User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  4
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Please Help - I think I fried my camera!!

  1. #1
    Ausphotography Regular danny's Avatar
    Join Date
    13 Apr 2010
    Location
    Goulburn
    Posts
    591
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Please Help - I think I fried my camera!!

    I hope that I have simply pressed a button without knowing it… but I think it is a lot worse than that.

    I left my D7000 in the car today and when I got it out after work to use it it does't seemed to work correctly. When I press the shutter button it takes a photo but reads an error message (err) on the top screen. I press the button again and the error message goes away. When the error message is there the shutter is closed.

    So in summery, what I think happens is that the camera is able to take a photo and then the shutter closes again until I repress the shutter button.


    Can anyone please HELP!!!!!

    Danny

  2. #2
    Who let the rabble in? Lance B's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Aug 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    7,759
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Try pulling out the battery and re-inserting it.

  3. #3
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    danny's Avatar
    Join Date
    13 Apr 2010
    Location
    Goulburn
    Posts
    591
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    cheers Lance, I've tried that.

  4. #4
    Ausphotography Regular
    Join Date
    15 Nov 2013
    Location
    Jamestown
    Posts
    1,048
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You could try downloading the latest firmware updates and installing them, if your menu functions still work. This is a stab in the dark, maybe someone else who knows a bit more can give us an opinion on doing this?
    Last edited by RJD; 18-02-2014 at 8:41pm.

  5. #5
    Perpetually Bewildered fillum's Avatar
    Join Date
    13 Sep 2009
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,138
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It's not in mirror lock up mode or something like that is it? (Although I wouldn't expect an err code in that case).
    Phil.

    Some Nikon stuff. I shoot Mirrorless and Mirrorlessless.


  6. #6
    Ausphotography Regular J.davis's Avatar
    Join Date
    17 Dec 2008
    Location
    Willowbank
    Posts
    1,089
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Check the lens contacts, clean them with an eraser.
    Mine got a bit dirty and the camera wont focus, so it wont work. Also it wont recognize the lens fitted.
    Regards
    John
    Nikon D750, Sigma 105mm OS Macro, Tokina 16-28 F2.8, Sigma 24-105 Art, Sigma 150-600C,
    Benro Tripod and Monopod with Arca plates

  7. #7
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    danny's Avatar
    Join Date
    13 Apr 2010
    Location
    Goulburn
    Posts
    591
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Phil - that was my first thought … cheers

    John - good idea I'll have a look right now!

    cheers

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by J.davis View Post
    Check the lens contacts, clean them with an eraser.
    Mine got a bit dirty and the camera wont focus, so it wont work. Also it wont recognize the lens fitted.
    John I wish there was a "Thanks for the advise, you have saved my bacon" button. THANK YOU it worked

    Damn I love this site!!!
    Danny

  8. #8
    A royal pain in the bum! arthurking83's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Jun 2006
    Location
    the worst house, in the best street
    Posts
    7,759
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    A plain and simple err msg on the top LCD usually means that the card inserted has issues.
    That's generally the major issue, but not the only one.

    To see if this is the problem, take the card out and try to take a shot.
    If you haven't played with the default settings too much, the camera is usually set(by default) to allow exposures without a memory card. And it stores them in the RAM memory, and can't be saved anywhere, but can be seen on the review screen.

    if this doesn't help, it could also be something else easy to fix.

    Don't stress until you've tried all the easy checklists.
    Nikon D800E, D300, D70s
    {Nikon} -> 50/1.2 : 500/8(CPU'd) : 105/2.8VR Micro : 180/2.8ais : 105mm f/1.8ais : 24mm/2ais
    {Sigma}; ->10-20/4-5.6 : 50/1.4 : 12-24/4.5-5.6II : 150-600mm|S
    {Tamron}; -> 17-50/2.8 : 28-75/2.8 : 70-200/2.8 : 300/2.8 SP MF : 24-70/2.8VC


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •