Thread: Layer/Selection help ??

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Layer/Selection help ??

OK so ive got an image where i wanna apply some selective colour. Basically I wanna select a oart of the subject to keep in colour and convert remaining background area to mono..

Whats the best way to do it ?? Im using GIMP but i wouldnt imagine this kind of thing would vary much between PS etc ..

Ive made the selection, the bit to remain in colour, with the lasso tool, how do I now convert the remaining image to mono ??

This part of the game im very new to so all help is appreciated .. cheers
    Hi Im Darren

www.darrengrayphotography.com

SONY A850 (FF)] + GRIP | SONY A350 (APS-C) + GRIP | SONY NEX-5 +16 2.8 + 18-55 E-MOUNT LENSES | CZ 85 1.4 | 50 1.4 | 28-75 2.8 | 70-200 2.8 | 2 x 42AMs | 24" imac | LR | CS4 | + loads of other junk

Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    invert the selection so everything else is selected, then convert to mono.
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

RICK
    My Photography

Ausphotography Regular
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    lot's of ways to do this one. if you really must do the selective colour thing, my recommendation would be to convert the image to mon and simply paint back the colour using the history brush. this is what i do in cs3, but i've never heard of gimp. you sure you want to do selective colour?

Ausphotography Regular
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I agree with Tom
    Regards
    John
    Nikon D750, Sigma 105mm OS Macro, Tokina 16-28 F2.8, Sigma 24-105 Art, Sigma 150-600C,
    Benro Tripod and Monopod with Arca plates

Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)