User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: File Problem

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    06 May 2009
    Location
    Sale, Victoria, Aust
    Posts
    183
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    File Problem

    Have just tried to Export some bird files using Light Room, which I have been doing for the last 5 years or more. When the name of the file to be exported to is selected a warning comes up ( The Specific Folder is Not Writable).
    Nothing has been changed on the computer except yesterday I did the latest Lightroom update.

    Has anyone any ideas, Thanks Ross.
    Ross. Nikon D810, Nikon D300s, Nikkor 18-200, , Nikon 105mm Micro lens. Nikon 200-500mm lens

  2. #2
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    19,896
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Check the properties on that folder (assuming Win OS) - or even if it exists.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Search on "Lightroom The Specified Folder is Not Writable". There are a few refs.

    One of 'em: https://forums.adobe.com/thread/1826369

    I've gotta go out for a bit.
    CC, Image editing OK.

  3. #3
    Ausphotography Veteran
    Join Date
    01 Dec 2011
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    3,047
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Ross

    I went through the Adobe CC LR and CR update and found that LR would not send files to PS for opening as previous.

    I right clicked the LR Desktop Icon and in the Properties dialogue, changed to Open as Administrator and then it worked.

    You have to make sure this change "sticks" as in my 1st attempt it only seemed to do it once and then after I closed LR and PS, the problem happened again until I made the change permanent.

    Cheers

    Dennis
    Dennis

  4. #4
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    06 May 2009
    Location
    Sale, Victoria, Aust
    Posts
    183
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Dennis,
    I have looked and under Group or User, System names is in blue and has all permissions ( I guess I am in the right area)
    Ross.
    Still does not work.

  5. #5
    Ausphotography Regular gcflora's Avatar
    Join Date
    03 Dec 2009
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    1,896
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    How long is the file path (directory/folder name) + filename? On Windows Server at work we had some stupidly long directory names by accident and this was the warning reported by some software rather than the more obvious "make your path + filename shorter!!!".
    Craig

  6. #6
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    06 May 2009
    Location
    Sale, Victoria, Aust
    Posts
    183
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanks for all the info, still acting the same, except Photoshop writes to the files ok,
    looks like it may be a bug in the last update, will just have to wait for a fix.
    Ross.

  7. #7
    Former User Name : Alisha Poor Alisha Rawling's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Apr 2016
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,361
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok this sounds very much like the actual folder issue like others, right click and properties of folder then permissions 755 or something like that, Administrator and ALL users. just in case your are logged in as something other than Administrator, highly unlikely. Second to that find the users properties in control panel permissions etc, make sure all are assigned as they should be, All read/write. I havn't been on a PC for awhile 7 months but it is in those settings. Failure with that, and i doubt, there maybe a preference in export in Lightroom to make it's paths-files read-only and not writable. will only take you a sec to go through all this, and it will be there. Alisha.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Also restart the computer after update and or delete the folder create a new one. I have lightroom on my Mac and I actaully got an error similar the other day, I just restarted the comouter, fixed it right up. haha, hope this helps.
    D3100,"Photography is medicine for my heart, it helps me work" - Alisha Rawling.
    My home on the net - http://www.thatalisha.com/
    https://www.flickr.com/photos/182148897@N07/

  8. #8
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    06 May 2009
    Location
    Sale, Victoria, Aust
    Posts
    183
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just uploaded the latest update to Lightroom, problem solved.
    Ross.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •