User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  3
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Godox Or Visico Strobes? , or another suggestion?

  1. #1
    Member Sam1971's Avatar
    Join Date
    30 Aug 2015
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Godox Or Visico Strobes? , or another suggestion?

    Hi, This is my first post so please be gentle with me!. I understand this is somewhat of a common question however I really can't decide what strobe to get for my home portrait studio. I have done as much research as I possibly can but still cannot decide between these strobe models:

    http://www.studioworks.com.au/vc-pro-series-flash/12-vc-pro-series-flash.html


    http://www.godox.com/EN/Products_Stu...QS_Series.html


    All of your expert advice and suggestions much appreciated.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    22 Jun 2010
    Location
    Lake Macquarie
    Posts
    4,883
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Sam1971 View Post
    Hi, This is my first post so please be gentle with me!. I understand this is somewhat of a common question however I really can't decide what strobe to get for my home portrait studio. I have done as much research as I possibly can but still cannot decide between these strobe models:

    http://www.studioworks.com.au/vc-pro-series-flash/12-vc-pro-series-flash.html


    http://www.godox.com/EN/Products_Stu...QS_Series.html


    All of your expert advice and suggestions much appreciated.
    You say you intend to use these in your home portrait studio, Sam. Are you planning on getting only 1 unit? What about stands, modifiers, triggers, backdrops, etc. One strobe does not a portrait studio make. Will you ever need to use them outside as well? That too has its pitfalls. Both units have more than enough power plus a decent GN and recycle times.

    I'm not sure you need 400W though. If you were going to use them outside, and try to face off against the sun, then 400W plus is ideal. Inside, depending upon the size of your space and the modifiers you plan on using, 200W could be plenty. I'm not trying to be difficult. Just trying to figure out how best to advise you.

    There are some awesome portrait photographers on here, but they will all need just a little more info to help you in a meaningful way.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Further, I should also say that I am a GREAT fan of site sponsor Fotogenic. They have kits that include all of the necessary bits and pieces at reasonable prices and I find their Menik strobes to be robust and reliable (I'm on my second set ... sold the first set to go outdoors compatible). Hope that helps.
    Waz
    Be who you are and say what you mean, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind - Dr. Seuss...
    D700 | D7000 | Nikkor AF-S 18-55 DX 1:3.5-5.6G | Nikkor AF-S 55-300 DX 1:4.5-5.6 G ED | Nikkor AF 50 f/1.8D | Optex OPM2930 tripod/monopod | Enthusiasm ...
    My Flickr images ...

  3. #3
    Member
    Threadstarter
    Sam1971's Avatar
    Join Date
    30 Aug 2015
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by WhoDo View Post
    You say you intend to use these in your home portrait studio, Sam. Are you planning on getting only 1 unit? What about stands, modifiers, triggers, backdrops, etc. One strobe does not a portrait studio make. Will you ever need to use them outside as well? That too has its pitfalls. Both units have more than enough power plus a decent GN and recycle times.

    I'm not sure you need 400W though. If you were going to use them outside, and try to face off against the sun, then 400W plus is ideal. Inside, depending upon the size of your space and the modifiers you plan on using, 200W could be plenty. I'm not trying to be difficult. Just trying to figure out how best to advise you.

    There are some awesome portrait photographers on here, but they will all need just a little more info to help you in a meaningful way.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Further, I should also say that I am a GREAT fan of site sponsor Fotogenic. They have kits that include all of the necessary bits and pieces at reasonable prices and I find their Menik strobes to be robust and reliable (I'm on my second set ... sold the first set to go outdoors compatible). Hope that helps.
    Hi WhoDo, Thank you so much for your post. Some good questions, firstly I should mention I'm actually using the photo's for reference to paint from. As you know its not easy to keep people still for hours on end, especially children, so the whole photography thing is a means to an end. Having said that I want to add a strobe to my existing equipment as it gives me more option's to get creative within the photographic stage. At the moment I have a Yongnuo IV Flash & 2 triggers, 2 cheap umbrella's (shoot through and silver), one 80cm octobox umbrella for flash, black,white,green cotton backdrops, 4 stands that came with a continuous lighting kit.

    I will take another look at Fotogenic and see what they got, thanks again for the info, most appreciated.

  4. #4
    Moderately Underexposed I @ M's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 May 2007
    Location
    Marlo, Far East Gippsland
    Posts
    4,911
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The visico strobes that you linked are the same model as I use here Sam.
    We have 2 and they have consistently worked well and provide plenty of bang for your buck.
    One needed to be rebuilt after about 3 years of pretty hard work and getting it refurbished through studioworks was a quick and (relatively) low cost exercise.
    Andrew
    Nikon, Fuji, Nikkor, Sigma, Tamron, Tokina and too many other bits and pieces to list.



  5. #5
    Member
    Threadstarter
    Sam1971's Avatar
    Join Date
    30 Aug 2015
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by I @ M View Post
    The visico strobes that you linked are the same model as I use here Sam.
    We have 2 and they have consistently worked well and provide plenty of bang for your buck.
    One needed to be rebuilt after about 3 years of pretty hard work and getting it refurbished through studioworks was a quick and (relatively) low cost exercise.
    G'day Andrew, Thanks for the reply. What exactly needed to be done on the strobe if you dont mind me asking?.

    Love your photo's by the way

  6. #6
    Moderately Underexposed I @ M's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 May 2007
    Location
    Marlo, Far East Gippsland
    Posts
    4,911
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Sam1971 View Post
    What exactly needed to be done on the strobe if you dont mind me asking?.
    From memory, a capacitor and a circuit board were replaced. The capacitor I would consider fair wear and tear for the usage that the unit had undergone as capacitors are a little like light globes. You get some that last forever and others that quit after a hammering. The circuit board may have been shorted when changing light modifiers without the head turned off. That is a pitfall of the Bowens S type mount where the bayonet fittings come very close to the flash tube terminals.

  7. #7
    Ausphotography Regular MissionMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Feb 2012
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,824
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Are you shooting Canon or Nikon? I see Yongnuo has released a Canon TTL strobe which might be an easier way to get to grips with lighting if that helps.

    The other one to consider is the Jinbei HD600 if mobility is important. Its similar to the Profoto type of concept with the battery incorporated into the head, but without TTL.
    Fuji XT-2, Fuji X-E3, Fuji X100T, Fuji VPB-XT2, Fujinon 16-55 f/2.8, Fujinon 50-140 f/2.8, Fujinon 35 f2, Fujinon 90 f/2, Fujinon 60 f/2.4 Macro, Yongnuo YN560 IV, Yongnuo YN560 TX, Benro C3580T, Mefoto Q00
    https://www.flickr.com/photos/atholhill
    http://www.theoverratedphotographer.com
    https://www.instagram.com/theoverratedphotographer/


  8. #8
    Member
    Threadstarter
    Sam1971's Avatar
    Join Date
    30 Aug 2015
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by MissionMan View Post
    Are you shooting Canon or Nikon? I see Yongnuo has released a Canon TTL strobe which might be an easier way to get to grips with lighting if that helps.

    The other one to consider is the Jinbei HD600 if mobility is important. Its similar to the Profoto type of concept with the battery incorporated into the head, but without TTL.
    I'm shooting Nikon. I had no idea Yongnuo made strobes until you mentioned it!. Are they going to make Nikon ones?, *comment removed -please refer to the site rules, in particular rule 3: admin*
    Last edited by ricktas; 03-09-2015 at 6:35am.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •