Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0

Thread: n00b question regarding the YN-560 iii

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

n00b question regarding the YN-560 iii

Hi All,

I am looking at purchasing two of these YN-560 iii - http://flashhavoc.com/yongnuo-yn-560-iii-review/

But what I am wondering is, is this flash capable of triggering the second one using the 2.4GHz radio? Or do I still need a transmitter and receiver?

I have never used a flash before, but I want to start using a flash on the camera, and a secondary flash to light up some backgrounds (no line of sight, so it cannot be an optical trigger).

Any one able to decipher what is on that website and tell me in n00b English what it says?

Thanks

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Using a flash to trigger another flash via radio signal and not the usual optical aye? Haven't heard of such thing, or maybe I have but don't remember.

Anyways, I don't own one of these, but I think the first paragraph gives the answer:

The YN-560 III is the latest version of YongNuo’s flagship manual speeedlite, and its the first all manual speedlite with a radio trigger receiver built in for firing the flash reliably off camera. Compatible with both the existing and very popular RF-602 and RF-603 radio triggers.
    Basically, they have a built-in receiver, so all they need is a trigger which you will get separately (unless you can find a bundled deal) to attach to your camera hot shoe to trigger the receivers, ie. speedlites.

With that being said, I don't see why a trigger can't trigger off multiple receivers at the same time, therefore not requiring to trigger one flash, and then that flash triggering the other. 1 Receiver should trigger them both.

So I think you should be okay, just buy however many you need (unless there's a limit to the trigger), get a trigger, and away you go.