User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 23

Thread: Hot Pixel Help

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    25 Nov 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    97
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Hot Pixel Help

    Hello All,

    Need some help, My Sony A350 looks to have developed a hot pixel, I have tried the pixel mapping and cleaning however its still there.

    Its not huge, but here it is at full crop.

    http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3342/...29a032e8_o.jpg

    Is there anything I can do.
    Site: DzR Photography
    Flickr: Flickr

    Camera: Sony A350 DSLR
    Lenses: 18-70mm, 55-200mm, 50mm f1.4, 70-300G, Minolta 35-70mm f4, Tamron 17-50 2.8
    Flash: Sony HVLF42AM
    Tripod: 190xPROB, 488RC4
    Memory: Sandisk Extreme 200x CF
    Software: Adobe Photoshop CS3 + RAW

  2. #2
    Bird-Aholic
    Join Date
    14 May 2008
    Location
    Seaford Meadows.
    Posts
    1,939
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Dz, I have found I have the same thing with mine with long exposures, all I do is clone them out. I have not heard of anything you can actually do, except maybe back to the repairers and then it might be $$$$$.

    Peter
    Any comments and critique always welcome
    Canon 400d twin lens kit & 60d : Canon 580 EX II & 430 EX II Flash | Cokin filters NDG 2,4 & 8 ND 8. + CPL | Sigma APO 150-500 OS DG | Canon 400L Canon 17-40L & 60 mm Macro.


  3. #3
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,128
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Yep clone it out. At least it doesn't move around. like dust bunnies.
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  4. #4
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    25 Nov 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    97
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ricktas View Post
    Yep clone it out. At least it doesn't move around. like dust bunnies.
    So is having 2 or 3 hot pixels worth taking the camera back or having it repaired worth while?

    The camera is about 3 months old?

    Thanks for the replies

  5. #5
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,128
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    ah, considering its only 3 months old, it would still be under warranty. So I personally would take it back, just remember you will be without your camera for a few weeks.

  6. #6
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    25 Nov 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    97
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ricktas View Post
    ah, considering its only 3 months old, it would still be under warranty. So I personally would take it back, just remember you will be without your camera for a few weeks.
    Yeah thats what I was thinking Rick, however im a bit concerned that if they replace it, the new camera may have more hot pixels or that if they attempt a firmware upgrade or remap it may have even more.

    Its catch 22.

  7. #7
    Member davesmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    12 Aug 2007
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    With the pixel mapping, did you change the camera date over to a new month? That's fixed mine in the past as the camera automatically remaps at the beginning of each month, and then you just change the date back.
    Cheers,
    Dave



  8. #8
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    25 Nov 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    97
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yeah Dave,

    I tried that changed the month forward and ran the pixel mapping tool, had no effect in the pixel

  9. #9
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    25 Nov 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    97
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    it looks like this is a stuck pixel and there are about 3 of them.

    Now I have gone over photos from the last few months and they are also there, so the a350 mapping tool has not got rid of them, so im not sure what to do.

    Should I take it back?, they only seem to come at iso400 and above and 1+ sec exposure?

    The camera is approx 2 1/2 months old.

    Cheers

  10. #10
    Ausphotography Regular
    Join Date
    27 Jul 2007
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    506
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Do you have long exposure Noise reduction on or off? I thought I had a stuck pixel problem with my older A100. When I had a service done (out of warranty), I asked them to look. The response from the camera repairer was that this is a side effect of any long exposure and it really wasn't worth the expense. If that is 100% crop, do you hardly even see it?

    That being said, take it back and see what they say

  11. #11
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    25 Nov 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    97
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have NR on, they are noticeable if I have a black background

  12. #12
    Ausphotography Regular wideangle's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Sep 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    1,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Do people find that the older their cameras are the more hot pixels it develops?
    please ask before PP my images

    "Life is what happens to you while your busy making other plans"

  13. #13
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    25 Nov 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    97
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have spoken to digital camera warehouse, who told me to call Sony, I called sony who told me to call Pro Gear Australia.

    Pro Gear said I should take it back to the seller, however after telling them that I had already spoken to them, they said I can bring it in for assesment. They said some noise is expected but they will check it out and see what can be done.

  14. #14
    Ausphotography Regular
    Join Date
    27 Jul 2007
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    506
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Don't you love the run around. I hope that Pro Gear are not too far out of your way

  15. #15
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    25 Nov 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    97
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    They are actually on 12 mins from work, So whereis says

    I work in Macquaire park and they are in chatswood.

  16. #16
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    25 Nov 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    97
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    well my baby is now with the techs at Pro Gear Australia.

    I have yet to see the end result, however there service is brilliant and nice. My sons 1st Bday is on the 4th and they said they will do this as a priority.

    They are checking the sensor for hot, stuck and dead pixels today, if they cannot fix with there software, they are going to replace the sensor.

    Hope they can just fix it.

  17. #17
    Member davesmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    12 Aug 2007
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've used Pro Gear before and their service was great. Good luck with the fix.

  18. #18
    Ausphotography Regular
    Join Date
    27 Jul 2007
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    506
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Good to see some excellent service! Please keep us informed.

  19. #19
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    25 Nov 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    97
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    well well well WOW

    Got a call at 2:30 today, Camera is ready to go all fixed.

    Havent tested it yet, however Pro Gear advised they found about 6 or 7 pixels and used their software to fix it.

    Will test it later, but turn around time,,,, WOW 3 hours

  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    13 Mar 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    686
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Woah ... awesome!!!

    Tip them!
    Michael.

    Camera: Canon EOS 400D w/ Battery Grip (BG-E3)
    Lenses: Sigma 10-20, Sigma 24-70, Canon 50 f/1.8 & Sigma 70-200
    Software: Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 1.4 and Photoshop CS3
    Photos: http://www.flickr.com/photos/mrjorge/

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •