User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Photomerge in photoshop what am I doing wrong???

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    15 Nov 2009
    Location
    SA
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Photomerge in photoshop what am I doing wrong???

    I've been playing around with photomerge in photoshop tonight and I'm really swimming in the deep end, the example I show is number 5 of tonights attempts and it's obvious something is wrong with the seam accross the pic. other pictures I've attemted have been divided in 1/4's
    I'm sure I've used photomerge in the past without this problem

    This example is only 3 exposures, others I've tried have been 3-5 with similiar results.

    so what is going on am I having a blond moment?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Ausphotography Site Sponsor/Advertiser DAdeGroot's Avatar
    Join Date
    26 Feb 2009
    Location
    Cedar Creek, Qld, Australia
    Posts
    1,890
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Which version of Photoshop, 'cause I've found CS3's photomerge to be fairly ordinary to bad, but CS4's is quite good.

    Were your exposures somewhat different in brightness ?
    Dave

    http://www.degrootphotography.com.au/
    Canon EOS 1D MkIV | Canon EOS 5D MkII | Canon EOS 30D | Canon EF 400mm f/5.6L USM | Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM | Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM | Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM | Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM | Canon TS-E 17mm f/4L & some non-L lenses.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    21 Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane, Wishart
    Posts
    263
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    look like the work of cs2.
    the merging function of cs2 is a little bit buggy.
    it doesn't seem notice the exposure needed blending for some reason
    the alignment seem ok though

  4. #4
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,641
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Yeah, agree with the above. Photomerge was improved greatly when CS3 was released, prior to that it was a bit dubious.

    Another thing to consider, were all shots for the merge taken with the camera on full manual mode and no settings change at all between shots? It is imperative that you take shots for a merge on exactly the same camera settings, to ensure a nice even blend. Variances in exposure can play havoc with a photomerge.
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  5. #5
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    15 Nov 2009
    Location
    SA
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Guys,
    yep it was CS2, have noticed a few problems with it lately. If I can find my disc i'm thinking of uninstalling then reinstall as I'm sure it was working fine in the past. Do you think that might help or am I wasting my time?

  6. #6
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,641
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    It may help Marty. But the photomerge in cs2 wasn't all that well programmed. Adobe did a LOT of work on it after CS2 and from CS3 it has really been a much better tool. So, it could very well be that no matter what you do, some merges are going to come out odd looking, using CS2.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •