User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Copying Text in Threads

  1. #1
    A. P's Culinary Indiscriminant mongo's Avatar
    Join Date
    21 Mar 2009
    Location
    Cronulla, Sydney
    Posts
    8,520
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Copying Text in Threads

    Often members give others technical advice which is worth keeping as a reference.

    Mongo has tried to copy the content of advice in some threads to store for reference (e.g. noise reduction methods etc). Mongo highlights the text in the thread and presses copy (all OK so far) but then finds he can’t “past” that text anywhere else for storage/reference.

    Can this be done and how ??
    Nikon and Pentax user



  2. #2
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,414
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    So, you highlight text, right click > copy. then go to something like Word, and right click > paste. And nothing happens?

    Thats how I do it.
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  3. #3
    A. P's Culinary Indiscriminant
    Threadstarter
    mongo's Avatar
    Join Date
    21 Mar 2009
    Location
    Cronulla, Sydney
    Posts
    8,520
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Exactly !!!

    The only thing that appears in the word document are a few scattered wiggly red lines – like it is not decoding the information.

  4. #4
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,414
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    hmmm - thats a font issue, the font is showing up as the same colour as your word doc background. The squiggly red lines are the auto spell checker. So the text is there, just the same colour as the background. So in word. Hold down your mouse and try and hightlight the whole page, you will probably see the text then, so just change its colour on the menu in word

  5. #5
    A royal pain in the bum! arthurking83's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Jun 2006
    Location
    the worst house, in the best street
    Posts
    7,899
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)


    Working for me! what browser are you using?(I use FireFox)

    another thing I'm thinking is maybe a html problem or something?
    try to past the text into Notepad.. see if that helps.

    tip: I keep an empty Notepad text document icon on my desktop.
    What I do, if I ever need to do that, is to highlight text-> rightclick/copy-> Open the empty notepad doc on my desktop -> rightclick/paste.

    never had an issue with it.
    I once or twice used Wordpad too. But Notepad is more than sufficient for text only.

    Mongo's issue is a strange one.

    EDIT: ah! font!.. never thought of that.
    Nikon D800E, D300, D70s
    {Nikon} -> 50/1.2 : 500/8(CPU'd) : 105/2.8VR Micro : 180/2.8ais : 105mm f/1.8ais : 24mm/2ais
    {Sigma}; ->10-20/4-5.6 : 50/1.4 : 12-24/4.5-5.6II : 150-600mm|S
    {Tamron}; -> 17-50/2.8 : 28-75/2.8 : 70-200/2.8 : 300/2.8 SP MF : 24-70/2.8VC


  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    13 Nov 2008
    Location
    Brisbane (Northside)
    Posts
    254
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Does seem strange ...
    As rick said - Where are you trying to paste to?

    edit - Took too long to post
    Yep rick got it
    Last edited by Invictus; 17-09-2009 at 9:25am.
    Matt.

  7. #7
    It's all about the Light!
    Tech Admin
    Kym's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2008
    Location
    Modbury, Adelaide
    Posts
    9,640
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    In word use 'Paste Special' then 'Unformatted Text' and you will be ok.
    regards, Kym Gallery Honest & Direct Constructive Critique Appreciated! ©
    Digital & film, Bits of glass covering 10mm to 500mm, and other stuff



  8. #8
    A. P's Culinary Indiscriminant
    Threadstarter
    mongo's Avatar
    Join Date
    21 Mar 2009
    Location
    Cronulla, Sydney
    Posts
    8,520
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rick on the right track – if Mongo highlights the invisible text then hits Auto Font Colour or the Format gallery it will appear. You must have a short cut Rick if you can do it in one go.

    Also as Kym said, “special paste” then, “unformatted text” or “unformatted unicode text” – it also appears.

    thanks guys - at least Mongo can now do this albeit the long way.

  9. #9
    Ausphotography Veteran
    Join Date
    22 Jul 2008
    Location
    Rosebud, Mornington Peninsula
    Posts
    2,839
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    As aurthur mentioned, if you paste into notepad should be ok straight off cause it doesn't use formating?
    Last edited by Miaow; 17-09-2009 at 10:24am.
    Cat (aka Cathy) - Another Canon user - 400D, 18-55,75-300mm Kit Lens,50mm f1.8, Tamron 90mm f2.8 Macro, Sigma 28-70 f2.8-4 DG, Tripod and a willingness to learn
    Software used: PhotoImpact, Irfanview and a lot of plugins
    We don't make a photograph just with a camera, we bring to the act of photography all the books we have read, the movies we have seen, the music we have heard, the people we have loved. - Ansel Adams


  10. #10
    A. P's Culinary Indiscriminant
    Threadstarter
    mongo's Avatar
    Join Date
    21 Mar 2009
    Location
    Cronulla, Sydney
    Posts
    8,520
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanks Cat and Arthur - straight to notepad works and may be the better way to go for this excercise.

  11. #11
    It's all about the Light!
    Tech Admin
    Kym's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2008
    Location
    Modbury, Adelaide
    Posts
    9,640
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you want a great alternate to notepad for plain text try Notepad++ ... http://notepad-plus.sourceforge.net/uk/site.htm Free!

  12. #12
    Site Rules Breach - Permanent Ban
    Join Date
    14 Feb 2007
    Location
    Western Sydney
    Posts
    352
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This because your using AP Dark as the screen display. If you use white then there is no problem.

  13. #13
    A. P's Culinary Indiscriminant
    Threadstarter
    mongo's Avatar
    Join Date
    21 Mar 2009
    Location
    Cronulla, Sydney
    Posts
    8,520
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    100% correct Mark !!
    but having looked at it for a while now, Mongo does not think he can live with it so he is going back to black
    sincere thanks for the advice though

  14. #14
    Go the Rabbitohs mudman's Avatar
    Join Date
    23 Oct 2008
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    3,138
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    the quick and nasty way is to press the 'print screen' key and then paste into a word document. youb get warts and all but the text is there
    cc and enjoy

    Photography is painting with light

    K7, Pentax 18-250mm zoom, Pentax 100mm macro, Sigma 50-500mm
    Velbon Sherpa tripod Photoshop CS6

  15. #15
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,414
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by MarkW View Post
    This because your using AP Dark as the screen display. If you use white then there is no problem.
    I use AP dark and do not have an issue cutting and pasting straight from it. Haven't ever had to change the font colour in Word, using 4 different PC's to access AP, so there is more to it than just AP Dark.

  16. #16
    Site Rules Breach - Permanent Ban
    Join Date
    14 Feb 2007
    Location
    Western Sydney
    Posts
    352
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ricktas View Post
    I use AP dark and do not have an issue cutting and pasting straight from it. Haven't ever had to change the font colour in Word, using 4 different PC's to access AP, so there is more to it than just AP Dark.
    That maybe because word probably has the text defaulted to "auto" which is black

  17. #17
    Account Closed
    Join Date
    15 Feb 2009
    Location
    Perth,Australia
    Posts
    238
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    When you copy text, it copies all the properties of the text to the clipboard, so when you paste it, it pastes it usually in the color, and the font type. pasting the text onto a software that doesn't recognizes these attributes like textpad, notepad++ or notepad, just pastes the text in black.

    I know Im late.

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    17 Dec 2008
    Location
    charters towers qld
    Posts
    191
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Kym View Post
    If you want a great alternate to notepad for plain text try Notepad++ ... http://notepad-plus.sourceforge.net/uk/site.htm Free!
    looks like a good program but the downloads look complecated wich one is the download for windows

  19. #19
    Fuji Fanatic
    Join Date
    20 Mar 2008
    Location
    Glenorchy
    Posts
    4,040
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Mongo, as all text here is white so when you paste it onto word it will be invisible! Press CTRL A to highlight all the text and make font colour AUto or black. Voila!
    Odille

    “Can't keep my eyes from the circling sky”

    My Blog | Canon 1DsMkII | 60D | Tokina 20-35mm f/2.8 AF AT-X PRO | EF50mm f/1.8| Sigma 150-500mm F5-6.3 APO DG OS HSM | Fujifilm X-T1 & X-M1 | Fujinon XC 16-50mm F3.5-5.6 OIS | Fujinon XC 50-230mm F3.5-5.6 OIS | Fujinon XF 18-55mm F2.8-4R LM OIS | tripods, flashes, filters etc ||

  20. #20
    It's all about the Light!
    Tech Admin
    Kym's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2008
    Location
    Modbury, Adelaide
    Posts
    9,640
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by umajo View Post
    looks like a good program but the downloads look complecated wich one is the download for windows
    It's GPL code - so you get the program source code and can modify and build it yourself

    But if your not that much into software .... here's one that was prepared earlier...
    http://sourceforge.net/projects/notepad-plus/files/
    >>> This file >>> npp.5.5.Installer.exe

    Enjoy!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •