User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  1
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: 64 or 32 bit OS for CS4 and Lightroom?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    26 Aug 2008
    Location
    Albany WA
    Posts
    122
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    64 or 32 bit OS for CS4 and Lightroom?

    I am not sure which way to go with a upgrade, I will tell you what I have been told the different s are, please put me straight if wrong.

    1. 64 bit let,s you use more than 3 gigs of ram.

    2. CS4 is set to run 64 bit.

    3 64 bit is still lacking in drivers and compatibility problems with older stuff.

    4. 32 bit with 3 gig of ram is easily enough to run CS4 and Lightroom.

    Cheers
    Peter

    am wanting to learn, please feel free to rework my photos

    Pentax K7 / Cosina 24mm f 2.8 mc / Pentax M 50mm f 1.4/ SMC Tokina M 135mm F2.8/ Pentax 17-70mm F4.0/

  2. #2
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,845
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Prang. Pretty much what I heard. Could be an accident! I'm going to install Win7 64-bit and CS4 on a separate HDD and dual boot with Win XP. I want to use the 64-bit apps for processing speed, the rest I can do in XP. I'm getting another 2GB RAM to total 4GB on my P4Quad. (An imminent project, but I don't know when.) Am...
    PS - I forgot to say, a whole heap of Win 7 installation options are in the Nov 2009 APC - Australian Personal Computer, also available on-line.

  3. #3
    Ausphotography Regular
    Join Date
    28 Dec 2008
    Location
    Penrith
    Posts
    1,335
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Prang, if you go to Amazon books and search Lightroom 2 or CS4 and look inside the books a lot of them have a detailed explanation of the system requirements for 64 bit. They talk about speed, RAM requirements (eg. 8 gig and up) etc. Hope this helps.
    Carmen

    My Stuff:- Canon 50D l EF 28-80 f2.8-4L
    l EF 100-300 f4-5.6 l Canon 100mm f2.8 macro l Tokina 11-16 f2.8 l Pol. Filter l Flash l Grip l Remote l Tripod l Lightroom 2 l CS3

    Constructive Critique of my photos always appreciated

  4. #4
    Ausphotography Regular
    Join Date
    28 Dec 2008
    Location
    Penrith
    Posts
    1,335
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Prang me again. I had a quick look and the best book I read is REAL WORLD CS4. On amazon books (look inside) go to first few pages of book after contents and you can read the detailed description of system requirements. It's an eye opener.

  5. #5
    Serial Truant.... phild's Avatar
    Join Date
    01 Jun 2008
    Location
    Launceston
    Posts
    538
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I can vouch for 64bit OS (on a quad core CPU) and lots of Ram (8Gb in my case). CS4 flies on this configuration, I'm using Vista ultimate 64 about to upgrade to Win7.
    Phil

  6. #6
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    26 Aug 2008
    Location
    Albany WA
    Posts
    122
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks All there is some great reading there, I will go through it tonight and it also helped my next question about quad core systems.

  7. #7
    Ausphotography Addict Richard Hall's Avatar
    Join Date
    06 Jan 2007
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    5,286
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Running Win 7 x64 here on an i7 920 quad core, pretty much zero problems with any drivers except my ancient (8 year old) flat bed scanner, if I need it, I use it on my laptop which is running Win7 32bit, surprisingly it has working drivers! A BIG plus for Win7 from me for that.

    The biggest benefit of a 64bit OS is having access to the slightly more than 3GB RAM available under a 32bit OS. The extra RAM is fantastic and very much noticeable when multitasking with a few apps open. You can load 'em up and switch between 'em freely, without the fear of slowdown from the OS having to access data that's been sent out to the pagefile.

    I have both 32 and 64bit CS4 installed as some 3rd party plug-ins aren't available in 64 bit versions... are you listening niksoft?!?! In day to day use there's not really any noticeable difference in performance of 64bit CS4 vs 32bit for general editing. However if you're working on large images with masses of layers and the like, then yes, having a 64bit OS (and 64bit CS4) will see a pretty big increase in performance. Most of that performance increase comes from the extra RAM available, with CS4 not needing to write information to and from the scratchdisk constantly.

    I'd say go for it, I've had little problem running any apps under a 64bit environment, in fact, I can't recall a single one off the top of my head. The hardware costs no more to purchase, it's the same hardware you'd be buying for a 32bit OS anyway!
    www.richardhallphotography.com



    Atheism is Myth-understood

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •