User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: How do I open RAW files in PSE7?

  1. #1
    Member kaivee's Avatar
    Join Date
    08 May 2009
    Location
    Victoria
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    How do I open RAW files in PSE7?

    I can't get my RAW files to open in PSE7. Do I need to download something before it will recognise my files?

    I have a Canon 50D and am very new to using PSE.

    Thanks for your help.
    KV

    I am here to learn.

    Canon 50D and some lenses. Learning PS Elements too!

    CC welcome. Reworking images permitted to help me learn but you must tell me what you have done - step by step!

  2. #2
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,643
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    You need to download and install ACR : http://www.adobe.com/support/downloa...jsp?ftpID=4524
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  3. #3
    Amor fati!
    Join Date
    28 Jun 2007
    Location
    St Helens Park
    Posts
    7,275
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    like what rick said...

    of course you dont need such a plugin with pspx2. thats why i use it

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    08 May 2009
    Location
    Buninyong
    Posts
    1,235
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have PSE7 and I didn't have to download anything else and it works for me?
    Mic

    Photography is the art of telling stories with light.

    www.michaelgoulding.com

  5. #5
    Serial Truant.... phild's Avatar
    Join Date
    01 Jun 2008
    Location
    Launceston
    Posts
    538
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I use Canons DPP (comes with your 50D) for initial raw processing, I find it does a better job than ACR.
    Phil

  6. #6
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,643
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by etherial View Post
    I have PSE7 and I didn't have to download anything else and it works for me?
    Several reasons, you might have a newer copy, that includes the ACR update needed. You might have it set to 'auto update' so your PC downloaded and installed the update anyway.

  7. #7
    Member
    Threadstarter
    kaivee's Avatar
    Join Date
    08 May 2009
    Location
    Victoria
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks. I have downloaded the Camera Raw and my RAW files now open with PSE.

    Yes, I have been using Canon DPP but wanted to use some extra tweaks in PS and Camera Raw - now I have something else to learn.

    Thanks for your help.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •