User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  3
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Canon 7D mark ii

  1. #1
    Member canonuser's Avatar
    Join Date
    20 May 2016
    Location
    Kambalda
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Canon 7D mark ii

    I am thinking to upgrade from 7D to 7D mark ii, but would like to know if 7D mk ii can auto focus on f8.
    Can any one help me

    Regards

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Jul 2012
    Location
    Rockyview
    Posts
    2,087
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Only with the centre point, apparently.

    http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/canon-eos-7d-mark-ii/6

    I haven't tried it as I don't have a lens slow enough even with a TC attached.

  3. #3
    Member
    Threadstarter
    canonuser's Avatar
    Join Date
    20 May 2016
    Location
    Kambalda
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for that Wabler

  4. #4
    Ausphotography irregular Mark L's Avatar
    Join Date
    21 Nov 2010
    Location
    magical Mudgee
    Posts
    18,817
    Mentioned
    26 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by canonuser View Post
    I am thinking to upgrade from 7D to 7D mark ii, but would like to know if 7D mk ii can auto focus on f8.
    Did it work with the 7D? Why wouldn’t it work with mark ii?
    Not sure I understand Warblers post?
    Surely AF works across a range of apertures?
    Last edited by Mark L; 22-05-2016 at 12:18am. Reason: fix quote

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Jul 2012
    Location
    Rockyview
    Posts
    2,087
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    To put it simply, auto focus works on the widest aperture of your lens. To acquire focus, the camera opens the lens' aperture to its widest. The aperture then closes down to your selected aperture value when you depress the shutter. If your lens has a widest aperture of f8, then all except the centre AF point on the Mk II are unable to get enough light to accurately AF. This is why you have a button on your camera that allows you to preview in the viewfinder what your selected aperture choice will give you. It will usually be darker than you're seeing through the viewfinder without the button depressed. It's called a "Depth of Field" preview button. No doubt the technical explanation will touch on the fact that you're looking through the lens when using your viewfinder, and it would be very dark indeed at apertures used by landscape photographers. So we're talking about maximum aperture values only. Sure we can stop down an f1.2 lens to f16 and still autofocus, but it is because the AF will use the f1.2 value to attain focus and the stop down to f16 when we actually take the photo.

    http://photo.stackexchange.com/questions/5069/what-is-the-depth-of-field-preview-button-on-my-dslr-supposed-to-show-me




    - - - Updated - - -

    Here's a little more explanation. Wrong brand, but still relevant.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k2G9...VAV1DkzDXlxIgp
    Last edited by Warbler; 22-05-2016 at 1:39am.

  6. #6
    Member
    Threadstarter
    canonuser's Avatar
    Join Date
    20 May 2016
    Location
    Kambalda
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am using 7d mki with canon 800mm f5.6 L USM lens, but can not use auto focus if I put a 1.4 extender on. I have to switch over from auto to manual to focus on the subject. I know that 5D mkiii and the 1Dx can auto focus at f8

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Jul 2012
    Location
    Rockyview
    Posts
    2,087
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Have you tried the centre AF point? Does it not work with just that point?

  8. #8
    Member
    Threadstarter
    canonuser's Avatar
    Join Date
    20 May 2016
    Location
    Kambalda
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Centre AF point does not work for my setup, on the 7D mki

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Jul 2012
    Location
    Rockyview
    Posts
    2,087
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You might need to give Canon a call. I'm sure they'll be happy to speak to a customer who owns a piece of glass like that. It's not as if you're a tyre-kicker. I didn't find anything in my manual about it. I suppose I could put both a 2x and a 1.4x TC on a lens and try it, but I don't know that that would be a useful test.

    *****edit****

    Never mind, I see you're talking about your 7D, not a 7D Mk II.
    Last edited by Warbler; 22-05-2016 at 12:49pm.

  10. #10
    Member
    Threadstarter
    canonuser's Avatar
    Join Date
    20 May 2016
    Location
    Kambalda
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for the advice. But i was wondering if the new 7D mkii can auto focus with the lens and teleconvertor

  11. #11
    Member Morgo's Avatar
    Join Date
    03 Apr 2013
    Location
    Newcastle
    Posts
    225
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    7D MK II can AF at F8

    I use my 7DII with a 100-400 II and 1.4TC III as a light weight option. Works quite well too.

    I've tried my 600 f4 with a 2x TC as well and it also works fine though much slower to AF.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •