Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Printing photos

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Printing photos

Hi

I would love some help if I could. I have an image ~1400x1000 pixels that I need to print out 20x25cm in size but at that size I do not have enough resolution I think?

Can anyone help me with how I can best print my picture at that size retaining a quality image? how to increase the number of pixels?

Your help is much appreciated, I am new to printing enlarged photos and all the dpi info has been a lot to understand...

Wanderer

Way Down Yonder in the Paw Paw Patch jim's Avatar
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Assume you're printing it yourself on your own printer? Mare's nest, I'm out.

Sorry.

Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Mentioned
    24 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Wanderer.

I shifted your thread to the "General Help" forum. And I think you're well past "New to Photography".

A couple of Qs...
    So, what image software do you use?
    Are you printing this yourself at home?

And a bit of a general reply pending more info...
    I do not think that 1400 x 1000 pixels is too low in resolution to print at 25x20cm. It depends on how
    good the image is. But first, do you mean to print it on 25 x 20 cm paper and trim off the excess?
    (The 1400 x 1000 pixels would yield an image approx 25 x 17.8 cm.)

Will you be setting the format of the print yourself, or will it be done by someone at a printer's?
    They might enlarge it more so that it fills the whole of a 25 x 20 paper, and then you'd lose some
    image from the sides.

If you have image processing software (Photoshop, Lightroom, etc) you can set the print size to
    25 x 17.8 WITHOUT re-scaling the image (increasing the number of pixels). You can then use your
    monitor screen and set the display to show "Print Size". That will give you an idea of how it will