User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  15

View Poll Results: PC or Mac user?

Voters
294. You may not vote on this poll
  • PC

    164 55.78%
  • Mac

    130 44.22%
Page 1 of 11 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 205

Thread: Mac or PC

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    25 Dec 2007
    Location
    At home
    Posts
    190
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Mac or PC

    Simple & fun poll, just want to see what everyone here packs
    Also list what machine and specs you run.

    I just upgraded mine:
    Mac Book Pro, Core 2 Duo 2.4ghz
    80gb intel SSD
    6gb Ram
    Last edited by nisstrust; 28-10-2009 at 10:38am.
    "Knowledge is a single point, but the ignorant have multiplied it."

  2. #2
    Ausphotography Veteran yummymummy's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Jan 2009
    Location
    Logan Reserve, QLD
    Posts
    2,828
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    just a PC here, got the laptop at Christmas time last year now I have my own puter and the kids don't touch it!
    Happy to take all constructive Critique, please don't rework or edit my photos. Thanks!

    Canon 6D, 2 Canon 50D's gripped, Canon 1000D, Canon 70-200 F2.8 ( non IS),Canon 70-200 2.8, Canon 24-70 2.8, Sigma 85 1.4, Canon 50mm F1.8.. yongnuo speedlights and triggers, and manfrotto tripods.


  3. #3
    Member rmlewis's Avatar
    Join Date
    22 Oct 2009
    Location
    Applecross
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You're trying to start a religious war, right

    PC -Quad Core 2.66, 16GB Ram, 2x 1 GB Disk, Windows 7 64 Bit

    Built it myself (Bob the Builder )
    Rob Lewis
    ...There is a crack in everything / That's how the light gets in.... Leonard Cohen
    www.broughttolight.com
    Canon EOS 5D MkII, 7D, EOS 30, Bronica SQai, EF 100-400mm L IS, EF TS-E 17mm F/4, EF 17-40L, EF 24-105 L IS, EF 135 L, EF 50mm 1.8 Mk1, EF 28mm 1.8, 430EX and saving for some more good white lenses

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    02 Jul 2008
    Location
    Launceston, TAS
    Posts
    335
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Desktop machine (Custom):
    Intel C2Q Q6600 (2.4GHz)
    Gigabyte EP35-DS3R
    4Gb DDR2
    Leadtek Quadro FX570
    WD 320GB HDD
    2No. WD 1TB HDD's in RAID 1
    WinXP Pro
    2No. Dell 19" 4:3 monitors.

    Server (Dell):
    Intel Pentium D 3.00GHz
    2.0Gb DDR2
    2No. WD 500Gb HDD's in RAID 1
    Win Server 2k3

    Laptop (Dell 14.1"):
    Intel Centrino Duo 1.86GHz
    2Gb DDR2
    160Gb HDD
    On-board video
    WinXP Pro
    Adam.


    AGSPhotos.com

    Using Nikon & PS CS5.

  5. #5
    Amor fati! ving's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Jun 2007
    Location
    St Helens Park
    Posts
    7,275
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    pc here...

    i use a commodore vic20.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    09 Jul 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland
    Posts
    138
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Those vic20s are hard to beat. Gotta love anything with a tape deck for a storage device...

    PC - Intel Dual Core 2.8GHz CPU, 4GB RAM, 500GB HD (going to put in a second very soon), ATI Radeon 4530 512MB video card.

  7. #7
    Moderately Underexposed I @ M's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 May 2007
    Location
    Marlo, Far East Gippsland
    Posts
    4,864
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    How do I tell the difference?

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    07 Jul 2009
    Location
    Kew
    Posts
    133
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    PC only coz I understand DOS and windows too well. Mac is a whole different language
    NIGH -KON

  9. #9
    Member charton's Avatar
    Join Date
    31 Mar 2009
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    495
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Laptop Vaio (don't remember of the other tech details) Kids are not allowed to touch it!

  10. #10
    Ausphotography Regular swifty's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 May 2007
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,352
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Currently using a MacBook pro 15".
    My gf has a Sony vaio SR.. There's a story on that in another thread but it's currently running nicely, on Windows 7. I've been putting it through it's paces and I quite like it.
    Considering gettng a home desktop windows 7 setup tho.
    As u can see, I don't have platform loyalty.
    Nikon FX

  11. #11
    Antipod
    Join Date
    25 Apr 2008
    Location
    Amersfoort, NL
    Posts
    657
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Where are the options for "both" or "none"?

    I use both and than some

    iMAC running OSX, a no-brand PC running Linux, another couple of PC's running Windows XP and Vista (thinking to change one to run Win7, dunno yet) and finally a notebook running Vista.
    Ciao, Joost

    All feedback is highly appreciated!

  12. #12
    Ausphotography Site Sponsor/Advertiser DAdeGroot's Avatar
    Join Date
    26 Feb 2009
    Location
    Cedar Creek, Qld, Australia
    Posts
    1,890
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hodgepodge of things here.

    My main machine is an home built system:
    Intel Q6600 quad-core, 8Gb RAM, 320Gb system drive, 1Tb backup drive
    Runs OSX Snow Leopard, Leopard and Win XP.

    Server is an AMD box running SuSE Linux, with 2x1Tb disks in RAID-1 for my photos, and 2x750Gb disks for other stuff.

    Firewall was a Sun Ultra 10 running Solaris 9 and Checkpoint FW-1, but it stopped working when the fan died

    Laptop is a G4 Powerbook running Leopard.

    There are many other machines in the house too, but the above are the ones I personally use.
    Dave

    http://www.degrootphotography.com.au/
    Canon EOS 1D MkIV | Canon EOS 5D MkII | Canon EOS 30D | Canon EF 400mm f/5.6L USM | Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM | Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM | Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM | Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM | Canon TS-E 17mm f/4L & some non-L lenses.

  13. #13
    Bird Nerd Richard Hall's Avatar
    Join Date
    06 Jan 2007
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    5,107
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ving View Post
    i use a commodore vic20.
    Haha! Nothing wrong with that though, my first home computer was the good old Vic... It was awesome! Ahhhh the memories...Radar Rat Race, what a game!

    All my systems are configured and built by myself, I'd never buy a pre-built system (unless it's a laptop), though I did buy a barebones Asus and built that up for my first laptop.

    Desktop PC
    • Intel i7 920 (QUAD) @ 3.2GHz (on stock air until I pull my finger out and get a TRUE 120 or Prolimatech Megahalem)
    • Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD4P
    • 6GB DDR3 1600MHz
    • 2x 8800GT (512MB) in SLI (might grab an ATI 5850 or 5870, although despite their age the two 8800GT's run everything perfectly fine as is, so I'm undecided still at present. Might just skip another gen of vid cards until I need more power lol.)
    • WD 1TB HDD
    • WD 640GB HDD
    • 2x 22" Samsung monitors
    • Windows 7 x64 Ultimate


    2x 1TB HDD RAID 1 (NAS) for backups and I also use off-site, online storage for backups.


    Secondary Desktop
    This was my server for a while there
    • AMD Opteron 170 (DUAL) @ 2.6GHz
    • Asus A8N-SLI Premium
    • 2GB DDR400
    • 7900GT 256MB
    • WD 320GB HDD
    • 19" Samsung
    • Windows 7 x32 Ultimate


    Laptop 14.1"
    • Intel T8300 2.40GHz
    • 4GB DDR2
    • 8400M GS
    • 320GB HDD
    • Windows 7 x32 Ultimate


    Then there's the kid's PC and Wife's netbook, plus a few other PC's unused. The AMD Opteron system was my server (SuSE Linux 10) but it's been decommissioned as my NAS performs everything I needed and consumes less power.
    www.richardhallphotography.com


    Atheism is Myth-understood

  14. #14
    Account Closed
    Join Date
    15 Feb 2009
    Location
    Perth,Australia
    Posts
    238
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    PC... why?

    Able to do more stronger computational skills. Tell me do Mac's have clusters? I one day look to build my very own cluster. Right now I have a old PC I custom built...

    (2x) Intel Xeon X5365 Quad-Core
    (6x) Seagates 1TB
    ASUS DSBV-DX
    12GB Corsair DRR3 RAM
    ATI FireGL V5600
    (2x) AOC 19" screens
    Canon MP-240

    OS - Mandriva, & Vista.

  15. #15
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,139
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Culhwch View Post
    Those vic20s are hard to beat. Gotta love anything with a tape deck for a storage device...

    PC - Intel Dual Core 2.8GHz CPU, 4GB RAM, 500GB HD (going to put in a second very soon), ATI Radeon 4530 512MB video card.
    ive still got a Vic20 and a Commodore64
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  16. #16
    Ausphotography Site Sponsor/Advertiser DAdeGroot's Avatar
    Join Date
    26 Feb 2009
    Location
    Cedar Creek, Qld, Australia
    Posts
    1,890
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Gregg Bell View Post
    PC... why?

    Able to do more stronger computational skills. Tell me do Mac's have clusters?
    Yes actually, they do. You can even build ad-hoc ones using a tool called Xgrid.

  17. #17
    Antipod
    Join Date
    25 Apr 2008
    Location
    Amersfoort, NL
    Posts
    657
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ricktas View Post
    ive still got a Vic20 and a Commodore64
    I sold my VIC20 a couple of years ago... but still have a MicroProfessor, a DOS-65 system and even an old 4.77 MHz PC running MS-DOS 3.30

  18. #18
    Member JohnRA's Avatar
    Join Date
    29 Jun 2009
    Location
    Townsville.
    Posts
    125
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Dell PC & Dell laptop with just enough internal wizardry to do whatever I want ...... Sometimes slowly.
    John.

    Canon EOS 50D
    Panasonic Lumix TZ10

  19. #19
    Member Calxoddity's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Apr 2008
    Location
    Wollongong
    Posts
    473
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    24" 2.8GHz iMac with 4GB RAM, 320GB internal HDD, 1TB external HDD, running Leopard. Also use an XP laptop for work.

    It's now 12 months since converting to the Mac, and everything is good.

    Regards,
    Calx
    Calxoddity
    Concert Pianist, Test Pilot, Pathological Liar


    Nikon D40, Sigma 17-70 F2.8-4.5 HSM, Nikkor AF-D 50mm f1.8
    Post Processing: Aperture 3 & Photoshop Elements 6

  20. #20
    Member Calxoddity's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Apr 2008
    Location
    Wollongong
    Posts
    473
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    sorry - double post
    Last edited by Calxoddity; 29-10-2009 at 12:52pm. Reason: double post

Page 1 of 11 1234 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •