Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Colour Correction Question using RawTherapee

Hi Guys,

I'm using RawTherapee, self taught, to modify my photos.

In this photo I've increased the exposure compensation to make her face a bit clearer to see but you can see the sky in the background is now looking washed out.

To be honest, being self taught, I just move each of the sliders to see what the effect is until I get something closer to what I like.

I try to get the histogram in the top right to reach from the left side to the right as I believe that indicates a good balance, although not sure if it's balance of light/dark or colours.

In this 2nd photo, I tried to "fix" it by changing the "blue/red balance" under the colour management tab in the top right corner of RawTherapee. This has made the sky look darker and the hills have that "bluer" look you see for distant hills.

What photo do people prefer? The original (on the left in both shots), the first adjustment, or the 2nd adjustment where the blue/red balance was changed?

Thanks in advance.

Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Mentioned
    24 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hmm! Whatta choice! I flicked back and 4th until I was seeing triple! I'd have to say "none of the above/beside/following".

All have good and bad points. In every case the girl's face is (IMO) too shadowed. Work on 1 thing atta time. Start with the face,
    say. You need to be able to work on the appropriate tones (say darks, but maybe mids) and have minimal effect on the others (say
    highs). Then, for color adjustment, work on a range at a time, like the cyans, or reds, without much effect on the others.

You are to be lauded for perseverance and self-discipline in teaching yourself. I'm not a RT user (had it once but that's all) and use