User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  18
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 28

Thread: Photoshop creating flat images?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    29 Jan 2016
    Location
    Kempsey
    Posts
    371
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Photoshop creating flat images?

    Hey everyone,
    I am back with another question. Sorry I haven't been active on here much, I am struggling a bit with some health problems at the moment.

    Anyway in my spare time I have been trying to learn a bit about Photoshop. I have been trying to learn the art of blending. I have been impressed with the results so far vs HDR. My problem seems to be though that I get the photo looking good in PS, but when I save it the photo kind of goes flat and dull. If I then import the Jpeg into Lightroom and export with no adjustments it will look good (how it did before saving from PS).
    Is this a problem with PS or Faststone Image Viewer?

    Also just another quick question while I'm here. Is there a way to move photos back to Lightroom from Photoshop? Like you can move photos from Lightroom to Photoshop?

    Thanks for any replies. Much appreciated.
    Nikon D7200 -- Nikon 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G VR II -- Nikon 55-300mm F4.5-5.6G
    (Kit Lenses)

  2. #2
    Member Cricket's Avatar
    Join Date
    02 Oct 2015
    Location
    SW of Brisbane
    Posts
    1,127
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    R1Joel, the easiest way I find is to go from Lightroom (right click mouse button) and edit in PS then just save in PS as a tiff file and this should take it back to Lightroom as a tiff file. Then for printing save the Lightroom file as a Jpeg. I find there is no loss of quality this way. Anyway this is how I do but the experts may have different ideas

  3. #3
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,787
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'd like to see what you mean, Joel. Do a nice pic in Photoshop and post it.

    As for "moving" pics between programs, they don't actually move. I know
    Pshop can open an image in any folder. Perhaps LR needs to log them in
    some sort of Library or Catalog. LR experts can explain.
    CC, Image editing OK.

  4. #4
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,641
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    If it happens when you save the file. Then something in the save process is the cause. Can you tell us step-by-step, your process to save the image in photoshop?

    Ie. Click on menu, File, File save as/save for web. And what is in each box of settings for the screens that appear. Cause one of those settings is bound to be the cause.
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  5. #5
    can't remember Tannin's Avatar
    Join Date
    16 Apr 2007
    Location
    Ballarat
    Posts
    2,894
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Set the correct colour space.

    Photoslug defaults to the outdated Adobe RBG colour space. Everything else on the the planet uses SRGB. (Except certain specialised image-specific applications. These are more powerful and flexible but usually way too complex and cumbersome for normal use outside the graphics industry.)

    To set the colour space, you'd just go edit->preferences wouldn't you? Nope! You have to do it in Camera Raw. No-one knows why. Look down at the bottom centre of the Camera Raw screen to change it (16-bit SRGB is a good choice).

    From memory, you have to go somewhere else on the sidebar to tell Photoslug to remember the change for the next time you use it. Doubtless some kind m,member will remind us. Or just Google for something like "set Photoshop to SRGB".
    Tony

    People say nothing is impossible, but I do nothing every day.

  6. #6
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,787
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Tannin View Post
    Set the correct colour space.

    Photoslug defaults to the outdated Adobe RBG colour space. Everything else on the the planet uses SRGB. (Except certain specialised image-specific applications. These are more powerful and flexible but usually way too complex and cumbersome for normal use outside the graphics industry.)

    To set the colour space, you'd just go edit->preferences wouldn't you? Nope! You have to do it in Camera Raw. No-one knows why. Look down at the bottom centre of the Camera Raw screen to change it (16-bit SRGB is a good choice).

    From memory, you have to go somewhere else on the sidebar to tell Photoslug to remember the change for the next time you use it. Doubtless some kind m,member will remind us. Or just Google for something like "set Photoshop to SRGB".
    [/RANT]

    (What makes me think Tannin does not use Photoshop in favour of some image specific)

    Now, Joel, as you were previously exhorted, post up an image or two so that we can start to determine just what the situation might be.
    It may be a simple setting of color space, which one of us implicitly deficient Pshoppers might be able to help you with, otherwise your post
    is just stuck in the Land of Lament.
    Am(the same as before).

  7. #7
    can't remember Tannin's Avatar
    Join Date
    16 Apr 2007
    Location
    Ballarat
    Posts
    2,894
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Photoshop is like chemotherapy. It's expensive, everybody hates it, you have to wait ages for it, and it makes you feel terrible, but there are usually no practical alternatives.

    Sadly, Am, I do use Photoshop.

    PS: bet you $10 Joel's problem is what I said it was.
    Last edited by Tannin; 27-03-2016 at 4:41pm.

  8. #8
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,787
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It may well be. From memory, Joel is quite new to Pshop, and - if right on memory - he uses the free CS2 version.

  9. #9
    As Keen As Mustard NikonNellie's Avatar
    Join Date
    01 Jan 2009
    Location
    North West, Sydney
    Posts
    4,610
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think you probably have your the colour profile on your camera set to Adobe RGB. After you finish processing in PS, before you save the file, you need to first change the colour profile to sRGB as Tannin mentioned.

    Go to the "Edit" menu -> Convert to Profile -> choose sRGB IE61966-2.1 -> OK button.
    CAMERA: Nikon D800, Nikon D7000
    LENSES: AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8, Tamron SP AF 90mm F/2.8 Macro, Sigma 10 - 20mm F/4 - 5.6, Sigma 150 - 500mm F/5 - 6.3 APO DG OS, Nikkor 18 - 200mm F/3.5 - 5.6 VRII,
    Sigma 70 - 200mm f/2.8 APO EX DG OS, Tamron SP 24 - 70mm f/2.8 Di VC USD, Sigma 85mm F/1.4 EX DG, Nikkor AF-S 16-35mm F/4 ED VR, Nikkor AF-S 200-500 f/5..6E ED VR
    MY WEBSITES: www.nawimages.com, http://nelliewajzerphotography.smugmug.com/, http://NellieWajzerPhotography.blogspot.com



  10. #10
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,787
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ...NN, and I think re-start Pshop?

  11. #11
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    29 Jan 2016
    Location
    Kempsey
    Posts
    371
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi everyone, sorry for the slow reply. Strange thing is, I took two screenshots of an image I had for an example, one appeared 'flat' to me and the other I imported and exported from LR which looked fine to me. I then uploaded both the images to Photobucket and now they appear both to look fine. Maybe it was in my head?
    Still I will check over the colour profiles next time and see if it happens again.

    Thanks for the replies everyone.

  12. #12
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,641
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    are you using a calibrated monitor?

  13. #13
    A royal pain in the bum! arthurking83's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Jun 2006
    Location
    the worst house, in the best street
    Posts
    8,185
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I reckon Tannin is on the right track .. probably.

    If PS is set to save the file to aRGB and when it saves the file it then strips all the exif data, including that note that the file is in aRGB, then some viewing programs will open the image in sRGB(this is how the world is set to operate.
    The important part of the equation in this situation is that PS is removing the exif data .. not the colourspace itself!

    FSViewer is colourspace aware so should view the file as it's intended.

    In Lr tho, it's probably seeing some obscure catalog/hidden adobe specific info that tells it to open in aRGB .. so Lr can view the file correctly.
    It's just that other programs may not see the hidden info.
    Nikon D800E, D300, D70s
    {Nikon} -> 50/1.2 : 500/8(CPU'd) : 105/2.8VR Micro : 180/2.8ais : 105mm f/1.8ais : 24mm/2ais
    {Sigma}; ->10-20/4-5.6 : 50/1.4 : 12-24/4.5-5.6II : 150-600mm|S
    {Tamron}; -> 17-50/2.8 : 28-75/2.8 : 70-200/2.8 : 300/2.8 SP MF : 24-70/2.8VC


  14. #14
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    29 Jan 2016
    Location
    Kempsey
    Posts
    371
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sorry for another slow reply. I'm not using a calibrated monitor.
    Today I done another blend. Saved it as sRGB JPEG and it appeared flat again. Uploaded to Flickr and it was fine. So I went back to the file and instead of opening it in FSviewer (which shows it flat) I opened it in the standard Windows 10 photo viewer. It appeared fine again. So it must be something to do with FSviewer not recognising it or something? Not a big problem though.

  15. #15
    Ausphotography Regular John King's Avatar
    Join Date
    17 Jan 2016
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    694
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    sRGB is a truly warped, horrible colour space.

    Yes, the web runs on it.

    However it is both defective and deficient. Defective because of its tiny size (small colour gamut) and the colour axes are not symmetrical, and deficient because the green axis is shorter than the red axis, which is shorter than the blue axis.

    aRGB has a reasonably large gamut and the colour axes are equal.

    I always use a 16 bit ProPhotoRGB colour space for all editing and printing. I only ever save to 8 bit, sRGB JPEGs for the web and similar non-critical uses.
    Regards, john

    Galleries: http://canopuscomputing.com.au/gallery2/v/main-page/


    My galleries contain all sorts of stuff, not just some pretty pictures.

    ILCs: E-M1 MkII; E-M1; E-30; E-510; E-1
    Digital lenses: 14-42 EZ; 12-50 macro; f/4 12-100 Pro; 40-150R; f/2.8 25 pancake; f/2 50 macro; f/4 7~14; 11~22; 14~42; 14~45; 14~54 MkII; 40~150 MkI; 40~150 MkII; 50~200 MkI; EX-25; EC-14


  16. #16
    Ausphotography irregular Mark L's Avatar
    Join Date
    21 Nov 2010
    Location
    magical Mudgee
    Posts
    18,810
    Mentioned
    26 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by John King View Post

    I always use a 16 bit ProPhotoRGB colour space for all editing and printing.
    Good, can Joel access that with what he's using?

    Quote Originally Posted by R1Joel View Post
    Today I done another blend. Saved it as sRGB JPEG and it appeared flat again.
    What colour space did you work on it with before saving?

  17. #17
    A royal pain in the bum! arthurking83's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Jun 2006
    Location
    the worst house, in the best street
    Posts
    8,185
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Mark L View Post
    .....


    What colour space did you work on it with before saving?
    Shouldn't really matter.
    While working in one colourspace and then saving to another, if the conversion is done properly to almost all users, it won't make much viewing difference.
    The issue could be in the process used to do the conversion ... was it a conversion or was it an assign to process.
    They are different things.

    I have to disagree violently with John's above statement about the horror of sRGB.
    it has been used successfully for many a year without people being harmed in any way .. I've even used it for large(30") high quality prints(by mistake mind you!) .. but my preference is to give the printer aRGB files!
    To my eyes tho, the difference is really not something that I can see at all.
    And if you do see a difference, then it's only because you have pushed the processing too far from what sRGB can display.

    So that's really about the only other way I can suggest the OP to look at the issue he's having.

    and FWIW, I use FSViewer all the time myself too, and in conjunction with Nikon's software, and I've used in concurrently with Lr as well.
    While there's always been a difference in the way FSViewer renders a raw file compared to how Lr does, it's been true fro both sRGB and aRGB.
    And I've noticed very slight differences in the way they respectively display jpg and tiff files .. but you kind'a had to look hard to see that.

    Again to the OP. Can you see what colourspace the final image is set too. This info is in the exif data.

  18. #18
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,641
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by John King View Post

    I always use a 16 bit ProPhotoRGB colour space for all editing and printing. I only ever save to 8 bit, sRGB JPEGs for the web and similar non-critical uses.
    Which interestingly brings in other issues, in that there are not many monitors that can display 100% of AdobeRGB and none that can display 100% of ProPhotoRGB (yet). And printing brings in its own issues again with printers not being able to render the full colourspaces.

    So, can I ask why you are using a colourspace that you cannot accurately render, on screen or in print, at this point in tech development?

    I agree that sRGB is deficient, but as most monitors and printers are limited to sRGB, then really we are seeing zero benefit in using anything else with a wider gamut, if we cannot see that extra gamut anyway.

  19. #19
    A royal pain in the bum! arthurking83's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Jun 2006
    Location
    the worst house, in the best street
    Posts
    8,185
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Also, using ProPhoto colourspace (almost certainly) won't help the OP in addressing the issue of why FSViewer is rendering the images flat!

  20. #20
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    29 Jan 2016
    Location
    Kempsey
    Posts
    371
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Strange, I checked the EXIF of the flat images and the colour space is set as YCbCR. If I import into Lightroom and export again it shows RGB. Thinking I have done something wrong I did a test blend again. In Image and then mode it's set to 'RGB Colour 16 bit':


    When I Save as 'Pro Photo RGB' is the only option available to me.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •