User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Not the right type of document?

  1. #1
    Member matilda's Avatar
    Join Date
    20 Nov 2008
    Location
    Stawell, Vic
    Posts
    483
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Not the right type of document?

    I sold my laptop and upgraded my computer to a desktop. More room and more ram. I also got photoshop cs4. I now how a problem.

    I can not open ANY nef (raw) photo's in photoshop. It comes up with this error.

    Cannot complete your request as it is not the right type of document

    I have no idea why it is doing this, would anyone be able to help me?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    26 May 2008
    Location
    Launceston
    Posts
    2,014
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Have you got Adobe bridge installed?
    Cheers, Lani.
    Bodies: Nikon D700, D300 Primes: Nikon 50mm 1.4, 85mm 1.4G, 105mm VR 2.8, 300mm f4. Zooms: Nikon 14-24 2.8, 24-70 2.8, 70-200VR II 2.8, Sigma 10-20mm Processing: Photoshop CS5 extended, LR 3.2.


  3. #3
    Member
    Threadstarter
    matilda's Avatar
    Join Date
    20 Nov 2008
    Location
    Stawell, Vic
    Posts
    483
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i don't know, i haven't checked... that and my husband set everything up for me.

    I'll double check. and if he hasn't I'll get him to do so.

  4. #4
    Member
    Threadstarter
    matilda's Avatar
    Join Date
    20 Nov 2008
    Location
    Stawell, Vic
    Posts
    483
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ok I've gone to the bridge, and that opens up fine but I still have the same problem. It just comes up with a generic icon when you look at the nef file.

    I am re:installing the software that came with the nikon d90 so mayby that will solve it.

  5. #5
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,139
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    download the latest version of Adobe Camera Raw from the Adobe site, and install it. The ACR plugin is what lets PS/Bridge view NEF's, maybe your ACR is corrupt.
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  6. #6
    Member
    Threadstarter
    matilda's Avatar
    Join Date
    20 Nov 2008
    Location
    Stawell, Vic
    Posts
    483
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    well i reinstalled the program that came with the camera so i can view my raw files there, but still can't open them in photoshop.

    downloading that program now.

    Thanks rick.

  7. #7
    Member
    Threadstarter
    matilda's Avatar
    Join Date
    20 Nov 2008
    Location
    Stawell, Vic
    Posts
    483
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    still no luck

    i downloaded this update and it didn't work.

    I'm still having the same problem.

  8. #8
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,139
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    If you have installed this today, have you restarted the PC since installing everything?

  9. #9
    Site Rules Breach - Permanent Ban
    Join Date
    14 Feb 2007
    Location
    Western Sydney
    Posts
    352
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Assuming this is Windoze - don't you have to add the Windows RAW file viewer or similar before you can view RAW images??

  10. #10
    Member
    Threadstarter
    matilda's Avatar
    Join Date
    20 Nov 2008
    Location
    Stawell, Vic
    Posts
    483
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yeah i restarted (twice).

    I wasn't running the patch right, but dh fixed it now. thank god.

    thanks for all your help everyone.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    26 May 2008
    Location
    Launceston
    Posts
    2,014
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Woo hoo, I was hoping you'd get it sorted out, thank goodness for dh

  12. #12
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,139
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by MarkW View Post
    Assuming this is Windoze - don't you have to add the Windows RAW file viewer or similar before you can view RAW images??

    For info, even though the issue as been resolved. The Windows RAW viewer is just for viewing raw files in explorer, Photoshop etc can view RAW files without the Windows RAW viewer.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •