User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  5
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: New Monitor - Pixel checking? Calibration?

  1. #1
    Ausphotography Regular landyvlad's Avatar
    Join Date
    27 Mar 2014
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    602
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    New Monitor - Pixel checking? Calibration?

    I have just received my new monitor - an EIZO Flex Scan EV2436W

    http://www.eizo-apac.com/products/fl...dex.html#tab02

    1. What's the best way to check for dark or white pixels?
    I haven't noticed any with first use BUT is there some sort of test pattern or free way of checking this asap?

    2. Monitor calibration..... Yep I know this is a discussion no doubt had many times before but specifically:
    a) does anyone know whether colour profiles can be downloaded for this specific monitor?
    b) what would be the least expensive but still worthwhile hardware calibrator?
    c) in the interim what is the best way (software / free ideally) of getting it 'as close as possible'?
    d) I presume that not only are there adjustments needed in the monitor but possibly also the graphics card?

    In order to avoid retyping existing hashing old info by all means post links to threads which contain relevant accurate information, as I may not have seen them.

    Thank You all.

    - - - Updated - - -

    I did find some relevant stuff on the EIZO website...
    (You'd think I'd check there first eh...)

    Software updates, driver downloads, screen adjustment pattern files, ICC profiles

    http://www.eizo.com/global/support/d...ftware/EV2436W
    Panasonic Lumix FZ200 / Samsung Galaxy Note 5 / LR 5 & PSE 12

    Constructive Critique of my work is highly valued so have at it !

    "I may be crazy, but that doesn't mean I'm wrong".
    There ought to be a recall on all photo editing software to remove the vignette function.

  2. #2
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    14,845
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just a quick way for dead/hot pixels: view a completely white/black screen...
    CC, Image editing OK.

  3. #3
    A royal pain in the bum! arthurking83's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Jun 2006
    Location
    the worst house, in the best street
    Posts
    7,701
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ameerat42 View Post
    Just a quick way for dead/hot pixels: view a completely white/black screen...
    Look up in the AP menu top LH corner.
    You see AP extras menu.

    Click for the drop down boxes to open up and you'll see white screen black screen.
    Click on each one in turn. They each open up a relatively all black and all white screen(with toolbars and sidebars active in your browser).

    To close them just close the tab that each respective extra had opened in.


    For a relatively cheap calibration point that's probably close enough for your purposes .. get a good sized print made of a favourite image .. with a wide colour range as you can get into it.
    make it a large print, at least almost the size of your screen.

    Compare it against your screen.

    Done(for now).

    While it's not going to be a 100% accurate calibration, anyone that thinks they have a 100% accurate calibration on their screen is kidding themselves .. the notion simply doesn't exist!
    Calibration is a relative idea.
    it has to mean something to you.

    We all calibrate our screens basically to get to a point where the differences are very small .. hopefully to a point where the human eye can't tell the difference. This way we each see something relatively close to what the others see as well.
    The biggest change in calibrating your screen will be to colour reproduction(in most instances).

    If you have an image that you've wanted to print, now is a good time to do so. At least you'll have some reference point.

    One day when you can justify it, you'll end up with a calibration device and you're then set for life.
    Nikon D800E, D300, D70s
    {Nikon} -> 50/1.2 : 500/8(CPU'd) : 105/2.8VR Micro : 180/2.8ais : 105mm f/1.8ais : 24mm/2ais
    {Sigma}; ->10-20/4-5.6 : 50/1.4 : 12-24/4.5-5.6II : 150-600mm|S
    {Tamron}; -> 17-50/2.8 : 28-75/2.8 : 70-200/2.8 : 300/2.8 SP MF : 24-70/2.8VC


  4. #4
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,136
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    If you don't want to spend money on a calibration device at present, have a look at this thread: http://www.ausphotography.net.au/for...on-information and use the link in the first post.

    Not perfect and no were as accurate as a proper hardware calibration device, but it works OK.
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  5. #5
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    landyvlad's Avatar
    Join Date
    27 Mar 2014
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    602
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks all

  6. #6
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    landyvlad's Avatar
    Join Date
    27 Mar 2014
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    602
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yow ! So I just turned my monitor on (2nd rime ever) and its doing something it wasn't the other day. It's flickering / waves are rolling up and down on it. It's subtle yet also obvious. Got me a bit worried.

    Maybe it needs to warm up a while? Any ideas on what this could be?

  7. #7
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    14,845
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Check how you've set it up. Like, what sort of connection: VGA, DVI, HDMI.

    Look at this page from the coy itself.

    You may be one of the lucky few with extra sensory perception that picks up flicker

    Ultimately, if you don't like how it performs - ie, faultily - you should be able to send it back.
    Am.

  8. #8
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,136
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by landyvlad View Post
    Yow ! So I just turned my monitor on (2nd rime ever) and its doing something it wasn't the other day. It's flickering / waves are rolling up and down on it. It's subtle yet also obvious. Got me a bit worried.

    Maybe it needs to warm up a while? Any ideas on what this could be?
    It could well be electrical interference. Mobile phone? other electrical device near the screen that was not the other day. You know how sometimes a radio will make a funny sound just before you get a text or call on your mobile? This is interference being picked up by the radio. Your screen could be doing the same thing, picking up electrical interference from something else and the flickering is the result of that.

  9. #9
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    landyvlad's Avatar
    Join Date
    27 Mar 2014
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    602
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ameerat42 View Post
    You may be one of the lucky few with extra sensory perception that picks up flicker
    Yeah wouldn't THAT be great.

    Connector:
    D-Sub (old school to the lappy) however when I get my new computer built I will have a DVI-D or possibly even a display port connection.
    Could that be part of the problem?

    By the way the monitor has been on for an hour now....still happening.....

  10. #10
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    landyvlad's Avatar
    Join Date
    27 Mar 2014
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    602
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Also I dont think there is any change since the other day re elec interference

    This is SO frustrating, Not happy Jan !!!!!

    - - - Updated - - -

    Hmm interesting - when I set it up as extended desktop with lappy as main screen and Eizo as extended desktop... moving mouse on eizo screen - just as described. But then moving mouse on the lappy screen and EIZO screen 'activity' increases noticeably. Hmmmm.

  11. #11
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,136
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Possibly problem with either the lappy screen causing interference, or the graphics card in the computer.

  12. #12
    Member billy4030's Avatar
    Join Date
    06 Nov 2013
    Location
    Brisbane, Northside
    Posts
    216
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It isnt a loose connection on the video connection. Wiggle the connector a bit and see.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •