User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  2
Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Reminder of Free Adobe Photoshop CS2

  1. #1
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,845
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reminder of Free Adobe Photoshop CS2

    I see there are already a few threads about this in this forum, but, because it has come up
    a couple of times recently, here's another such.


    BASICALLY, Adobe is letting people download a free copy - fully functional, too - of
    Adobe Photoshop CS2, ie, the Photoshop part of Creative Suite 2, this version being Photoshop 9.

    If you're unsure of where it fits, think along the approximate lines that they put out LightRoom, Photoshop, and Elements.

    Lightroom is mainly for raw conversion, while Photoshop is a full-blown image editing program. Elements is a cut down version
    of - er, I was going to say Photoshop, but I'll just say - an "editing program".

    The last standalone version of Photoshop was in CS6 (Photoshop ?13 if you like version numbers).

    Now they offer "Creative Cloud" - a subscription version of the suite.

    And so, you can get this still very capable version (and the one I have) of Photoshop free - ie, "for nuffin",
    simply by Googling "free cs2 download", or by going to a site such as

    this Techspot site here.

    There are plenty of 'Shopheads on AP so you won't be alone.

    Happy ... downloading...
    Am.

    - - - Updated - - -

    You'll note there is a Windows version and a Mac version. Each has a separate serial number that you must
    use during installation. Finally they ask you to register. I did, but I noted that the drawback with this free version
    is that the registration dialog comes up every time you start Photoshop. It's OK, as a single mouse-click closes it.
    Last edited by ameerat42; 18-02-2015 at 4:12pm.
    CC, Image editing OK.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    27 Feb 2012
    Location
    Doncaster East
    Posts
    622
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Won't let me install it on the Mac. Doesn't like Techspot as the place I downloaded it from. Want's App Store or Adobe directly

    edit: Ignore me. I fixed it. Security setting
    Last edited by Granville; 26-02-2015 at 8:50pm.
    Cheers

    You don't have to be dead to be a donor.

    Education is what remains after that which has been learnt, has been forgotten.

  3. #3
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,845
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I must say I never tried it for Mac, but that Techspot has worked for me 2-ice so far.
    Have a look at what they say on this Redmond Pie site
    about Mac requirements.

    Strange !!! ???

    Am.

    PS. Ignore the foregoing. I just read your edit.
    Last edited by ameerat42; 26-02-2015 at 8:54pm.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    27 Feb 2012
    Location
    Doncaster East
    Posts
    622
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks AM. Not supported on Intel Mac's. Neither is Rosetta after OS X 10.6.Ah well. Would have been fun. Stick with Lightroom
    Last edited by Granville; 26-02-2015 at 9:08pm.

  5. #5
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,845
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    How strange!!! Though not with CS2 but (I think) CS5, a friend with a 3 yr old Mac laptop had Win 7 installed and had it running in that.
    (More ???s than !!!s.)

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    27 Feb 2012
    Location
    Doncaster East
    Posts
    622
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Oh I could install Windows in a VM using Bootcamp and then run it like that. Haven't got a copy of Windows either though.

  7. #7
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,845
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Granville View Post
    Oh I could install Windows in a VM using Bootcamp and then run it like that. Haven't got a copy of Windows either though.
    Double Humph!

  8. #8
    Member auz80's Avatar
    Join Date
    22 Feb 2015
    Location
    Regional WA
    Posts
    96
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for the link to the free cs2 download. I downloaded it last night and now have to start learning how to use it I'm not new to digital photography but I am to using PP software. On the blog advice of a photo restorer I bought PSE12 which he said was capable of doing 90% of his work. I noticed, however, your comment (' Elements is a cut down version of - er, I was going to say Photoshop, but I'll just say - an "editing program".') which seems to suggest you don't think very highly of it? I wonder would you care to comment? Thanks, Don

  9. #9
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,845
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I had a look at PS11 and found it had a few things missing that I always use - the warp tool for one - and some Image tools.
    For me, the general arrangement of the program was not very helpful. Now I suppose I could have been kinder, but in the comparison
    of CS2 and Elts 11, I preferred CS2. - Ah! Now that I remember, (I seem to remember) it had less control over what you could do.
    Funny how after a while you only recall the emotion

    Hang on! I think there was an issue with the bit-depth of images ...


    OK, I just did a search on "elements vs photoshop" and found these two articles near the top.
    https://photographylife.com/photosho...oshop-elements

    and

    http://graphicssoft.about.com/cs/pho...ntscompare.htm

    Have a bit of a look.

    Am.

  10. #10
    Member auz80's Avatar
    Join Date
    22 Feb 2015
    Location
    Regional WA
    Posts
    96
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Am. Interesting articles, particularly the first. As I've indicated previously, I'm still on training wheels with all of this stuff but am enjoying finding my way around the basics. It seems pretty obvious that Elements will do anything I'm ever likely to want, however, having said that, it will add to the adventure by having CS2 to play with.
    Thanks again, Don

  11. #11
    Member Glen1's Avatar
    Join Date
    05 Jul 2014
    Location
    Lake Macquarie
    Posts
    293
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I tried to install it, and it asked for an 'Organisation number" and "security number'. Anyone have these numbers to hand?

    Regards
    Glen1
    Regards

    Glen1

  12. #12
    Ausphotography Veteran tandeejay's Avatar
    Join Date
    22 Feb 2015
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    3,128
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I just installed it (PC version) and it asked for a serial number which is available on the Techspot web page linked.

    All the other details, I believe you can put what ever you like.

  13. #13
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,845
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yeah. I suppose. I actually registered "properly" for once.

    DO register (something) on installation, then when it asks for registration each time you open it,
    just click on "Do not register".

  14. #14
    Ausphotography irregular Mark L's Avatar
    Join Date
    21 Nov 2010
    Location
    magical Mudgee
    Posts
    18,849
    Mentioned
    26 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you shoot RAW and have a camera released after CS2 it will not open your RAW files. You need to either convert and save them as TIFF or get a DNG converter. Since it's all Adobe, this is probably the best one for windows (choose one at top) .... http://ebird.org/ebird/australia/hot...l&m=&rank=lrec
    Well, that was the wrong link. At least you got to see the list of birds seen at the place I take a lot of photos. And you get to see my surname.
    Here's the right link for that DNG converter thing..... http://www.adobe.com/support/downloa...atform=Windows
    Have advice that DNG is preferred to TIFF.
    Last edited by Mark L; 02-03-2015 at 10:48pm.
    "Enjoy what you can do rather than being frustrated at what you can't." bobt
    Canon 80D, 60D, Canon 28-105, Sigma 150-600S.

  15. #15
    Member chomper's Avatar
    Join Date
    20 Mar 2007
    Location
    South of the border
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This will come in very handy. Thanks to the OP for the heads up.
    My kit:

    Canon 7D
    Sigma 18-35 f1.8
    Canon 50mm f1.8
    Canon 70-200 F4L
    550EX Speedlite

  16. #16
    Member MadMax1412's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Aug 2010
    Location
    Newcastle
    Posts
    52
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Edit: Solved my own question. Thanks
    Last edited by MadMax1412; 13-05-2015 at 9:10am.

  17. #17
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,845
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Right on the SAME page as the download button is.
    http://www.techspot.com/downloads/36...oshop-cs2.html

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by MadMax1412 View Post
    Edit: Solved my own question. Thanks
    You could have left the question for others to see and learn from.

  18. #18
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,845
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Post to check thread.
    Last edited by ameerat42; 17-05-2015 at 6:59pm.

  19. #19
    Member MadMax1412's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Aug 2010
    Location
    Newcastle
    Posts
    52
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ameerat42 View Post
    Post to check thread.
    I did reply but my total reply was moved by the moderator to start a whole new thread - http://www.ausphotography.net.au/for...-as-Bitmap-BMP

  20. #20
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,845
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That's OK, MM. I read it.

    That was me checking that this thread still worked. Had a bit of trouble with it. Now it's OK.
    Am.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •