User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Is it me or the camera?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    16 Oct 2009
    Location
    Ipswich
    Posts
    142
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Is it me or the camera?

    I went to a childs pool party on the weekend. It was very cloudy and then the sun came out then went in again. The pool area was quite shady so I had the white balance in "shade". I have noticed that my images have come out quite red (very red). Would the white balance made the photos too red or is there something else I should have done? I'm still learning the ins and outs of the camera (obviously haven't learnt enough) and would appreciate any feedback good or bad. The camera I had used is a Nikon D60 and the lense 55-200mm. No flash used. Thanks.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Never to old to learn new things!

    Nikon D7000, Nikon D60. Nikkor 24-70 2.8f, Kit lens 18-55mm, 70-300mm, 50mm, 12-24mm and other bits and pieces.

  2. #2
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,643
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Does look like a white balance issue. Did you shoot in RAW? cause if so you can fix it in your RAW converter.
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  3. #3
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    16 Oct 2009
    Location
    Ipswich
    Posts
    142
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No I just shot in fine (high) JPG. I've stopped shooting in RAW as I cannot seem to open the RAW files in my version of photoshop CS3. I did manage to take back the red by adjusting the image through the Hue/Saturation, but don't want to do this to every photo - I did take over 200 shots. I would like to get it right the first time through the camera.

  4. #4
    Account Closed
    Join Date
    23 Oct 2009
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    391
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It would appear that the white balance selection of "shade" was probably not the correct choice, at least for for the first two images.

    You could divide your images into a few groups (based on the amount of excess red) and then batch process each group.

  5. #5
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    16 Oct 2009
    Location
    Ipswich
    Posts
    142
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Fantasyphoto
    Thanks for that. I was actually thinking of doing that. I've heard about batch processing but haven't learnt how to do it yet..... guess what I will be doing later.

  6. #6
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,643
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    You have a D60, so the RAW files should be ok with CS3, Do an update in CS3 and it will find all the updates available including ACR and then you should easily be able to use your RAW files with CS3

  7. #7
    Ausphotography Regular wideangle's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Sep 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    1,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Like Rick has said it looks like it would be a WB issue there. Shooting in RAW is going to give you the benefit of being able to adjust the white balance in post processing. You can still do this with a JPG but not it's not as good as doing it through RAW. If you are having trouble with opening your RAW images you can always give Raw Therapee a try, or download a trial version of Adobe Lightroom or Bibble RAW.

    Cheers
    please ask before PP my images

    "Life is what happens to you while your busy making other plans"

  8. #8
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    16 Oct 2009
    Location
    Ipswich
    Posts
    142
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Excellent... thanks Rick and Wideangle. Rick I never thought of doing an update. Will definitely give it a go. Wideangle, I will have a search for the trial version of lightroom, I hear it is pretty good.

  9. #9
    Member Hamish McHaggis's Avatar
    Join Date
    01 May 2009
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    104
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can download the beta version of lightroom 3 and use it free till April 30th next year.
    Colin
    ps it is a beta, so possibly not the most stable and not really recommended as your primary package. But, a good chance to evaluate and give feedback to Adobe
    Last edited by Hamish McHaggis; 09-11-2009 at 12:07pm.
    Colin
    Here to learn; please critique and/or rework my images

  10. #10
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    16 Oct 2009
    Location
    Ipswich
    Posts
    142
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thank you Hamish.... muchly appreciated.

  11. #11
    Ausphotography Regular
    Join Date
    28 Dec 2008
    Location
    Penrith
    Posts
    1,335
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    As you shoot in jpeg does the Nikon have a picture style where you can set the saturation to defferent settings in your camera. If so it may be set too high. You will have to check the manual.
    Carmen

    My Stuff:- Canon 50D l EF 28-80 f2.8-4L
    l EF 100-300 f4-5.6 l Canon 100mm f2.8 macro l Tokina 11-16 f2.8 l Pol. Filter l Flash l Grip l Remote l Tripod l Lightroom 2 l CS3

    Constructive Critique of my photos always appreciated

  12. #12
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    16 Oct 2009
    Location
    Ipswich
    Posts
    142
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Carmen, I will have a look.

  13. #13
    Amor fati!
    Join Date
    28 Jun 2007
    Location
    St Helens Park
    Posts
    7,275
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hmm... why did you choose the WB? I'd have left it on auto. auto WB should give you the results you are after.

  14. #14
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    16 Oct 2009
    Location
    Ipswich
    Posts
    142
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi David (ving)
    I thought it being a cloudy day that it would be better. It is a good lesson to learn though.

    Thanks everyone for the feedback.

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    25 Apr 2008
    Location
    Amersfoort, NL
    Posts
    658
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It's not just the WB... you pumped up the saturation in the camera too. That makes things worse...
    Ciao, Joost

    All feedback is highly appreciated!

  16. #16
    A. P's Culinary Indiscriminant mongo's Avatar
    Join Date
    21 Mar 2009
    Location
    Cronulla, Sydney
    Posts
    8,610
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Mongo agrees with Jev. your saturation setting could be too high. If that is so and you have WB set to cloudy, you will intesify the redish effect.
    Nikon and Pentax user



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •