User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Firefox 3 - Colour Management

  1. #1
    It's all about the Light!
    Tech Admin
    Kym's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2008
    Location
    Modbury, Adelaide
    Posts
    9,641
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Firefox 3 - Colour Management

    Refer: http://www.gballard.net/psd/go_live_...Gprofiles.html

    The next major release of Firefox (3.5) has Colour Management turned on by default.

    You can turn it on now (3.0.x) using this method...

    Type "about:config" in the address bar of Firefox 3.
    Click thru confirmation page and find: gfx.color_management.enabled
    Double click that until it says "true".
    Then restart Firefox 3.

    Hint: Images posted for comps should be in sRGB colour space as not everyone has colour managed browsers and that is the only way to ensure your image presents well to all potential voters.
    regards, Kym Gallery Honest & Direct Constructive Critique Appreciated! ©
    Digital & film, Bits of glass covering 10mm to 500mm, and other stuff



  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    23 Nov 2008
    Location
    Kellevie
    Posts
    304
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Nice one!!!! thanks Kym
    Julie

    Canon 6D,Fuji X100
    l Canon 50mm f1.8 MK l l Canon 85mm f1.8 l Canon 100mm f2.8L Macro l Canon 24-70IS f4L l LR4/CS6



  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    04 Nov 2008
    Location
    Horsley / Wollongong
    Posts
    334
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Cheer's kym, did not know that about firefox 3.x
    Photographer & Retoucher at L'Obsession Secrète

  4. #4
    Way Down Yonder in the Paw Paw Patch jim's Avatar
    Join Date
    27 Jun 2007
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    2,341
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This proved helpful. I've been having an odd problem with colour management, in that colours displayed the way I wanted them in Photoshop.(and seemed to match the prints I get from DigitalWorks) but came out oversaturated in every other program (Irfanview, Firefox, Explorer). Photoshop seemed the odd one out, which was a bit of a worry...

    Going from Irfanview 4.20 to 4.25 caused it to match Photoshop without my changing any settings (!?), and now this hint has brought Firefox into line.

    They still display wrong in Windows Explorer though.

  5. #5
    can't remember Tannin's Avatar
    Join Date
    16 Apr 2007
    Location
    Ballarat
    Posts
    2,895
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What's happening, Jim, is that your colour-managed programs are displaying correctly, and your other programs are not. Some people would say tha you need to get more colour-manged programs. But a much, much more practical and effective answer is to adjust your display system - monitor and graphics card settings - so that you always get good colour. If you adjust the display system correctly in the first place, you don't have to touch anything else. Do it once, do it right. Much easier.

  6. #6
    It's all about the Light!
    Tech Admin
    Threadstarter
    Kym's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2008
    Location
    Modbury, Adelaide
    Posts
    9,641
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Refer: http://www.ausphotography.net.au/for...ad.php?t=33561

    1. Get your monitor calibrated (manually if you have to or with a device)
    http://www.ausphotography.net.au/for...445#post232445

    2. use sRGB for publishing to the web

    That keeps everything simple

  7. #7
    Way Down Yonder in the Paw Paw Patch jim's Avatar
    Join Date
    27 Jun 2007
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    2,341
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok, ta.

    Kym, I've been using sRGB for a couple of years now. It didn't take much experimenting with other colour spaces to show me I didn't need the headache.

    As for monitor calibration, that's where the problems started. I clearly messed it up, and I'll have to do it again some time. Meanwhile I'm using the profile I downloaded from my monitor's manufacturer, and colours seem to display properly in the programs that matter.

    I haven't finished with this but I'm on a plateau. Feel like doing something else for a while.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •