User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  1
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Photoshop & raw files

  1. #1
    Member Filter's Avatar
    Join Date
    19 May 2014
    Location
    Mornington
    Posts
    469
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Photoshop & raw files

    Hi all, can someone set me straight with this popup I got when trying to import a raw file into Photoshop. In laymans, is it talking about software I got with my camera or an update I need for Photoshop?

    Filter.

    ScreenHunter_63 May. 29 12.33.jpg
    Filter


    EOS 7D Mark II - 70D - Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS II USM, 17 - 55 2.8 Lenses

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    17 Mar 2012
    Location
    Werribee
    Posts
    473
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It is a photoshop issue.
    Open photoshop - go to help - updates - download the updates for your camera(s)

    It should then recognise the raw files
    Cheers Kieran

    Tamron 90 macro, Sigma 70-200 f2.8, Tokina 11-16 f2.8, Cannon 50 f1.8, Cannon 18-55. Cannon 550D

  3. #3
    Member
    Threadstarter
    Filter's Avatar
    Join Date
    19 May 2014
    Location
    Mornington
    Posts
    469
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Kieran, will work on that.

  4. #4
    Ausphotography Regular agb's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Sep 2010
    Location
    Cleveland
    Posts
    817
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    YOu also need to know that if you have a new camera and an old version of Photoshop then your updates to photoshop may still not let you open the raw files from your camera. Adobe do not automatically provide updates for all the new cameras for all the old versions of photoshop.
    The age of entitlement isn't over, it's just over there where you can't get to it.
    When several possibilities exist, the simplest solution is the best.
    "There are no rules" Bruce Barnbaum, The art of Photography
    Graham


  5. #5
    A royal pain in the bum! arthurking83's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Jun 2006
    Location
    the worst house, in the best street
    Posts
    7,701
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    As agb says .. ACR is the problem, not photoshop itself.

    You need a version of photoshop, that is compatible with a version of ACR that will recognise your camera's raw files.

    If you can update ACR to an appropriate version, you can use intermediary steps to account for this.

    eg. you could try adobe's DNG conversion software that converts your raw files to DNG that will be compatible with your current software.
    Alternatively, you could use another software(eg. the one from Canon .. which I think is called DCC or something) to convert the raw files into tiff files for editing in PS.
    Nikon D800E, D300, D70s
    {Nikon} -> 50/1.2 : 500/8(CPU'd) : 105/2.8VR Micro : 180/2.8ais : 105mm f/1.8ais : 24mm/2ais
    {Sigma}; ->10-20/4-5.6 : 50/1.4 : 12-24/4.5-5.6II : 150-600mm|S
    {Tamron}; -> 17-50/2.8 : 28-75/2.8 : 70-200/2.8 : 300/2.8 SP MF : 24-70/2.8VC


  6. #6
    Ausphotography irregular Mark L's Avatar
    Join Date
    21 Nov 2010
    Location
    magical Mudgee
    Posts
    16,362
    Mentioned
    22 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by arthurking83 View Post
    ...... you could use another software(eg. the one from Canon .. which I think is called DCC or something) to convert the raw files into tiff files for editing in PS.
    DPP it is and it's quite a good raw converter. Has the option to batch process to tiff.
    "Enjoy what you can do rather than being frustrated at what you can't." bobt
    60D, Canon 28-105, Sigma 150-600S, Sigma 120-400, a speedlite, a tripod, a monopod, a remote release and a padded bag to carry things in.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •