User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0

Thread: Broke my 18-55mm Canon 600d lens. Advice on more versatile replacement

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Broke my 18-55mm Canon 600d lens. Advice on more versatile replacement

Dropped the camera. 18-55mm lens itself didn't break, but the autofocus no longer works.

1. I'm assuming cost of repair is probably not worth it?

2. REPLACEMENT = I don't tend to use a big lens, but want a stock lens that can do the up close work, but with little more zoom than the 55mm.
    I'm not a $1000/lens person. I'm kind of hoping for $200-$400 but will pay more if that's what's really needed. Open to Tamron or Sigma lenses.

I photograph people, landscape, portraits, little stuff (almost macro)... and I travel a lot so love something that doesn't take too much room. Photography is only one of many interests so I'm no expert and don't buy the best of everything - but still try to capture those things that intrigue me as thoughtfully & creatively as I can. Amazing images were produced on pinhole cameras, but... lenses do make a difference, I know.

Would appreciate suggestions on appropriate lenses.

Ausphotography Veteran
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    17 - 70 MM Sigma - Covers the bases very well on a APS-C body.

Review here, and very positive.

Rough idea on price - local stock, and Aussie warranty. Here - I'm not pushing DCW, just used as an example. There are Site Sponsors that will be able to help you directly with firm pricing, look under the site sponsors tab/banner
    They call me "Blue" it's a red head thing.
    "My Flickr Site"
    Canon Bodies - 1DMk2N + 50D - Lenses - 17-35mm F2.8 L - 24-70mm F2.8 L - 70-200mm F2.8 L - 300mm F4 IS L - Sigma 18-50mm F2.8 - Sigma 10-20mm - DJI Mavic Pro Platinum
    " I Never get tired of looking at our diverse country, even if its through the lens of someone else".
    CC is always appreciated.