User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Weird thing with ' and "

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    22 Jul 2008
    Location
    Rosebud, Mornington Peninsula
    Posts
    2,838
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Weird thing with ' and "

    Is this a setting somewhere? With this new computer everytime I type a ' it doesn't show and I have to do it 2 times which then shows 2 and backspace one? Its the same with ".

    If i forget and type a letter after the ' or " for example I tend to get different language characters eg é ë á ö etc

    If I can get this back to normal it would be great
    Cat (aka Cathy) - Another Canon user - 400D, 18-55,75-300mm Kit Lens,50mm f1.8, Tamron 90mm f2.8 Macro, Sigma 28-70 f2.8-4 DG, Tripod and a willingness to learn
    Software used: PhotoImpact, Irfanview and a lot of plugins
    We don't make a photograph just with a camera, we bring to the act of photography all the books we have read, the movies we have seen, the music we have heard, the people we have loved. - Ansel Adams


  2. #2
    Ausphotography Regular
    Join Date
    28 Dec 2008
    Location
    Ipswich, QLD
    Posts
    1,328
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My new one does it too! You type it once than have to either do it again or press spacebar??
    Critique and comments welcomed on my images!

    www.philrettkephotography.com
    http://www.flickr.com/philrettke

    Canon EOS 5D MKII x 2 | Ef 70-200mm f2.8L IS II USM | Ef 16-35mm f2.8L II | Ef 180mm f/3.5L macro | Ef 24-70mm f/2.8L | Adobe Photoshop CS3 extended | Digital Photo Professional | Photomatix Pro 3 | Adobe Lightroom 2.3

  3. #3
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    22 Jul 2008
    Location
    Rosebud, Mornington Peninsula
    Posts
    2,838
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It's annoying isn't it Phil There must be someway to change it you'd think?

    I noticed a post today that someone else's seemed to be doing it also cause saw some accents on a letter etc...

  4. #4
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    22 Jul 2008
    Location
    Rosebud, Mornington Peninsula
    Posts
    2,838
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ah think its been solved with Rick's help via MSN
    Appears its in the regional settings - my keyboard seemed to be on us-international - language now on English aus-US and on a US keyboard (i think i removed a keyboard that i shouldnt have though oops - under regional - language tab and details

    now is working ' " fine


    Edited to add: i added back the keyboard i'd deleted but the comp has at least defaulted on US for keyboard now
    Last edited by Miaow; 22-10-2009 at 6:40pm.

  5. #5
    Moderately Underexposed I @ M's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 May 2007
    Location
    Marlo, Far East Gippsland
    Posts
    4,911
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Cool , thought you would have realised that the only truly international keyboard symbol that Microsoft recognises is the $ key.

    And even then they only release the code with one strike through instead of the proper two.
    Andrew
    Nikon, Fuji, Nikkor, Sigma, Tamron, Tokina and too many other bits and pieces to list.



  6. #6
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    22 Jul 2008
    Location
    Rosebud, Mornington Peninsula
    Posts
    2,838
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by I @ M View Post
    thought you would have realised that the only truly international keyboard symbol that Microsoft recognises is the $ key.
    LOL So true

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •