon EOS 5D MkII | Canon EOS 30D | Canon EF 400mm f/5.6L USM | Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM | Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM | Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM | Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM | Canon TS-E 17mm f/4L & some non-L lenses.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    30 Apr 2008
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    140
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes you can have a slave operating without a radio trigger. The Canon speedlights are triggered by flash and not infrared or radio signals. So its the light that actually triggers them.

    So you can save on radio triggers this way, but you will lose reliability and range. I managed to trigger 3 studio lights, a 580EX, 2 x 430 EX's all using just one pocket wizard on the camera and one pocket wizard attached to the 580. (i think).
    Brodie Butler (Perth, WA)
    Photographer / Filmmaker / Retoucher
    Canon & Elinchrom user

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •