User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  8
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 25

Thread: Computer Upgrade Help!!

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    09 Sep 2011
    Location
    Greater Adelaide
    Posts
    179
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Computer Upgrade Help!!

    I'm looking to upgrade my computer in the next 6 months and I need advice.. I'm not a very tech savvy type of person and when it comes to computers I've really got no idea... I need a computer/Laptop that I can use to edit photos. Also looking to upgrade my photoshop (currently have Elements 10 and find it very basic). I want to start to try and photograph in RAW.
    Can anyone recommend a Laptop/Computer (I don't have a million dollars to spend) and a good photoshop that I can research a bit more about please.

    TIA
    Weekend Roaming ~ Exploring one weekend at a time!
    Not your typical FIFO mum - Camping~Fishing~Touring~4x4~Photography




  2. #2
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    21,315
    Mentioned
    24 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Tia. What have you got at present? If you don't know, here's how you can find out for a Windows based machine.
    Right-click on My Computer and select Properties. It will list your Processor, RAM, etc.
    Last edited by ameerat42; 16-05-2017 at 10:16am. Reason: Wondering why it underlined "Wimdows"?
    CC, Image editing OK.

  3. #3
    Ausphotography Addict Gazza's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Mar 2013
    Location
    無聊的 Birdwoodton
    Posts
    9,510
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Victorysiren View Post
    I want to start to try and photograph in RAW.
    That's always going to be a good idea -




    Quote Originally Posted by Victorysiren View Post
    Also looking to upgrade my photoshop (currently have Elements 10 and find it very basic).
    PS is now subscription, unless you can get hold of an old copy of CS6.
    Adobe Photoshop 2017, which comes with lightroom and is always being improved and updated...free trial here




    No help with the Comp upgrade, sorry
    If you replace the 'W' with 'T' in When, Where and What, you get the answer for each question.
    CC more than welcome. Remember, I can't be offended so go for it. Feel free to post your ideas with an edit if you have time. Thanks in advance.



  4. #4
    Still in the Circle of Confusion Cage's Avatar
    Join Date
    25 May 2010
    Location
    Hunter Valley
    Posts
    5,530
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What Am said plus I use this handy little tool to get a bit more info on your current computer specs.

    http://www.cpuid.com/downloads/cpu-z/cpu-z_1.79-en.exe

    Oh and your available $$$'s helps with recommendations.

    And a big part of an upgrade includes an IPS monitor.
    Cheers
    Kev

    Nikon D810: D600 (Astro Modded): D7200 and 'stuff', lots of 'stuff'

  5. #5
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    09 Sep 2011
    Location
    Greater Adelaide
    Posts
    179
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi name Jess (TIA - Thanks In Advance)
    I currently have had my laptop for 8 years it's a Compaq Prcesario CQ61 Notebook, Window 7, AMD Athlon(tm) II Dual-Core M320 2.10GHz, 4.00GB RAM, 32 bit Operating system ...

    I think it's pretty out dated and runs really slowly (probably needs a good clean and viruses removed)

  6. #6
    Site Rules Breach - Permanent Ban
    Join Date
    17 Jan 2016
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,015
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Basics:

    SSD as boot/programs drive - Kingston HyperX Fury 240 GB (not the slightly cheaper version).

    Enterprise standard HDD as backup to SSD and as data drive - 4TB.

    High quality motherboard ($200, not $70-100 class)

    Intel i5 top of range rather than bottom range i7 ...

    Graphics with 2GB RAM on it.

    8-16GB good quality RAM.

    ASUS aRGB IPS monitor.

  7. #7
    Still in the Circle of Confusion Cage's Avatar
    Join Date
    25 May 2010
    Location
    Hunter Valley
    Posts
    5,530
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Jess,

    Mark L recently went through a similar exercise to upgrade his laptop and I recommended this unit.... https://www.mwave.com.au/product/gig...Specifications

    Have a look at this link for some thoughts on what Photoshop requires. https://www.pugetsystems.com/recomme...op-139/Buy_150

    PS: I concur with John's thoughts above although I'd go for 16GB of RAM as a minimum.
    Last edited by Cage; 16-05-2017 at 1:27pm.

  8. #8
    Site Rules Breach - Permanent Ban
    Join Date
    17 Jan 2016
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,015
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Cage View Post

    PS: I concur with John's thoughts above although I'd go for 16GB of RAM as a minimum.
    So would I, Kev.

    Forgot to mention O/S: Win7 Pro, 64 bit (of course).

  9. #9
    Still in the Circle of Confusion Cage's Avatar
    Join Date
    25 May 2010
    Location
    Hunter Valley
    Posts
    5,530
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Def 64 bit, but I'm quite satisfied with W10 once I got used to the changes.

  10. #10
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    21,315
    Mentioned
    24 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Disagree with Win 7, and agree with Win 10. Anyway, you wouldn't get < Win 10
    on a new computer.

  11. #11
    Site Rules Breach - Permanent Ban
    Join Date
    17 Jan 2016
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,015
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ameerat42 View Post
    Disagree with Win 7, and agree with Win 10. Anyway, you wouldn't get < Win 10
    on a new computer.
    Last time I checked a few weeks ago, W7 Pro 64 was still available.

    Personally, I think MS s/w is progressively going backwards ...

  12. #12
    D750 Shines
    Join Date
    10 Oct 2009
    Location
    Wollongong
    Posts
    801
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Perhaps after reading this link the choice is easier
    https://fstoppers.com/originals/ulti...omputer-175962




    Nikon D750,D500,Z6,Coolpix P7700
    Nikkor 300mm f/4E PF ED VR, Nikkor 16-35mm f/4 VR, Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8, Tokina 100mm f/2.8, Tamron 60mm f/2 , Tamron SP 24-70mm f2.8 VC Di, Nikon Z 24-70mm f/4
    FTZ adapator
    Sigma 50mm f/1.4 Art

  13. #13
    Site Rules Breach - Permanent Ban
    Join Date
    17 Jan 2016
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,015
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by cupic View Post
    Perhaps after reading this link the choice is easier
    https://fstoppers.com/originals/ulti...omputer-175962
    It seems your link is invalid, Cupid .

    Maybe here: Ultimate computer
    Last edited by John King; 16-05-2017 at 5:31pm. Reason: Added correct url

  14. #14
    Ausphotography Regular Hawthy's Avatar
    Join Date
    16 Mar 2010
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    1,661
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by John King View Post
    Basics:

    SSD as boot/programs drive - Kingston HyperX Fury 240 GB (not the slightly cheaper version).

    Enterprise standard HDD as backup to SSD and as data drive - 4TB.

    High quality motherboard ($200, not $70-100 class)

    Intel i5 top of range rather than bottom range i7 ...

    Graphics with 2GB RAM on it.

    8-16GB good quality RAM.

    ASUS aRGB IPS monitor.
    That would certainly cover your Photoshop needs. Photoshop does not require a massively fast computer. Here are the minimum requirements as specified by Adobe https://helpx.adobe.com/ee/photoshop...uirements.html

    I have a very basic setup - Intel Core i3-550, 4GB RAM, and an ATI Radeon HD 5450 graphics card. It does the job but can get a bit slow when stitching panos, etc. I shoot only raw and provided that I am not opening multiple raw images it is fine. Dedicating a USB Stick or an SD Card for ReadyBoost also helps.
    Last edited by Hawthy; 16-05-2017 at 6:55pm.
    Andrew




  15. #15
    Site Rules Breach - Permanent Ban
    Join Date
    17 Jan 2016
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,015
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Hawthy View Post
    That would certainly cover your Photoshop needs. Photoshop does not require a massively fast computer. Here are the minimum requirements as specified by Adobe https://helpx.adobe.com/ee/photoshop...uirements.html

    I have a very basic setup - Intel Core i3-550, 4GB RAM, and an ATI Radeon HD 5450 graphics card. It does the job but can get a bit slow when stitching panos, etc. I shoot only raw and provided that I am not opening multiple raw images it is fine.
    Adobe are more than a little optimistic, Andrew. .

    IME, Photoshop (+ Bridge ... ) just adores butchering the available RAM! They are both memory hogs. With MS taking the same approach, 4GB for each of them is the bare minimum IME.
    Last edited by John King; 16-05-2017 at 6:46pm.

  16. #16
    Ausphotography Regular Hawthy's Avatar
    Join Date
    16 Mar 2010
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    1,661
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I agree. Running Bridge and Photoshop at the same time stretches my humble system. It is doable but not necessarily pleasant. Normally, I use Bridge to download photos from my camera and then save the keepers to a file. I then open the files from photoshop.

    I suppose the point that I was trying to make was that you can make do with a lower specified system if you are on a tight budget, or even just if you are a tight-arse - like me. Cheers.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

  17. #17
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    09 Sep 2011
    Location
    Greater Adelaide
    Posts
    179
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks guys... Still feel like it's all over my head will do some research... In terms of an Apple computer if I went that way how do they compare to a Windows processor?

  18. #18
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    21,315
    Mentioned
    24 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This should answer that question:
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_o...ed_by_CPU_type


    - - - Updated - - -

    There is no "Windows" processor.

  19. #19
    A royal pain in the bum! arthurking83's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Jun 2006
    Location
    the worst house, in the best street
    Posts
    8,692
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Victorysiren View Post
    .....
    Can anyone recommend a Laptop/Computer (I don't have a million dollars to spend) and a good photoshop that I can research a bit more about please.

    TIA
    Without a set budget limit, it's hard to say what would be the best value for money.

    Over the years, I've found that spending more on motherboard and hard drive(s) gives you better bang for your dollar than spending on CPU.(unless you do a lot of video editing, and/or massive gigapixel panorama stitching processes.

    A desktop is always going to be cheaper than a laptop for a given performance level.

    as a rule, I tend to limit my own PC case upgrade to $1K or less, but that's always independent of a PC screen.
    I've found that PC screens are like camera lenses, they tend to last you longer than the PC box, in terms of currency and ability.

    For a Laptop type computer, I'd recommend an ASUS. Best value for money I've found so far.
    I'd say budget for about $1500(tops) for a very decent lappie with a 15" screen.

    You can get a very good PC + 24-27" screen for roughly the same kind'a $s too.
    Nikon D800E, D300, D70s
    {Nikon} -> 50/1.2 : 500/8(CPU'd) : 105/2.8VR Micro : 180/2.8ais : 105mm f/1.8ais : 24mm/2ais
    {Sigma}; ->10-20/4-5.6 : 50/1.4 : 12-24/4.5-5.6II : 150-600mm|S
    {Tamron}; -> 17-50/2.8 : 28-75/2.8 : 70-200/2.8 : 300/2.8 SP MF : 24-70/2.8VC

    {Yongnuo}; -> YN35/2N : YN50/1.8N


  20. #20
    can't remember Tannin's Avatar
    Join Date
    16 Apr 2007
    Location
    Huon Valley
    Posts
    3,732
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Good advice from Arthur. If you are going to get a laptop, then you want an external screen (and a good one - it's your most important photographic equipment after your lens and before your camera). That in turn means that you can not worry too much about the size and quality of your laptop screen - though it's still good to have a nice one if you have the money to spare, of course.
    Tony

    It's a poor sort of memory that only works backwards.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •