User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Aftermarket RAM for Imac ??

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    13 Dec 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    2,051
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Aftermarket RAM for Imac ??

    Has anyone upgraded their mac with an aftermarket Kingston RAM module ??
    Hi Im Darren

    www.darrengrayphotography.com

    SONY A850 (FF)] + GRIP | SONY A350 (APS-C) + GRIP | SONY NEX-5 +16 2.8 + 18-55 E-MOUNT LENSES | CZ 85 1.4 | 50 1.4 | 28-75 2.8 | 70-200 2.8 | 2 x 42AMs | 24" imac | LR | CS4 | + loads of other junk


  2. #2
    Site Rules Breach - Permanent Ban
    Join Date
    14 Feb 2007
    Location
    Western Sydney
    Posts
    352
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Macs suffer very badly from incompatible RAM, you only need to go to some of the Mac forums to see how many faults are rectified by refitting or replacing RAM. Generally only genuine RAM is fitted.

    Yes I know the aftermarket stuff is cheaper but is it worth all the angst if a problem happens?

    I'd stick with genuine and have done so already - my MBP is 4Gb of genuine stuff.

  3. #3
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,643
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Check out AP site advertiser www.epowermac.com.au
    They specialise in Mac Accessories including RAM, give them a call if unsure as well, great phone service.
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  4. #4
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    13 Dec 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    2,051
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yea i had heard something along those lines ,, thats why I asked .. thanks Mark

    i just ordered my 24" 2.8 , should arrive Monday so ill check out the link .. thanks Rick

    ive been procrastinating over this for months and now its done .. what a relief , now im just keen to get my hands on it

  5. #5
    Site Rules Breach - Permanent Ban
    Join Date
    14 Feb 2007
    Location
    Western Sydney
    Posts
    352
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ricktas View Post
    Check out AP site advertiser www.epowermac.com.au
    They specialise in Mac Accessories including RAM, give them a call if unsure as well, great phone service.
    Even better is that their RAM is genuine - have dealt with epower before and had no problems

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    25 Apr 2008
    Location
    Amersfoort, NL
    Posts
    658
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you buy extra memory at the MAC stores, you're paying a rib extra for it. That was one of my main reasons not to buy my iMAC from the MACstore but instead from a specialized dealer. They fitted a Kingston 2GB Module 800MHZ PC2-6400 DDR2 SO-DIMM module. Works like a dream!
    Ciao, Joost

    All feedback is highly appreciated!

  7. #7
    Member Calxoddity's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Apr 2008
    Location
    Wollongong
    Posts
    473
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Daz,
    Important extra to buy: Applecare! Hasn't been mentioned yet, but can save a lot of angst.

    Regards,
    Calx
    Calxoddity
    Concert Pianist, Test Pilot, Pathological Liar


    Nikon D40, Sigma 17-70 F2.8-4.5 HSM, Nikkor AF-D 50mm f1.8
    Post Processing: Aperture 3 & Photoshop Elements 6

  8. #8
    Site Rules Breach - Permanent Ban
    Join Date
    14 Feb 2007
    Location
    Western Sydney
    Posts
    352
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Another thought on Memory - I have heard recently about a company in the USA selling 6Gb RAM for MBP.

    Try reding through this link - it helped me somewhat http://www.macperformanceguide.com/


    And yes I agree - very impotant - Buy Applecare!!! - it costs but there really arent that many people around with good tech knowledge when it comes to Mac.

    A good forum to join is MacTalk Australia http://forums.mactalk.com.au/
    Last edited by MarkW; 10-01-2009 at 9:27am.

  9. #9
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    13 Dec 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    2,051
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Calxoddity View Post
    Daz,
    Important extra to buy: Applecare! Hasn't been mentioned yet, but can save a lot of angst.

    Regards,
    Calx
    Absolutely Calx , but ive got 12 months to do that .. in fact ill grab it before the 3 months phone service runs out ..

    Id rather save the extra $270 now and put it toward some other bits and pieces like a HD and software

    but yea definitely will be getting the extra warranty

  10. #10
    Ausphotography Regular
    Join Date
    14 Sep 2008
    Location
    Salamander Bay NSW
    Posts
    737
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    And yes I agree - very impotant - Buy Applecare!!! - it costs but there really arent that many people around with good tech knowledge when it comes to Mac.

    A good forum to join is MacTalk Australia http://forums.mactalk.com.au/[/QUOTE]

    You can phone Apple Tech support any time and get help, if it is an out of warranty call, it only costs around $50, much cheaper than getting a technician in ($105), they are very good at talking you through a problem, I don't have any local help so this is what I do when necessary...not very often thankfully about twice since I am out of warranty and one of those was for the Powrbook.

    Enjoy your new machine it is beautiful. Margaret
    Margaret

    Nikon D7100 Manfrotto MF 055XPROB Pro Tripod & gynbal head, Nikon 18-70 mm, Sigma 10-20 mm, Kenko tubes, Nikkor 80-300 mm VR, Sigma 180 mm macro, Sigma 120-400 mm OS lenses, SB600 Speedlight, Photoshop CS5 on a Mac, Caapture One 7, Lightroom 4 Critiques welcomed


  11. #11
    Site Rules Breach - Permanent Ban
    Join Date
    14 Feb 2007
    Location
    Western Sydney
    Posts
    352
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by mcdesign View Post
    You can phone Apple Tech support any time and get help, if it is an out of warranty call, it only costs around $50, much cheaper than getting a technician in ($105), they are very good at talking you through a problem, I don't have any local help so this is what I do when necessary...not very often thankfully about twice since I am out of warranty and one of those was for the Powrbook.
    Using this method you can quick end up spending as much as you would getting Applecare and not have any Warranty to get the hardware replaced. Applecare is expensive, I should know as an MBP is almost twice the price of an iMac yet I still think the waranty part is still worthwhile.

  12. #12
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    13 Dec 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    2,051
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ricktas View Post
    Check out AP site advertiser www.epowermac.com.au
    They specialise in Mac Accessories including RAM, give them a call if unsure as well, great phone service.
    I emailed epowermac and Steve quoted me $149 for 2 x 2gig ram chips incl GST and delivery .. plus the modules have a lifetime warranty

    Seems ok to me .. Thanks for the referral Rick

    Quote Originally Posted by MarkW View Post
    Applecare is expensive, yet I still think the waranty part is still worthwhile.
    This is non negotiable , i will buy Applecare but I will get it in a little while , most definitely before the initial 3 months phone warranty runs out. Apples warranty setup is good in the sense that you can purchase your extra 2 years at any time prior to your initial 12 month warranty running out. Ill use the few hundred bucks to get up and running for now and buy AC sooner rather than later.

  13. #13
    Site Rules Breach - Permanent Ban
    Join Date
    14 Feb 2007
    Location
    Western Sydney
    Posts
    352
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Not being an expert on iMacs but knowing a bit about MBPs, how many slots does an iMac have? If the machine is similar to an MBP it comes with 2 slots and a 1Gb RAM chip in each slot. To get the full 4Gb you have to purchase 2x 2Gb chips and may as well throw away the old memory chips - but keep them just in case as there is no where for them to go.

    PS Didnt read your last properly - thought you were buying only 1 chip

    BTW When you go to fit the extra RAM make sure it fully clicks into place. To check the machine has recognised the new memory, once started click on the Apple symbol in the top left of the screen then click on the "about this Mac" which shows you the amount of RAM recognised. You can always hit the "get more info" button to look at all your systems.

  14. #14
    Member Calxoddity's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Apr 2008
    Location
    Wollongong
    Posts
    473
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes, that's right - 2 RAM slots with 1GB in each. You rip out the old ram and throw in the 2 x 2GB new ram (carefully, of course!).

  15. #15
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    13 Dec 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    2,051
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    just ordered 2 x 2gig chips from epowermac = $149 incl GST and delivery .. a discount of $17 for AP member .. happy with that

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •