User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  3
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Dead Sensor? Canon 7D mk 1

  1. #1
    Member markbufi's Avatar
    Join Date
    21 May 2008
    Location
    Cairns, North Queensland.
    Posts
    66
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Dead Sensor? Canon 7D mk 1

    Hi all,

    Wondering if anyone has seen this before? My Canon 7D (mk1) is taking images like this. Hasn't been dropped or water, etc. Not all photos are this bad, some almost turn out but are littered with coloured pixels. My guess is its the sensor has died, but I'm sure some of you have seen this before. It's out of warranty, about 5 years old.



    Any suggestions or recommendations would be appreciated!

    Thanks in advance.
    Mark Bufi.

  2. #2
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    20,609
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I haven't seen this sort of thing from a digital camera before. Tried searching for like
    images but could find none.

    It looks as if the image is not being written properly to the file. -- NOT that it is any
    better than having a crook sensor. With that camera, can you see an image on the
    screen using Live View? If yes always, then I'd say it's not the sensor.
    CC, Image editing OK.

  3. #3
    Still in the Circle of Confusion Cage's Avatar
    Join Date
    25 May 2010
    Location
    Hunter Valley
    Posts
    5,513
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Have you tried a different memory card?
    Cheers
    Kev

    Nikon D810: D600 (Astro Modded): D7200 and 'stuff', lots of 'stuff'

  4. #4
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    20,609
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Good point, Kev

  5. #5
    Member
    Threadstarter
    markbufi's Avatar
    Join Date
    21 May 2008
    Location
    Cairns, North Queensland.
    Posts
    66
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ameerat42 View Post
    I haven't seen this sort of thing from a digital camera before. Tried searching for like
    images but could find none.

    It looks as if the image is not being written properly to the file. -- NOT that it is any
    better than having a crook sensor. With that camera, can you see an image on the
    screen using Live View? If yes always, then I'd say it's not the sensor.
    Thanks for the response guys. I have tried two different cards (both high spec, fast cards) but will try another couple tonight and will play around with live-view. Will keep you posted!
    Mark Bufi

  6. #6
    Loves The Wildlife. Mary Anne's Avatar
    Join Date
    19 Dec 2009
    Location
    Brisbane Southside.
    Posts
    41,178
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Do you format your memory card in the camera. Is your firmware up to date, as sometimes that can cause problems if not updated.

    I shoot with Canon and Olympus Cameras.. And My iPhone SE
    And sometimes a Little Old Panasonic DMC-TZ7



  7. #7
    I like my computer more than my camera farmmax's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Mar 2010
    Location
    Central West
    Posts
    2,573
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I had a scanner produce images like this. Played around with it to see if I could do any thing, but no luck. Scanners are cheap so I simply bought a new one

  8. #8
    Ausphotography Veteran Boo53's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Mar 2010
    Location
    Seymour
    Posts
    2,106
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I had one that did something like that. I'd been in Central Aus for a while and suspected dust in the card slot. Running a card in and out didn't do much but in desperation I dipped and old, and expendable, card in method and ran it in and out a few times and it came good.

    BUT, I was desperate, if I was near a camera service place I'd go there first

  9. #9
    Member
    Threadstarter
    markbufi's Avatar
    Join Date
    21 May 2008
    Location
    Cairns, North Queensland.
    Posts
    66
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Mary Anne View Post
    Do you format your memory card in the camera. Is your firmware up to date, as sometimes that can cause problems if not updated.
    Hi Mary Anne, I have tried several cards, formatting in camera and on PC, updating all camera software and updating firm ware.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Boo53 View Post
    I had one that did something like that. I'd been in Central Aus for a while and suspected dust in the card slot. Running a card in and out didn't do much but in desperation I dipped and old, and expendable, card in method and ran it in and out a few times and it came good.

    BUT, I was desperate, if I was near a camera service place I'd go there first
    Haha, yeah - not that game! Thanks for the reply!

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Cage View Post
    Have you tried a different memory card?
    Hi Kev, several. All high spec fast cards. Formatting, reset settings in camera... firmware is up to date.

  10. #10
    Ausphotography Regular K10D's Avatar
    Join Date
    06 Sep 2010
    Location
    Baldivis, 6171
    Posts
    669
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes, had this way back on a Minolta 7Hi, it was sensor failure.

    Best regards

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •