User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  3
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Windows 7 Laptop - Security

  1. #1
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    19,729
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Windows 7 Laptop - Security

    I've been asked to get an older laptop running Win 7 secure for the Internet.
    It has about-to-expire McAfee's security suite and I'm wondering if Win 7 will
    run Windows Defender. I know about MWBytes, etc, but I'm wondering if WD
    will be as effective on Win 7 as it is on Win 10.

    I've found this page from MS, updated 19 April 2019, which seems to indicate
    it would be OK, but I guess I'm looking for some real experience.

    (Yes, the person for whom... want to keep Win 7.)

    Ta.

    - - - Updated - - -

    More info: Win 7 Home Premium SP1 Build 7601.

    - - - Updated - - -

    ---And in addition to the security, it has only 2GB RAM, I found this from a specs sheet:
    Memory: 2GB DDR3 (1066MHz) expandable to 4GBRAM
    Slot allocation: One slot used, One slot free


    To upgrade to its maximum 4GB, does this mean I need to use one 4GB stick only, or can I
    have 2 x 2GB sticks?
    CC, Image editing OK.

  2. #2
    Ausphotography Regular John King's Avatar
    Join Date
    17 Jan 2016
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,028
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Am, I run both Windows Defender and Malwarebytes Premium simultaneously on Win7 Pro 64 bit PCs.

    I can understand them wanting to keep Win7 ... So do I ... .
    Regards, john

    Galleries: https://canopuscomputing.com.au/zen2/page/gallery/


    My galleries contain all sorts of stuff, not just some pretty pictures.

    ILCs: E-M1 MkII; E-M1; E-30; E-510; E-1
    Digital lenses: 14-42 EZ; 12-50 macro; f/4 12-100 Pro; 40-150R; f/4.8-6.7 75-300; f/1.8 25; f/2.8 25 pancake; f/2 50 macro; f/4 7~14; 11~22; 14~42; 14~45; 14~54 MkII; 40~150 MkI; 40~150 MkII; 50~200 MkI; EX-25; EC-14


  3. #3
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    19,729
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ta, JK. So it runs! Which do you use for a firewall?

    Also, any ideas about the RAM question?

  4. #4
    Ausphotography Regular Bensch's Avatar
    Join Date
    13 Jan 2017
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    692
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If it has two slots, you should be able to use 2 x 2GB.

    Depending on the model laptop, some of them have a small plate on the underside that you can remove to access the RAM.
    If this is so, perhaps open it up and confirm the spare slot before purchasing any additional RAM.
    -Andy
    ___________________________
    D3100/D90/D7200 | OM-D E-M1/E-M10 Mark II |

    All CC is greatly appreciated, the only way to learn is if we share our ideas. I can't be offended, so feel free to share your ideas for improvement.


  5. #5
    Ausphotography Regular John King's Avatar
    Join Date
    17 Jan 2016
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,028
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ameerat42 View Post
    Ta, JK. So it runs! Which do you use for a firewall?
    Windows Firewall. Plus the modem/router firewall. Plus MWB Premium does a pretty good imitation of acting as a firewall. Any attempt to navigate to a suspect site gets you an error message, I discovered, and MWB deletes the URL entry from the history list. Nice touch, that last bit.

    Also, any ideas about the RAM question?
    Some laptops use different chip/s for main and expanded memory slots. It can be a real PITA to get matching ones (last time I did this, it took about two hours at the computer store ... ). It may even be necessary to buy 4GB if the existing chip timing (etc) cannot be matched. Taking the laptop to the store with you is essential IMNSHO. Same goes for any other device needing fast memory chips. Took about 4-5 attempts to get 1333 MHz/DDR3 chips that worked in some older MBs I was modernising. Timing is everything.

    Recently bought 2x 8GB chips for my brother's PC to replace his original 2x 4GB chips. Wonder of wonders, both sets worked fine together (same brand - Kingston - and nominal timing, but not the same part number series. To buy identical chips, 2x 4GB DDR3, to his original ones would have cost slightly more than the two 8GB chips!), so he now has 24 GB RAM, and his RAM is (very) slightly faster, so no timing hit. Sometimes one wins ... .

  6. #6
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    19,729
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ta, Bensch. I did that first off and confirmed it has two slots. One is occupied with a 2GB stick.
    Surprisingly, this machine is fairly fast for its configuration and age.

    Ta, JK. I had some suspicions along what you said about the RAM.

    That's good about the WD firewall. In this case there is no modem-router as such but a phone hotspot
    when the person wants to use the computer (instead of phone) to go online.
    Last edited by ameerat42; 15-07-2019 at 7:07pm.

  7. #7
    Member Ross the fiddler's Avatar
    Join Date
    19 May 2010
    Location
    Blue Mountains
    Posts
    376
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Putting in this effort for Win7 seems a little futile since MS will be ending support for it in January next year, although I haven't been able to get any updates for my laptop for a while now & if I try to check for updates it just hangs, so I've given up. I'll possibly just get a PC tower (with Win10) for home as I rarely take my laptop anywhere anyhow.
    Ross
    I fiddle with violins (when I'm not fiddling with a camera).
    Cameras: OM-D E-M1 & Mk II, Olympus Stylus 1, OM-D E-M5.
    Lenses: M.ZD12-40mm f2.8 PRO Lens, M.ZD40-150mm f2.8 PRO Lens with MC-14, M.ZD12-50, M.ZD60 Macro, M.ZD75-300 Mk II, MMF-3, ZD14-54 II, Sigma 150mm F2.8 APO Macro DG HSM.
    Flashes: FL36R X2, FL50R, FL50.
    Software: Capture One Pro 10 (& Olympus Viewer 3).

  8. #8
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    19,729
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ta, and that info is partly what I was looking for. I will look it up and check its implications for security.
    Trubble is, it's not mine to do that with just outright.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •