User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: scaling to absolute measurements (mm)

  1. #1
    Ausphotography Regular landyvlad's Avatar
    Join Date
    27 Mar 2014
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    755
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    scaling to absolute measurements (mm)

    I managed to get this image to exactly 300mm width - in order to get the templates correct, the problem is that 30cm is just a tad long for a A4 page.

    How do I crop it AND ensure that the templates are at the correct scale.

    Thanks
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Panasonic Lumix FZ200 / Samsung Galaxy Note 5 / LR 5 & PSE 12

    Constructive Critique of my work is highly valued so have at it !

    "I may be crazy, but that doesn't mean I'm wrong".
    There ought to be a recall on all photo editing software to remove the vignette function.

  2. #2
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,811
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Q1. What have you got to crop with?

    Remark 1: If there is a printing option like "scale to fit page", then DO NOT use it, but use 100%.

    Remark 2: Your resulting print on an A4 sheet will lose the outer edges of this image, but the templates
    are well within the A4 size (297mm) page size.
    CC, Image editing OK.

  3. #3
    Ausphotography Regular paulheath's Avatar
    Join Date
    07 Aug 2012
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,017
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    do you have Photoshop? if so just open a new file pick A4 , then open ^ this image pick lasso , or marquee tool then select area around your image ( as tight as possible ) then ctrl and hold drag your selection up to your blank a4 file and it will automatically open that file release mouse/pen and it will drop image that you have cut onto a4 you can move it to any position with the move tool.
    long live
    www.paulheathphotography.com.au
    Canon 7D, and a lot of other bits and bobs


  4. #4
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,811
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    PS: If using Photoshop, you might get scary messages something like "Iage is too big and will be cropped",
    but don't worry about them.

  5. #5
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    landyvlad's Avatar
    Join Date
    27 Mar 2014
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    755
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks. Yep I have photoshop elements

    - - - Updated - - -

    Hmmm, when I open a new A4 page it opens in a new tab. How can I drag between tabs?
    Cut and paste doesn't work as it makes it tiny on the new page.

  6. #6
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,811
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Cripes, you must be talking to Paul, as I can't relate to that in my version of Photoshop (CS2).

    If you just want to print it at the "right" size, I can describe how without the cut-paste referred to.

    In my CS2 version, I select File/Print with Preview.
    (Select printer, paper size, etc. - For this pic, a Landscape orientation of the paper.)

    I see a preview of the page with the image. Alongside are size and positioning boxes.
    Just make sure you centre the image, and set it at 100% (default when scaling is NOT selected).

    See below...

    Print Preview dialog in CS2
    Prt-Prev.jpg

  7. #7
    Ausphotography Regular paulheath's Avatar
    Join Date
    07 Aug 2012
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,017
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by landyvlad View Post
    Thanks. Yep I have photoshop elements

    - - - Updated - - -

    Hmmm, when I open a new A4 page it opens in a new tab. How can I drag between tabs?
    Cut and paste doesn't work as it makes it tiny on the new page.
    exactly that... you drag to the tab and it should open it on that new file..

    - - - Updated - - -

    ok so open your file then open new file ( named mine A4 ) cut out with lasso or marquee hold ctrl drag the section to (A4) as indicated it will then open A4 , release mouse and your selection will be placed into A4 page.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •