Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  3

Thread: Canon lens info request

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Canon lens info request

Good day,
    I have an opportunity to buy a Canon ef400 f5.6.
    It does not have image stabilising and I am a bird photographer
    Can anyone tell me if this could be a problem please? Other than that it looks like a great lens.
    Thank you,
    Dennis, (Journeyman)

Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Dennis.

The 400/5.6 is so old that it's practically a legend, but it's still in production after all these years because, aside from adding IS, there is very little anyone could do to improve it. A real classic. It is small and light, sharp as you like, and focuses quickly and accurately. Years ago it was the unquestioned king of flight shot lenses, and some people still prefer it to any other in that role.

The lack of IS is key. Some people regard that as a minor issue, the majority see it as a significant drawback. That argument has been going on for the best part of 20 years and I don't think that there will ever be a resolution to it: you simply have to try some relevant examples of IS and non-IS lenses (or IS lenses with the IS switched off) and see what your own experience is.

My own view is that yes, it is a significant issue. You can take great shots with a 400/5.6 but you are very restricted and have to work in suitable light. Rainforest, heavy shade, heavy overcasts, twilight, early morning and late afternoon - all of these are no-go zones. (Other than working with flash, that is, and a flash setup suitable for using with a 400mm lens isn't cheap.) Moderate overcasts and lighter shadows are possible but much more difficult than with an IS lens. You miss a lot of shots.

Obviously, you can ameliorate these issues by using a tripod or monopod - but what's the point of having a lovely little lightweight lens if you have to cart a clumsy great pod around to use it?