User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  2
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Cano Speedlite EX 2 flash - bit of help.

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    10 Dec 2010
    Location
    sydney
    Posts
    455
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Cano Speedlite EX 2 flash - bit of help.

    I have a 480 EXII flash.

    I am playing with second curtain flash and am a bit confused.

    I *HAVE* read the manual, but it doesn't seem to explain what I am seeing happen.

    I put the flash on my 550D and turn both on.

    Go into the camera menu and find the flash and set it for second curtain flash.

    Set the camera to M, F22 and set a 30 second exposure.

    The inbuilt flash is DOWN.

    I press the shutter release and there is a flash.

    30 seconds later another flash.

    Image ok.

    But reading the manual, it doesn't tell me what is going on. Well, not in a way I can understand.

    Anyone - please.
    +===========================================+
    Canon EOS 550D 18-135 (IS) lens 90-300 lens
    +===========================================+

  2. #2
    Ausphotography Regular
    Join Date
    01 Dec 2011
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    1,579
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Is the first flash a pre-flash (or test exposure) where the 480 pops to determine the correct exposure but does not fire the shutter?

    Then the shutter opens and at the end of the exposure (2nd curtain), the “real” flash pops using the exposure calculated from the pre-flash.

    Cheers

    Dennis

  3. #3
    Moderately Underexposed I @ M's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 May 2007
    Location
    Marlo, Far East Gippsland
    Posts
    4,873
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Felix View Post
    But reading the manual, it doesn't tell me what is going on. Well, not in a way I can understand.
    Don't panic about that too much, manuals are usually quite good about telling you how to do things but very often they don't go into a lot of detail about the way the process happens.

    I think that the explanation from Dennis in the post above is probably the right one.
    Andrew
    Nikon, Fuji, Nikkor, Sigma, Tamron, Tokina and too many other bits and pieces to list.



  4. #4
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    10 Dec 2010
    Location
    sydney
    Posts
    455
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks guys,

    I thought that was the case, as the picture wasn't too bad. But I wanted to be sure.


  5. #5
    A royal pain in the bum! arthurking83's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Jun 2006
    Location
    the worst house, in the best street
    Posts
    7,744
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Nikon D800E, D300, D70s
    {Nikon} -> 50/1.2 : 500/8(CPU'd) : 105/2.8VR Micro : 180/2.8ais : 105mm f/1.8ais : 24mm/2ais
    {Sigma}; ->10-20/4-5.6 : 50/1.4 : 12-24/4.5-5.6II : 150-600mm|S
    {Tamron}; -> 17-50/2.8 : 28-75/2.8 : 70-200/2.8 : 300/2.8 SP MF : 24-70/2.8VC


  6. #6
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    10 Dec 2010
    Location
    sydney
    Posts
    455
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes Arthurking83.

    That is what I was wanting to do.

    However, until "now" I haven't had such a flash. For the times I did need one I used the "built in" one.

    But seeing what you can do with that function I am STARTING my learning curve.

  7. #7
    A royal pain in the bum! arthurking83's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Jun 2006
    Location
    the worst house, in the best street
    Posts
    7,744
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Felix View Post
    Yes Arthurking83.

    That is what I was wanting to do.

    However, until "now" I haven't had such a flash. For the times I did need one I used the "built in" one ......
    The onboard flash on your Canon should also have the capability to do rear/2nd curtain sync.
    I have yet to hear of any DSLR(with onboard flash) without the ability to do so.

  8. #8
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    10 Dec 2010
    Location
    sydney
    Posts
    455
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well there ya go.

    As built in flashes are a recent thing and I haven't really looked into it too much, I never went into the "local flash"'s settings.

    But it does have that option.
    Last edited by Mr Felix; 18-04-2014 at 7:51pm. Reason: clarification

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •