Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  3

Thread: Lens decision

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Lens decision

Hi,
    I'm just starting out and have had a few voluntary photog events suddenly come my way. Most are internal events so was going to purchase a 50mm prime lens to go with my 18-55 kit, but was then thinking maybe I should get a 70-200 instead...
    Any suggestions???
    Thanks

Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Not enough information. Things like how large the room you are in, what are the light levels like, what camera body do you have, what lights do you have (speedlights. strobes), are you using backdrops, are the subjects posing for you are are they going to be candid photos where you have to capture the subject whilst they are possibly moving, etc.

Also if you are taking on these jobs then you are not a beginner cause your photography must be up to at least a good standard for you to be taking on events, voluntary or otherwise, so we have upgraded you to intermediate level. Congratulations.
    Last edited by ricktas; 23-02-2015 at 8:04am.
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

RICK
    My Photography

Threadstarter
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm still to have a look at the venues, but they will be award ceremonies so groups of people gathered on stage - won't know the lighting set up until the day unfortunately but they are in community halls during the day so lighting I assume will just be standard fluorescents- and then candid close ups of the recipients as they are accepting the awards.

I will be able to get quite close to the stage.

Also doing a charity sports day - outdoors in park/ beach.