User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Weird Mouse Problem

  1. #1
    Ausphotography Veteran
    Join Date
    22 Jul 2008
    Location
    Rosebud, Mornington Peninsula
    Posts
    2,839
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Weird Mouse Problem

    Today all of a sudden the mouse has been freezing then it would work for a second and then stop again and work again etc - It's wireless so I was thinking maybe the batteries - then (after numerous reboots and tests) I realised it's only happening in one specific program I have, some board games software that has been on here for ages and never had a problem with

    Even after the program is shut down this freeze- small move -freeze -small move etc continues so I end up having to reboot it to fix it

    It's not happening unless I run that games software - I've un-installed that and reinstalled it and still it's happening?

    Im a bit confused here lol Anything I can do?

    Edited to add there was no problem this morning with the game (play it numerous times a day) but since lunch time has started it?
    Last edited by Miaow; 06-08-2009 at 4:57pm.
    Cat (aka Cathy) - Another Canon user - 400D, 18-55,75-300mm Kit Lens,50mm f1.8, Tamron 90mm f2.8 Macro, Sigma 28-70 f2.8-4 DG, Tripod and a willingness to learn
    Software used: PhotoImpact, Irfanview and a lot of plugins
    We don't make a photograph just with a camera, we bring to the act of photography all the books we have read, the movies we have seen, the music we have heard, the people we have loved. - Ansel Adams


  2. #2
    Ausphotography Veteran
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    22 Jul 2008
    Location
    Rosebud, Mornington Peninsula
    Posts
    2,839
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hmm i'll try one more install - notice it left a bit of stuff there so maybe thats a cause :/

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    19 Sep 2007
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    144
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    is their anything that is going on in the background maybe? like a virus scan or something that may be using the cpu?.....i dont think its a mouse problem i think its got something more to do with cpu or memory bandwidth and available space left.....if the cpu/memory is jumping up to 100% while your playing your game then you know thats the prob.

    their is one way it might be doing this The default power setting in the "Power Saver" plan limits the CPU to 50 percent. Open the Power Options in control panel and change it to "High Performance" to give it full throttle.

    you may also have too many services running that you dont need this can be done by:

    2. To stop services at start up..

    • Click Start then Control Panel
    • Select Program Features
    • On the left panel, select Turn Windows Features on or off
    • You can safely deselect:
    o Indexing Service
    o Remote Differential Compression
    o Tablet PC Optional Components
    o Windows DFS Replication Service
    o Windows Fax & Scan (unless you use a modem for faxing)
    o Windows Meeting Space (unless you use the Live Meeting Service

    you can also take off programs from starting up so you get a faster boot time

    this is done from the boot file but can be done either two ways the first is to

    To stop programmes from start up.
    Start>control panel>administrative tools>system configuration> then the start up tab.
    Untick anything you don't need to load at start up.

    the other way is to go start > run msconfig and go to the startup tab.

    Hope that helps....let me know if any of that helped
    Ben

    Camera: 7d
    Lenses: Canon 17 - 55 f2.8, Canon 85mm f1.8, Sigma 30mm f1.4
    Flash: 430 exii

  4. #4
    Ausphotography Veteran
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    22 Jul 2008
    Location
    Rosebud, Mornington Peninsula
    Posts
    2,839
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Ben, That's great on stopping things running at start up as I do need that I think (other reasons though)

    But good news - must have been something screwy in the user data (that was left on the original uninstal - now I've deleted everything out of the dir and then reinstalled - it seems to be working fine - before would only last 2-3 mins before the mouse would die - managed 2 games then - just have lost all the user data for my stats lol

  5. #5
    Ausphotography Site Sponsor/Advertiser DAdeGroot's Avatar
    Join Date
    26 Feb 2009
    Location
    Cedar Creek, Qld, Australia
    Posts
    1,890
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Miaow View Post
    Thanks Ben, That's great on stopping things running at start up as I do need that I think (other reasons though)

    But good news - must have been something screwy in the user data (that was left on the original uninstal - now I've deleted everything out of the dir and then reinstalled - it seems to be working fine - before would only last 2-3 mins before the mouse would die - managed 2 games then - just have lost all the user data for my stats lol
    Are you sure it wasn't just a hair over the optical mouse's sensor ? That tends to make them do screwy things, sometimes stopping altogether. Might have saved yourself a lot of reinstalling ;-)
    Dave

    http://www.degrootphotography.com.au/
    Canon EOS 1D MkIV | Canon EOS 5D MkII | Canon EOS 30D | Canon EF 400mm f/5.6L USM | Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM | Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM | Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM | Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM | Canon TS-E 17mm f/4L & some non-L lenses.

  6. #6
    Ausphotography Veteran
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    22 Jul 2008
    Location
    Rosebud, Mornington Peninsula
    Posts
    2,839
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    no i tried everything Dave - did clean it also - as i said it was only that program - cant see if was something over the sensor that it would only affect one program?

  7. #7
    Ausphotography Veteran
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    22 Jul 2008
    Location
    Rosebud, Mornington Peninsula
    Posts
    2,839
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ARGH I give up it started happening again with it today :/ All i can think of it has another sub program (which i did access from it) and maybe was something in there :/ One more install and see what happens :/

    Edit4ed new install working again but for how long
    Last edited by Miaow; 07-08-2009 at 1:50pm.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    19 Sep 2007
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    144
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i still say try the stuff i mentioned :P it cant hurt can it

  9. #9
    Ausphotography Veteran
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    22 Jul 2008
    Location
    Rosebud, Mornington Peninsula
    Posts
    2,839
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yeah might have to try that Ben and see if helps - just cant see how all of a sudden I'd have this problem

    And it stopped working again after about 20 mins (the games) so i have no uninstalled it permanently at this stage

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    19 Sep 2007
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    144
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Miaow View Post
    just cant see how all of a sudden I'd have this problem
    one of the many joys operating systems throw at you computers are like cars......to keep them working in good working order you need to clean and service them to make sure they run reliabilty and effectively

  11. #11
    Ausphotography Veteran
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    22 Jul 2008
    Location
    Rosebud, Mornington Peninsula
    Posts
    2,839
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    True lol though I do keep a good eye on it

    Hmm starting to think actually it is the batteries in the mouse and maybe just coincdence its doing it on that one prog mainly - just happened emptying the recycle bin ....

    Have swapped the batteries from tv remote and the mouse to see if much difference

  12. #12
    Moderately Underexposed I @ M's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 May 2007
    Location
    Marlo, Far East Gippsland
    Posts
    4,892
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Mouse problem that is hard to solve, hmmm, get a cat.

  13. #13
    Ausphotography Veteran
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    22 Jul 2008
    Location
    Rosebud, Mornington Peninsula
    Posts
    2,839
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    LOL well I have 2 of those plus me lol So should be solvable at some stage (I hope lol)

  14. #14
    Ausphotography Veteran
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    22 Jul 2008
    Location
    Rosebud, Mornington Peninsula
    Posts
    2,839
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    BTW Ben had a look around as you were saying and cant seem to find things exactly like it? hmm are you talking Vista or XP? This is XP?

    Another update now brand new batteries in the mouse
    Last edited by Miaow; 07-08-2009 at 5:14pm.

  15. #15
    Ausphotography Veteran
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    22 Jul 2008
    Location
    Rosebud, Mornington Peninsula
    Posts
    2,839
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hmm update since the new batteries all seems ok - Trevs dad though, who had the mouse/keyboard combo before, had never had that happen though even if going flat

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •