User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  1
Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: How to save images at the highest quality

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    03 Aug 2006
    Location
    Lilli Pilli
    Posts
    40
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Saving High Quality Images

    Hi all,

    I thought I should post this one as I have noticed during my time here that alot of you are unaware of this.

    Everytime you save a jpg you lose data. If your processing your images and saving them as jpg each time............DON'T.

    Each time a jpg is saved it loses data. It's called jpg artifacting (you may have heard of this). Your image will eventually become a mass of pixels. I recieive jpg logos all the time (even though a logo should be vector art i.e. an illustrator file) that people have resaved hundreds of times and I am expected to produce something decent out of them....No can do. Once a jpg has been resaved too many times it is stuffed forever, there is NO WAY to repair it. (you can try some ps work to help it a little but basically it's gone).

    So here's what to do with your image:

    1. Download from your camera
    2. If working in RAW format do your stuff and finally save as .tif
    3. If is a jpg from camera save as .tif
    4. Work on the .tif and save it as many times as you like
    5. When you are happy with the image then save it as a .tif first for archiving, and save your .jpg for emailing, posting etc. That way you always have your original version to change later if you wish.
    6. Bottom line, work in .tif format, then save as jpg.

    Hope this helps you keep better quality images.
    Nikon D200
    Nikon D70
    Nikkor AF-S VR 70-200 2.8
    Nikkor 50mm 1.8
    Nikkor 18-70 kit lens
    Nikon SB800 Speedlite
    and other stuff



    I view stupidity as a virtue.....well it works for me anyway!
    Australian Photography Competitions- Have you voted yet?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    21 Sep 2006
    Location
    **Suburb/Town Required**
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks mate for the very good review.

    Not being hugely fussy on prints before, I must say that even though I knew of the Jpeg "deterioration" problem, I didn't care much of it - until now. Good points were raised, tif here I come

    ("Tiff Here I Come"...sounds like an arthouse film title )
    Canon 300D, 18-55, 70-200
    Photoshop 8.0
    Human Cerebellum 1.0 (beta)

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    03 Jun 2006
    Location
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin
    Posts
    80
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    please be aware that .tiff files can be quite large, so if you're going to archive them then it may be advisable to burn to DVD while retaining your .jpeg's on your hard drive.
    Nikon D80•MB-D80•Nikkor AF-S 70-300 f/4.5-5.6 IF-ED VR•Nikkor 28-200 f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED•Nikkor 18-55 f/3.5-5.6G AF•Nikkor 55-200 f/4-5.6G AF•Nikkor 50 f1.8•Speedlite SB800
    Nikon FM-3
    Canon AV-1 | Canon Eos Elan
    Olympus C-740



  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    10 Oct 2006
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    33
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    might be time for me to set up my external hard drive

    thanks for the tip!

  5. #5
    A royal pain in the bum! arthurking83's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Jun 2006
    Location
    the worst house, in the best street
    Posts
    7,709
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    4 x 250Gig or (500Gig!!) internal drives should present any storage problems for a while!

    Now all I need is a motherboard that can accept the 4 SATA drives!
    Nikon D800E, D300, D70s
    {Nikon} -> 50/1.2 : 500/8(CPU'd) : 105/2.8VR Micro : 180/2.8ais : 105mm f/1.8ais : 24mm/2ais
    {Sigma}; ->10-20/4-5.6 : 50/1.4 : 12-24/4.5-5.6II : 150-600mm|S
    {Tamron}; -> 17-50/2.8 : 28-75/2.8 : 70-200/2.8 : 300/2.8 SP MF : 24-70/2.8VC


  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    15 Sep 2006
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    119
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sound advice thing

    Quick tip on saving jpg for web. Do a quick sharpen or unsharpened mask before you save as jpeg. Tends to soften the image when you save as jpeg.

    Sorry for a bit OT

  7. #7
    Craig Miller
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by arthurking83
    4 x 250Gig or (500Gig!!) internal drives should present any storage problems for a while!

    Now all I need is a motherboard that can accept the 4 SATA drives!
    SATA RAID Controller!

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    03 Jun 2006
    Location
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin
    Posts
    80
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    a lot of the newer MB's will do up to four SATA drives...I currently have 3 in my desktop system

  9. #9
    Member amberz's Avatar
    Join Date
    05 Jul 2006
    Location
    Berridale NSW
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    bugger

    I have been converting RAW to tif, then saving them as jpegs



    will be following your advice now TY very much
    insanely busy busily insane


  10. #10
    Account Closed
    Join Date
    23 Jul 2006
    Location
    Tuncurry, NSW
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for a very informative thread.

    Quick question: Is there a way I can save a lot of jpg's as TIF's quickly?

    ie Once I download all the jpg's from my camera, can I convert them all to TIF's in one go, or should I open each one individually and do some PP them save as TIF?

    At the moment I'm just saving them as jpg's after each edit.

  11. #11
    A royal pain in the bum! arthurking83's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Jun 2006
    Location
    the worst house, in the best street
    Posts
    7,709
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What editing programs do you have/use.

    In PS there is a Image Processor script/batch tool.

    File->Scripts->Image Processor

    Check the options in the new window carefully, and process away!

  12. #12
    Account Closed
    Join Date
    23 Jul 2006
    Location
    Tuncurry, NSW
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by arthurking83 View Post
    What editing programs do you have/use.

    In PS there is a Image Processor script/batch tool.

    File->Scripts->Image Processor

    Check the options in the new window carefully, and process away!
    I have Photoshop CS.

    Under File->Scripts there isn't an Image Processor option. The 4 options listed are Export Layers to Files, Layer Comps to Files, Layer Comps to PDF and Layer Comps to WPS

    Is the Image Processor an add-on that I need to download?

  13. #13
    A royal pain in the bum! arthurking83's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Jun 2006
    Location
    the worst house, in the best street
    Posts
    7,709
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ah! CS2 ... my apologies ...

    Maybe in the batch options?

    Or maybe try a freebie like IrfanView! It does batch conversions.
    (no need to clutter up the PC with junk, Like I do! )

    I'm sure PS has a batch process to convert to other formats.. etc.

    It's just a matter of finding where it is...

    I have to say it's taken me the best part of the morning to figure out that (in CS2) the process done using the Image Processor command!

    I looked for a long time at the batch options... and couldn;'t figure it out.... **Doh!**

    All I wanted to do was use a higher compresion setting (lower quality) on images uploaded to my webspace, as 10 megs of space just doesn't cut it!

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    16 Nov 2010
    Location
    Brisbane/Gold Coast/Logan
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanks for passing this on.

  15. #15
    Member tmd77's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Feb 2010
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    181
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    whats the benefit of working in .tif over RAW (unless you are needing to do multiple different styles of PP)?

    Trent

    Canon 60d | Canon 450d | Tamron 17-50 f2.8 | Canon EF-S 55-250 | Canon EF 50 1.8 II | Canon 430exII speedlite

  16. #16
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,137
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by tmd77 View Post
    whats the benefit of working in .tif over RAW (unless you are needing to do multiple different styles of PP)?
    You can't really ever work on a RAW file, you always work on a rendered version of the RAW data. You can only edit a RAW file in a raw converter (lightroom, Adobe Camera Raw, etc), Your software has to have RAW convertor software to allow you to display and edit a RAW file. TIF is editable like any other format (JPG, GIF, etc) in your photo editing software.
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  17. #17
    Ausphotography Regular
    Join Date
    19 Aug 2010
    Location
    Australind WA
    Posts
    684
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Very informative. Thank you.

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    18 Nov 2010
    Location
    Santiago
    Posts
    166
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I know that that happens with every format and not olny image files. Music, etc also suffer the same.

    But what happens when working in Picassa or LR, I thought these programs kept the originals and saves the "changes" you made not to the photograph but as a series of instructions and only when exporting the JPG they received the changes. When I open the files from the finder (or explorer in Win) I don´t see the changes so it supports my theory...is there something correct in what I wrote or I`m totally dreaming ?...hope someone can explain.

    regards
    From the end of the World with a Nikon D90, Nikon 16/85 3.5-5.6 and Sigma 30 1.4
    Come and visit!

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    08 Aug 2010
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    112
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Big thanks for this; I didn't even know this happened (Jpeg deterioration) Only downside is that TIFF files take up SOOOOOOO much room!!!

  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    31 Jan 2010
    Location
    North East
    Posts
    312
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Patagonia View Post
    I know that that happens with every format and not olny image files. Music, etc also suffer the same.
    Not every format - only ones that use lossy compression, like JPEG and MP3. TIFF, PSD and WAV, AIFF are examples of lossless formats.

    But what happens when working in Picassa or LR, I thought these programs kept the originals and saves the "changes" you made not to the photograph but as a series of instructions and only when exporting the JPG they received the changes. When I open the files from the finder (or explorer in Win) I don´t see the changes so it supports my theory...is there something correct in what I wrote or I`m totally dreaming ?...hope someone can explain.
    Don't know about Picasa, but Lr does as you say here - saves changes as a set of instructions, either in its database or as a "sidecar" file which is stored with the image. When you export an image, the changes are "baked in" to the exported file.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •