User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Firefox question

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    07 Oct 2006
    Location
    Sth Adelaide
    Posts
    492
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Firefox question

    Well I've just downloaded Firefox again, it's now the third time I've installed it and uninstalled it, but figured rather than being accused of being a dolt for using IE8, I'd install it again and try to see just what it is I'm missing ...so far I'm greatly underwhelmed, I see no real benefit so far

    However, before I uninstall it once again and go back to IE 8 I'll persevere a bit longer, but can someone tell me this please .........

    1...The text font with Firefox is crappy, harder to read, it's scratchy looking and I'm not fond of it at all...how do I alter it ?

    2...I've lost my familiar "refresh" tab that was with IE 8 and now cant find a way to "refresh" the AP pages...please explain to me how to change this...dumb it down a bit if you can

  2. #2
    Member kwokask's Avatar
    Join Date
    07 Sep 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    49
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    what do you mean by "refresh"? if you mean reload, there is the reload button that looks like an arrow going around anticlockwise

  3. #3
    It's all about the Light!
    Tech Admin
    Kym's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2008
    Location
    Modbury, Adelaide
    Posts
    9,641
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Fonts - that's odd? I'll have a look next time we catch up.

    The AP based refresh is shown...
    Capture.PNG

    IE 8 refresh is the arrow thingy at the end of the address bar...
    Capture2.PNG
    regards, Kym Gallery Honest & Direct Constructive Critique Appreciated! ©
    Digital & film, Bits of glass covering 10mm to 500mm, and other stuff



  4. #4
    Ausphotography Regular
    Join Date
    29 Dec 2007
    Location
    Mansfield, Victoria
    Posts
    856
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by kwokask View Post
    what do you mean by "refresh"? if you mean reload, there is the reload button that looks like an arrow going around anticlockwise
    actually clockwise arrow... Blue, 3rd from left at top. (Kwokask is correct: Refresh in IE is Reload in firefox) (You can also reload with Ctrl-R, or choose reload from the view menu.)

    Fonts: Choose Tools-> Options. In the popup, choose the Content page. You can set/change the default font there.
    Regards, Rob

    D600, AF-S 35mm f1.8G DX, AF-S 50mm f1.8G, AF-S 24-85mm f3.5-4.5G ED VR, AF-S 70-300mm F4.5-5.6G VR, Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM
    Photos: geeoverbar.smugmug.com Software: CS6, Lightroom 4

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    22 May 2009
    Location
    Ipswich
    Posts
    388
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    F5 to refresh, CTRL-F5 for a full reload.
    . .
    The more I learn the less I know !

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    29 Nov 2008
    Location
    River Murray
    Posts
    727
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Seesee, I run both IE8 and Firefox. I find that Firefox has some compatability issues with some pages that I visit infrequently. I have been tempted to go back to IE8 exclusively, but the speed of Firefox compared to IE is in another league.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    17 Dec 2008
    Location
    charters towers qld
    Posts
    191
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i had firefox for years and now it all of a sudden stopped working on both computers so have gone back to ie myself also

  8. #8
    In Training MarkChap's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Jan 2008
    Location
    Widgee,
    Posts
    2,255
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Right click and choose "reload"
    Smoke Alarms Save Lives, Install One Today
    I shoot Canon
    Cheers, Mark


  9. #9
    Amor fati!
    Join Date
    28 Jun 2007
    Location
    St Helens Park
    Posts
    7,275
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hit f5... is that what you want?

    www.mozilla.com/firefox/text_patch/

  10. #10
    A royal pain in the bum! arthurking83's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Jun 2006
    Location
    the worst house, in the best street
    Posts
    8,185
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Also be wary of any add-ons you install too!
    They can (or seem to) be resource hungry and slow down FF quite a bit.

    it's the add ons that really make FF nicer to drive.
    Nikon D800E, D300, D70s
    {Nikon} -> 50/1.2 : 500/8(CPU'd) : 105/2.8VR Micro : 180/2.8ais : 105mm f/1.8ais : 24mm/2ais
    {Sigma}; ->10-20/4-5.6 : 50/1.4 : 12-24/4.5-5.6II : 150-600mm|S
    {Tamron}; -> 17-50/2.8 : 28-75/2.8 : 70-200/2.8 : 300/2.8 SP MF : 24-70/2.8VC


  11. #11
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    07 Oct 2006
    Location
    Sth Adelaide
    Posts
    492
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Kym View Post
    Fonts - that's odd? I'll have a look next time we catch up.

    The AP based refresh is shown...
    Capture.PNG

    IE 8 refresh is the arrow thingy at the end of the address bar...
    Capture2.PNG
    Thanks Kym and one n' all, I was looking for refresh and not reload....1/2 doz one...6 of the other.

    Yes, each time I've downloaded firefox the font alters for the worst, not overly bad, but I did prefer the font with IE7 or IE8, and I cant seem to find a way to alter it. The Firefox font is a bit thinner looking, not quite as bold as with IE8, but I guess I can live with it....cheers

  12. #12
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    07 Oct 2006
    Location
    Sth Adelaide
    Posts
    492
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks everybody, I'll persevere with FF for now......cheers for the help

  13. #13
    A royal pain in the bum! arthurking83's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Jun 2006
    Location
    the worst house, in the best street
    Posts
    8,185
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    As for fonts Col, you can access the Fonts settings in (Tools->Options->Content).

    I thought that fonts are usually set to the default Times New Roman, or Courier or whatever.. so your fonts issue seems weird??

    anyhow.. the settings are there to be 'set' .. and you may need to restart FF for any changes to settings to work.

  14. #14
    Moderately Underexposed I @ M's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 May 2007
    Location
    Marlo, Far East Gippsland
    Posts
    4,911
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Colin, fonts are easy.

    Follow the path ( outlined in red / orange rectangles on the screen print), tools, which brings up the drop down menu and choose options ( not shown ) > Content > fonts & colours > advanced > select the font you wish to use and uncheck the " Allow pages to choose their own fonts, instead of my selections above " if you want your selection to be the default for all pages.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  15. #15
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    07 Oct 2006
    Location
    Sth Adelaide
    Posts
    492
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Aha...got it sussed now...thanks everyone....who'd of ever figured one could get a decent bit of info from so many ugly people

  16. #16
    A royal pain in the bum! arthurking83's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Jun 2006
    Location
    the worst house, in the best street
    Posts
    8,185
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    so!.... imagine the level of expertise you'll get from the beautiful people!

    now I'm having a hard time coming to terms with that, and I fully retract my previous reply(s), and will no longer offer any information in the future, strictly for the purposes of increasing my chances of finding a new partner one day!

  17. #17
    It's all about the Light!
    Tech Admin
    Kym's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2008
    Location
    Modbury, Adelaide
    Posts
    9,641
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    A couple of really useful Firefox plugins...

    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/8767 <Histogram viewer>
    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/3905 <EXIF viewer)

    In both cases Right click an image to use them

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •