User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  6
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: No Auto Focus

  1. #1
    Ausphotography Regular
    Join Date
    29 Jul 2015
    Location
    Greensborough
    Posts
    1,656
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    No Auto Focus

    I took my camera ( Nikon D3100 ) out this morning. But it did not focus on the object. Discovered both 55mm and 200mm had the same problem. I can hear the motors, but no movement in the lens. Manual focus OK. Tried all different settings, with the same result. Is there something I have missed?. Have I accidentally changed a setting somewhere?. Is this a known problem?. etc. etc. IS IT BROKE. ???????
    I have been taking photos for 50 years. I am now trying to get into Photography


  2. #2
    Moderately Underexposed I @ M's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 May 2007
    Location
    Marlo, Far East Gippsland
    Posts
    4,911
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I can't say as I have heard of any known AF problems with that model.

    From the sounds of things if 2 lenses are affected it will be in the camera body but to be sure firstly check that both lenses are set to AF and not manual.

    Then go to the body ---

    First check the AF / Manual settings in the menu to see that it is set on one of the AF modes.

    Yell out if all the settings are correct but you are still having no joy.
    Andrew
    Nikon, Fuji, Nikkor, Sigma, Tamron, Tokina and too many other bits and pieces to list.



  3. #3
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    29 Jul 2015
    Location
    Greensborough
    Posts
    1,656
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks I @ M ..... I thought I had gone though everything. The setting IN camera was set on MF. I have no idea how it was not on AF-A... ALL IS WELL AGAIN. and I am ready for

  4. #4
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,643
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Isn't it great when you can ask a question and get an answer so promptly and resolve your issue? Good to see AP doing what it is here for.
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  5. #5
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    29 Jul 2015
    Location
    Greensborough
    Posts
    1,656
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    and makes me look stupid..... Yep. Do not know what I would do without AP...

  6. #6
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,643
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by thegrump View Post
    and makes me look stupid..... Yep. Do not know what I would do without AP...
    No,., the person who looks stupid is the one that does not ask the question and spends days or weeks trying to work it out. Smart folk ask questions!

  7. #7
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,812
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    TG. I wooden wurry abouddit
    CC, Image editing OK.

  8. #8
    Member kevin301's Avatar
    Join Date
    21 Apr 2014
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    357
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by thegrump View Post
    I took my camera ( Nikon D3100 ) out this morning. But it did not focus on the object. Discovered both 55mm and 200mm had the same problem. I can hear the motors, but no movement in the lens. Manual focus OK. Tried all different settings, with the same result. Is there something I have missed?. Have I accidentally changed a setting somewhere?. Is this a known problem?. etc. etc. IS IT BROKE. ???????
    Quote Originally Posted by thegrump View Post
    Thanks I @ M ..... I thought I had gone though everything. The setting IN camera was set on MF. I have no idea how it was not on AF-A... ALL IS WELL AGAIN. and I am ready for
    Glad you managed to get it all sorted out!
    If the camera body was set to MF, I wonder what sounds you heard which you described as "I can hear the motors, but no movement in the lens". Sounds like you've got a gremlin living inside your camera body

    Probably it's the VR mechanism, is my guess.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •