User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  3
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: 40D RAW capture problems

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    04 Mar 2008
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    263
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    40D RAW capture problems

    Good evening all...I write this because I am all of a sudden having problems capturing raw images when using exposure bracketing. My camera's set for medium jpg and large RAW images.

    For a number of years I've been using a 4GB SanDisk CF card and recently upgraded to a 16GB card (simply because I was going bush for a few weeks and needed the extra storage). I never had a problem using AEB with the 4gig and, initially, none with the 16gig. But then I noticed that only the occasional RAW image from a bracketed exposure would download and then finally, none at all. The RAW files appear to have been replaced with a file with a .JPG extension (as distinct from .jpg). So, what I generally get now with a bracketed exposure is three .JPG files instead of RAW files, and three .jpg files.

    One other thing that's also been happening in association with the lack of RAW images is that, at times, the 3-burst capture takes an inordinate amount of time to download to the card.

    The battery is new, being bought at the same time as the 16GB card.

    Everything else is per how I've been using the camera since I bought it new.

    Any clues what's happening? Any advice on how to fix would be gratefully appreciated.

    Cheers
    Last edited by Redback51; 24-03-2015 at 10:44pm. Reason: Correct card capacity
    Sean

    Gear: Canon AE-1, EOS 40D & 350D; Sigma 10-20mm f/4-5.6; EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM; EF 85mm f/1.8 USM; EF 100mm f/2.8 USM macro; EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM; 430EX Speedlite; Manfrotto 190XDB with 804RC2 head


  2. #2
    I like my computer more than my camera farmmax's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Mar 2010
    Location
    Central West
    Posts
    1,785
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You didn't buy a much slower 32GB card than your 4GB card did you? I'd be surprised, as cards are getting faster and faster. What speed are they? If you go back to your old 4GB card what happens?

  3. #3
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    04 Mar 2008
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    263
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks farmmax...the 4GB is 30 MB/s; the 16 is 120 MB/s. I haven't, as yet, tried again with the 4GB...will be doing so on Thursday.

    Cheers
    Last edited by Redback51; 24-03-2015 at 10:54pm.

  4. #4
    Ausphotography Regular
    Join Date
    01 Dec 2011
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    1,525
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sorry to hear of your problem. As general advice, when faced with “out of the blue” problems such as this, I would do the following:

    • Make a note of any settings you have changed and want to keep.
    • Reset the Canon 40D back to factory settings.
    • Re-format the 16GB CF card in the camera.
    • Check to see if that has fixed the problem.
    • Re-apply any changes you have made.


    At least then, you would be starting from a known baseline. Good luck!

    Cheers

    Dennis
    Attached Images Attached Images

  5. #5
    Loves The Wildlife. Mary Anne's Avatar
    Join Date
    19 Dec 2009
    Location
    Brisbane Southside.
    Posts
    32,880
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Good advice from Dennis above, returning to Factory settings works for me when I have problems I hope it works for you.
    My 52/2011 Challenge

    I shoot with Canon And Olympus Cameras



  6. #6
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    04 Mar 2008
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    263
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Greatly appreciated Dennis and Mary Anne...will give it a try first thing tomorrow and report back. Cheers

  7. #7
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    04 Mar 2008
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    263
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks folks, things appear to be working OK and after spending a couple of hours on the phone with a really helpful Apple person, I think I've got the Mac side of things sorted out (photon-wise) as well.

    Cheers

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •