User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: PC specs help wanted

  1. #1
    Member Terryw's Avatar
    Join Date
    19 Nov 2007
    Location
    Gulfview Heights
    Posts
    26
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    PC specs help wanted

    Hi guys,

    I am thinking of a new PC. What do you think of this system for running CS4, Lightroom and MSl office etc.
    Any components you would change?
    anything I should add? any advice gratefully received.

    Intel E7400 CPU
    ASUS P5KPL-1600 Motherboard
    ASUS 512MB EAH3450 Video Card
    DVD Burner
    4GB Kingston Ram
    320 GB Hard Drive
    Windows Vista 64 Bit

    Terry

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    01 Apr 2008
    Location
    Launceston Tasmania
    Posts
    1,172
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That should run all that well.

    Paul

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    07 Aug 2007
    Location
    Newcastle, NSW
    Posts
    321
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Terryw View Post
    Hi guys,

    I am thinking of a new PC. What do you think of this system for running CS4, Lightroom and MSl office etc.
    Any components you would change?
    anything I should add? any advice gratefully received.

    Intel E7400 CPU
    ASUS P5KPL-1600 Motherboard
    ASUS 512MB EAH3450 Video Card
    DVD Burner
    4GB Kingston Ram
    320 GB Hard Drive
    Windows Vista 64 Bit

    Terry
    Find the few extra dollars and buy a Q8200 Quad Core Processor.

    You'll be pleased in the end you did.

  4. #4
    Site Rules Breach - Permanent Ban
    Join Date
    11 Jan 2009
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I would build with two hard drives.

    Apart from the extra storage space, it would allow you to run cache and paging files from a different drive to the one which houses your software - which will improve performance.

    Also, the difference in price between a 320G drive and something bigger would be marginal, to say the least!

    Have fun

  5. #5
    A royal pain in the bum! arthurking83's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Jun 2006
    Location
    the worst house, in the best street
    Posts
    8,185
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ShaneB View Post
    I would build with two hard drives.

    ....
    I'd actually say more!... like three

    Hard drives are relatively cheap nowadays, and it's good practise to have more than one, as a priority, two would be nice, but three(or maybe more?) would be ideal.

    Two HDD's give you the flexibility to use one as a dedicated cache disk, which should help for running your editing program faster. If it's large enough you could always use it for storing gigabytes of data/image/etc...

    I have three hdd's on my current system(actually four, if you count the primary Windows drive as it's in a RAID config), but I use the main drive only for OS and programs, second drive for storing stuff images, videos, documents... etc, and the third drive is generally for dedicated cache file use, but as it's large enough it also has some room for storage too, although I only use that temporarily.

    Further to all that, I also recently got an extra 1Tb external hdd for added archiving, and have a regular routine of backing up the storage drive to the external drive at 10PM every night.

    As I see it for now, the only disaster I'm not really taking into account is fire.

    hdd's are cheap, and the more the merrier.
    Nikon D800E, D300, D70s
    {Nikon} -> 50/1.2 : 500/8(CPU'd) : 105/2.8VR Micro : 180/2.8ais : 105mm f/1.8ais : 24mm/2ais
    {Sigma}; ->10-20/4-5.6 : 50/1.4 : 12-24/4.5-5.6II : 150-600mm|S
    {Tamron}; -> 17-50/2.8 : 28-75/2.8 : 70-200/2.8 : 300/2.8 SP MF : 24-70/2.8VC


  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    20 Feb 2009
    Location
    **Suburb/Town Required**
    Posts
    27
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You have missed the most important and most overlooked item.
    What power supply will you be using?
    If it came with the case you bought it will make a good paperweight and that's about all.
    A rather lengthy but very good article is available HERE.
    The rest of the Hardware seems fine, your budget may not extend to a Quad core but it will be better if you could get one
    Brian
    Constructive Critique of my work very welcome.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    17 Dec 2008
    Location
    Dee Why, Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    35
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just make sure you get 2 x Drives one you use as a backup......

    You never want to lose your pics if you can help it
    Canon 7D with various lenses...

    Zoom In With Eden Photography http://zoominwitheden.com

  8. #8
    It's all about the Light!
    Tech Admin
    Kym's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2008
    Location
    Modbury, Adelaide
    Posts
    9,641
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Whirlpool have good pre-defined configs... (At price points)

    http://whirlpool.net.au/wiki/?tag=rmp_sg_whirlpoolpcs

    http://whirlpool.net.au/wiki/?tag=rm...lpoolpcs_boxes

    http://whirlpool.net.au/wiki/?tag=rm...oolpcs_systems

    Eg... $1,250
    CPU: Intel E8400 S775 $235
    Motherboard: ASUS P5K/EPU $112
    RAM: 2 x 2GB DDR2 800MHz Ram $66
    HDD: 3.5" HDD SATA-300 640GB 16MB Samsung $95
    GPU: 1GB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 280 $509
    Case: ASUS TA-98 $65
    PSU: 525W Enermax Modu82+ $120
    Optical Drive: ASUS 20x BLT-2014 Lightscribe SATA $35
    regards, Kym Gallery Honest & Direct Constructive Critique Appreciated! ©
    Digital & film, Bits of glass covering 10mm to 500mm, and other stuff



  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    20 Mar 2009
    Location
    Tasmania
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The System CypherOz suggested is Decent and would easily handle what the OP needs it for only thing i would change is the brand of hard drive seagate are way better.

  10. #10
    Member
    Threadstarter
    Terryw's Avatar
    Join Date
    19 Nov 2007
    Location
    Gulfview Heights
    Posts
    26
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks guys, the system I described is already built but unused. I have a 1Tb external hard drive that I can hook up to it. Are you suggesting I get another internal drive if I can, just for the programmes and if so what size would you suggest?

  11. #11
    Site Rules Breach - Permanent Ban
    Join Date
    11 Jan 2009
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Terryw View Post
    Thanks guys, the system I described is already built but unused. I have a 1Tb external hard drive that I can hook up to it. Are you suggesting I get another internal drive if I can, just for the programmes and if so what size would you suggest?
    750G was generally quoted as the best bang for buck - but that was weeks ago. I'm not sure why, but prices on HDDs seem to be plummeting.

    One thing to think about: some drives have 3 year warranties and some 5. I'd expect the slightly more expensive units with 5 years on them to be more reliable.

    All that said: fitting a hard drive is dead easy, and provided you have the space in your box and a power supply big enough to handle it, you can add an extra drive any time.

  12. #12
    It's all about the Light!
    Tech Admin
    Kym's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2008
    Location
    Modbury, Adelaide
    Posts
    9,641
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ShaneB View Post
    I'm not sure why, but prices on HDDs seem to be plummeting.
    At a guess ... Global demand is down - PC sales are down (businesses deferring upgrades etc). - parts manufacturers want to cash out inventory.

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    07 Aug 2007
    Location
    Newcastle, NSW
    Posts
    321
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Interestingly the wholesale price for Hard Drives actually increased this week by a few dollars ex GST.

  14. #14
    Account Closed
    Join Date
    03 Jul 2007
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    214
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by arthurking83 View Post
    I'd actually say more!... like three

    Hard drives are relatively cheap nowadays, and it's good practise to have more than one, as a priority, two would be nice, but three(or maybe more?) would be ideal.

    Two HDD's give you the flexibility to use one as a dedicated cache disk, which should help for running your editing program faster. If it's large enough you could always use it for storing gigabytes of data/image/etc...

    I have three hdd's on my current system(actually four, if you count the primary Windows drive as it's in a RAID config), but I use the main drive only for OS and programs, second drive for storing stuff images, videos, documents... etc, and the third drive is generally for dedicated cache file use, but as it's large enough it also has some room for storage too, although I only use that temporarily.

    Further to all that, I also recently got an extra 1Tb external hdd for added archiving, and have a regular routine of backing up the storage drive to the external drive at 10PM every night.

    As I see it for now, the only disaster I'm not really taking into account is fire.

    hdd's are cheap, and the more the merrier.

    I had 4 HDD and it slowed my system down....now i have 1 HDD and 2 gig of Mem and it seems to be running ok i must admit it's an oldie but good............

    What i can sugest is stay away from Vista...........but that's me.........i would get the vista but step down to xp sp3...and you're all good....IMHO

    Edit.. More mem on the video

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    28 Aug 2008
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    1,913
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I recommend windows XP with SP3 too, dont use Vista

    all u need to worry about is your power supply, something around 600W and more should be efficient, if u are not chasing speed and a lot of gaming

    I have a slightly less powerful system than the parts u listed, and run CS4 fine along with other apps opened simultanesously

    oh and most importantly, what sort of monitor will u be using for photo editing?

  16. #16
    Member
    Threadstarter
    Terryw's Avatar
    Join Date
    19 Nov 2007
    Location
    Gulfview Heights
    Posts
    26
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have a Dell 2408 WFP ultraSharp.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •