User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Question on AVG Scan when Scanning Whole System

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    22 Jul 2008
    Location
    Rosebud, Mornington Peninsula
    Posts
    2,838
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question on AVG Scan when Scanning Whole System

    Bit of a technical Q here for AVG users - is there someway in the scan whole system scan I can make it not scan one particular directory????

    AVG takes an hour or 2 even to scan through one of my game dirs and since I know there are no viruses in there I would like it if possible to skip it in future so I can complete the whole system scan WAY faster (at the time i am posting this post 2.16 this scan has been running since 11am )

    Any ideas?

    Thanks
    Cat (aka Cathy) - Another Canon user - 400D, 18-55,75-300mm Kit Lens,50mm f1.8, Tamron 90mm f2.8 Macro, Sigma 28-70 f2.8-4 DG, Tripod and a willingness to learn
    Software used: PhotoImpact, Irfanview and a lot of plugins
    We don't make a photograph just with a camera, we bring to the act of photography all the books we have read, the movies we have seen, the music we have heard, the people we have loved. - Ansel Adams


  2. #2
    It's all about the Light!
    Tech Admin
    Kym's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2008
    Location
    Modbury, Adelaide
    Posts
    9,641
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Not in the free version. The pro version (I think) allows selective directories (it did in previous versions).

  3. #3
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    22 Jul 2008
    Location
    Rosebud, Mornington Peninsula
    Posts
    2,838
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    rats - yeah I'm using free - If I could get rid of that Dir from the scan it will save me hours :/

    And yeah its still scanning

  4. #4
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    22 Jul 2008
    Location
    Rosebud, Mornington Peninsula
    Posts
    2,838
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I spose i could set it up to scan folders and then do all of them but it

  5. #5
    It's all about the Light!
    Tech Admin
    Kym's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2008
    Location
    Modbury, Adelaide
    Posts
    9,641
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I don't run scans regularly - only when I've loaded something suspect, and only on certain directories - before and after I install it. And I do do some very suspect things

    Basically I practice safe computing!
    I get no value for full system scanning when the in-memory / on-load scanner is active anyway.
    If you don't have a virus today, and you don't load anything suspect, you won't have one tomorrow.

    Your best system defence is good regular multi generation / copy backups, not virus scanning.

  6. #6
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    22 Jul 2008
    Location
    Rosebud, Mornington Peninsula
    Posts
    2,838
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yeah very true Kym - i spose i just dont feel safe unless i do this full system scan - then again I have Comodo and AVG and so I should be safe - they pick up anything out of the ordinary run time

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    07 Aug 2007
    Location
    Newcastle, NSW
    Posts
    321
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Miaow View Post
    Bit of a technical Q here for AVG users - is there someway in the scan whole system scan I can make it not scan one particular directory????

    AVG takes an hour or 2 even to scan through one of my game dirs and since I know there are no viruses in there I would like it if possible to skip it in future so I can complete the whole system scan WAY faster (at the time i am posting this post 2.16 this scan has been running since 11am )

    Any ideas?

    Thanks
    In AVG / Computer Scanner, highlight the scheduled scan and click edit scan Schedule.


    Select What to Scan, Select Specific Files and Folders, and select which folders you do want scanned
    Excluding just one is as easy as selecting all then removing the tick from which ever folder you no longer wish to scan.

    I think this is what you were trying to achieve.

  8. #8
    It's all about the Light!
    Tech Admin
    Kym's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2008
    Location
    Modbury, Adelaide
    Posts
    9,641
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by oldfart View Post
    In AVG / Computer Scanner, highlight the scheduled scan and click edit scan Schedule.
    Select What to Scan, Select Specific Files and Folders, and select which folders you do want scanned
    Excluding just one is as easy as selecting all then removing the tick from which ever folder you no longer wish to scan.
    I think this is what you were trying to achieve.
    I use Avast! now. AVG (free) used to only let you schedule a full scan, not a partial. So this is an improvement.

  9. #9
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    22 Jul 2008
    Location
    Rosebud, Mornington Peninsula
    Posts
    2,838
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by oldfart View Post
    In AVG / Computer Scanner, highlight the scheduled scan and click edit scan Schedule.


    Select What to Scan, Select Specific Files and Folders, and select which folders you do want scanned
    Excluding just one is as easy as selecting all then removing the tick from which ever folder you no longer wish to scan.

    I think this is what you were trying to achieve.
    I think this is the way - Thanks

    (Just altered it for everything in program files but that dir)

    Will see if skips - as running whole scan again to check

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •