User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Lightroom 2.4 Keywords

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    29 Jul 2009
    Location
    Cessnock, NSW AU
    Posts
    472
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Lightroom 2.4 Keywords

    Fellow board members, can you export Keywords to CS4 Bridge from Lightroom 2.4?

    I have added keywords to hundreds of images using Lightroom and when I open Bridge only a few of these keywords appear. One image is registered to a particular keyword even though there are many images I have allocated that keyword to.

    The majority of my allocated Keywords don't appear in Bridge and I can't find anywhere in Bridge or Lightroom to ensure the Keywords are embedded in the image.
    .
    Cheers, Mal

    crafthouse images - my Flickr

    Canon EOS 5DM3, 7D and a modest collection of "L" goodies

  2. #2
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,643
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    If you have Bridge/ACR set to store the metadata in XMP sidecar files, Lightroom will pick those up when it imports the images. That includes keywords

    That works for transferring from bridge to lightroom, so my guess is it will work in reverse, so make sure you have metadata set to store in XMP sidecarfiles in Bridge.
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  3. #3
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    29 Jul 2009
    Location
    Cessnock, NSW AU
    Posts
    472
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Really appreciate you help.

    Thanks Ricktas for your reply but there a few points I am unclear about.

    1. Bridge AER - Please explain. I am using Bridge CS4 - we talking the same software?

    2. I have looked in preferences and scrolled down the hella long list in Metadata but have been upable to find anything alluding to "store metadata in XMP sidecar files" - am I looking in the right place and have missed it or is this tweak found somewhere else?

    Really appreciate you help.

  4. #4
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    29 Jul 2009
    Location
    Cessnock, NSW AU
    Posts
    472
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    I've got it - thanks for your help Ricki

    I've got it!

    To have lightroom export assigned keywords so they are visible in Bridge - select files, then goto lightroom/metadata/save metadata to files.

    Too easy

    Thanks Ricktas for your interest
    Last edited by mal from cessnock; 05-08-2009 at 1:15am. Reason: typo

  5. #5
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,643
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    welcome Mal, knew it had to be simple once you understood how the data is attached to the files by lightroom etc

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •