User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: PS CS2 wont save files to jpg.

  1. #1
    Member Sammi's Avatar
    Join Date
    29 Apr 2007
    Location
    western suburbs of melbourne as of 13/5/2010
    Posts
    157
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    PS CS2 wont save files to jpg.

    well not entirely true, if i save for web it does, i think the problem has started since updateing the software that came with the 50d but not sure, the only options i have for saving now are,
    TIFF, cineon, .psb, PDF, .raw and PNG no jpg,
    Does anyone have a solution to whats happened, if im having to save my photos in these formats its gonna fill the harddrive very quickly,
    Canon 50d - 300d backup - 28/135mm IS usm - 50mm 1.8 - ettl flash - Assortmant of other stuff I hardly use
    I think a photography class should be a requirement in all educational programs because it makes you see the world rather than just look at it. ~Author Unknown

  2. #2
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,605
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Your file is not 8 bit

    Go to Image> Mode - and change to 8 bit. JPG files cannot be anything other than 8bit and you cannot save them as JPG unless you convert them to 8bit
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  3. #3
    Member
    Threadstarter
    Sammi's Avatar
    Join Date
    29 Apr 2007
    Location
    western suburbs of melbourne as of 13/5/2010
    Posts
    157
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ahhh thanks Rick, problem Solved, the files are obviously by default 16bit when put to PS as this is what was ticked, cheers for the hand,

    Question - do i have to change it to 8bit with every photo,

  4. #4
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,605
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Sammi View Post
    Ahhh thanks Rick, problem Solved, the files are obviously by default 16bit when put to PS as this is what was ticked, cheers for the hand,

    Question - do i have to change it to 8bit with every photo,
    Yep, if you want to use the File - Save As, option, File save for web converts it automatically

  5. #5
    It's all about the Light!
    Tech Admin
    Kym's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2008
    Location
    Modbury, Adelaide
    Posts
    9,639
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Sammi View Post
    Ahhh thanks Rick, problem Solved, the files are obviously by default 16bit when put to PS as this is what was ticked, cheers for the hand,
    Question - do i have to change it to 8bit with every photo,
    Only for JPG.

    I leave my images as 16 bit PSD and only save for JPG for publication.
    If you use the File/Save for Web & devices it converts for you.

  6. #6
    Member charton's Avatar
    Join Date
    31 Mar 2009
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    495
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sammi, when viewing your photo in the Canon software that comes with the 50D, you can convert and save from raw (to a folder) then open that jpeg with PS CS2. May be your other option....
    I have the same version software as you plus the 50D, when you check on Adobe site for Camera Raw the version we need for the 50D is not support in CS22
    Rachel
    Canon 50D/ 5DMK2; 24-70 f2.8L; 18-200 IS (kit); 50 f1.8 II; Sigma 10-20; 430 EXII; Lowepro bags; plus other accessories
    LR3, CS5 & PSE6

  7. #7
    Member
    Threadstarter
    Sammi's Avatar
    Join Date
    29 Apr 2007
    Location
    western suburbs of melbourne as of 13/5/2010
    Posts
    157
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for your help guys, Rachel, i have been opening them with photo professional the transferong them to PS this seems to be where the problem lies as they are opening up straight away as TIFF. havent tried opening them straight from PS so thanks for giving me the heads up its not supported

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    08 May 2008
    Location
    **Suburb/Town Required**
    Posts
    36
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Use Adobe Bridge and CS3 and you will have no issues. As long as your .DNG has been flattened after editing they will save straight to JPEG.
    See my website @ http://www.aroundsydneyphotography.com

    Pentax K20D
    D-BG2 Battery Grip
    Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 EX DG Macro
    Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM II
    Slik 300DX Tripod
    Sigma 530 DG Super Flash
    SanDisk 200X 8GB SDHC Cards

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    13 Jun 2009
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    130
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Save as .PSD or .TIFF or whatever then go File > Scripts > Image Processor and click "run". You can select quality levels etc, it will convert it into JPEG and save it into a file called JPEG on your desktop.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •