User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  12
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 48

Thread: Site issues

  1. #1
    Ausphotography Regular MissionMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Feb 2012
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,824
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Site issues

    I'm having strange issues where I am trying to post a review but the posts seem to get cut off at 166 characters despite previewing fine.

    Any ideas?
    Fuji XT-2, Fuji X-E3, Fuji X100T, Fuji VPB-XT2, Fujinon 16-55 f/2.8, Fujinon 50-140 f/2.8, Fujinon 35 f2, Fujinon 90 f/2, Fujinon 60 f/2.4 Macro, Yongnuo YN560 IV, Yongnuo YN560 TX, Benro C3580T, Mefoto Q00
    https://www.flickr.com/photos/atholhill
    http://www.theoverratedphotographer.com
    https://www.instagram.com/theoverratedphotographer/


  2. #2
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,811
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    MM. Is it related to the problem mentioned in this thread in post#33?
    http://www.ausphotography.net.au/for...-of-2014/page2
    CC, Image editing OK.

  3. #3
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    MissionMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Feb 2012
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,824
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ameerat42 View Post
    MM. Is it related to the problem mentioned in this thread in post#33?
    http://www.ausphotography.net.au/for...-of-2014/page2
    yeah, any idea on the fix?

  4. #4
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,811
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Not yet. Rick is investigating. Stay tuned to that thread, maybe.

  5. #5
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    MissionMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Feb 2012
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,824
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks. Can you delete my posts in the accessories section in the interim

  6. #6
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,811
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ?
    Quote Originally Posted by MissionMan View Post
    Thanks. Can you delete my posts in the accessories section in the interim
    ?

    MM I'm not ! what posts you mean...

  7. #7
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    MissionMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Feb 2012
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,824
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ameerat42 View Post
    ?

    ?

    MM I'm not ! what posts you mean...
    Rick removed them. Was discussing the issue with him on pm.

    Thanks

  8. #8
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    MissionMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Feb 2012
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,824
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Really weird. Even if I went through tapatalk (the iPhone app) it still picked up issues with the copy and paste despite having zero formatting included.

  9. #9
    Moderately Underexposed I @ M's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 May 2007
    Location
    Marlo, Far East Gippsland
    Posts
    4,911
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Does the post fail at the preview stage or the publish stage?

    I have just created a thread in a test forum with lots of formatting copied from a word doc and it previews ok.
    Andrew
    Nikon, Fuji, Nikkor, Sigma, Tamron, Tokina and too many other bits and pieces to list.



  10. #10
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    MissionMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Feb 2012
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,824
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It previews fine oddly enough. The second time I posted I made sure I previewed and it looks okay. Then when you click post it cuts off most of the text. In my case, it seems to cut off at about 160 characters but someone else who posted had theirs cutting off earlier.

    I also tried the pasting as text button to see if that made any difference and it was the same.

    - - - Updated - - -

    It seems to be the same as this issue:

    http://wordpress.stackexchange.com/questions/56411/text-cut-off-on-save
    Last edited by MissionMan; 04-01-2015 at 12:21pm.

  11. #11
    Moderately Underexposed I @ M's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 May 2007
    Location
    Marlo, Far East Gippsland
    Posts
    4,911
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have just published a post in the test area after previewing about 3 different versions of word docs and it it all went fine, It didn't reach the "save" stage at any time though so I will repeat it with a saved version.

  12. #12
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    MissionMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Feb 2012
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,824
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I had a look at my file and it looks like it could relate to the different types of apostrophes. The one in word is at a slight angle and the one when you type directly into the forum is straight. It seems to get cut off at the first apostrophy that is at an angle (word default) so I assume it has something to do with that.

  13. #13
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,643
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    I think I you are on the right track there MM. I just was testing it too, and found that if my Word Doc has DOT POINTS, the post on AP cuts out at the first dot point. Remove the dot points and the entire copied text posts just fine.

    It therefore looks like a formatting issue between word and AP.
    Last edited by ricktas; 04-01-2015 at 1:00pm.
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  14. #14
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    MissionMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Feb 2012
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,824
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The link I posted had some information on wordpress that can be changed to fix the issue. Not sure if they are applicable but worth taking a look.

  15. #15
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,643
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    seems to be a known issue for not just AP but things like copying from Word to Worpress blogs etc as well. It is caused by the way Browsers treat copied text.

    CAUSE
    Your browser doesnt send the copied text UTF-8 encoded to the server. On the first character that isnt UTF-8 compatible, in your example the apostrophe, the stream to the data base is broken and not recovered. Thats a browser issue, not AP or Word.
    Last edited by ricktas; 04-01-2015 at 1:07pm.

  16. #16
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    MissionMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Feb 2012
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,824
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ricktas View Post
    seems to be a known issue for not just AP but things like copying from Word to Worpress blogs etc as well. It is caused by the way Browsers treat copied text.

    CAUSE
    Your browser doesnt send the copied text UTF-8 encoded to the server. On the first character that isn
    Lol. Your sentence just got cut off

  17. #17
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,643
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by MissionMan View Post
    Lol. Your sentence just got cut off
    Fixed by editing it and removing all the apostrophes in the copied text. So the issue is non alphabet characters, and caused by your browser.

  18. #18
    Ausphotography irregular Mark L's Avatar
    Join Date
    21 Nov 2010
    Location
    magical Mudgee
    Posts
    18,824
    Mentioned
    26 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    In view of the problems Markd and Jo are having with copy and pasting saved word documents, thought I

    mmmm

    Try again without apostrophe,
    In view of the problems Markd and Jo are having with copy and pasting saved word documents, thought Id try it as well. Might help figure out if the problem is there
    Last edited by Mark L; 04-01-2015 at 7:33pm.

  19. #19
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,643
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    which browser is everyone using and what version. We might find that a recent browser update has triggered this.

    Me : Firefox : 34.0.5

  20. #20
    Ausphotography irregular Mark L's Avatar
    Join Date
    21 Nov 2010
    Location
    magical Mudgee
    Posts
    18,824
    Mentioned
    26 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Also using Firefox : 34.0.5
    Let's try Chrome,
    In view of the problems Markd and Jo are having with copy and pasting saved word documents, thought I

    No different.
    Last edited by Mark L; 04-01-2015 at 10:26pm.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •