User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: Magic lantern and damage to cameras??

  1. #1
    Member Ragsy's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Jan 2014
    Location
    Para Vista
    Posts
    74
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Cool Magic lantern and damage to cameras??

    Hey all,

    After reading a bit about Magic Lantern for canon cameras I have noticed that it mentions that developers are not liable for any damage to a device.

    My question is can devices be damaged by using programs like this on cameras?? Or are they just covering themselves?


    Thanks Ragsy

  2. #2
    A royal pain in the bum! arthurking83's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Jun 2006
    Location
    the worst house, in the best street
    Posts
    8,185
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    With my(limited) understanding of how Magic Lantern's firmware works, they're just covering themselves.

    The biggest issue with loading a non genuine firmware is the risk of bricking the device.
    But ML runs from the memory card, not loaded into the cameras memory module. So if the camera locks up, you take out the card and the camera works as per normal.

    As for hardware damages??? It's safe to assume that the manufacturer has limits imposed on what the devices hardware can and can't (physically) achieve.
    On the lower end devices, these limitations will surely be a marketing exercise, more than a physical hardware limit.
    But if there is any option to push hardware further, for the purpose of achieving greater results in some form, then you could run into trouble.
    Nikon D800E, D300, D70s
    {Nikon} -> 50/1.2 : 500/8(CPU'd) : 105/2.8VR Micro : 180/2.8ais : 105mm f/1.8ais : 24mm/2ais
    {Sigma}; ->10-20/4-5.6 : 50/1.4 : 12-24/4.5-5.6II : 150-600mm|S
    {Tamron}; -> 17-50/2.8 : 28-75/2.8 : 70-200/2.8 : 300/2.8 SP MF : 24-70/2.8VC


  3. #3
    Member
    Threadstarter
    Ragsy's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Jan 2014
    Location
    Para Vista
    Posts
    74
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for your reply.

    Much helpful.

    Ragsy

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    26 Aug 2010
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    252
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've been using LM on a 60D and 550D for a couple of years now with no problems at all. Most used features for me are the magnified focussing and audio monitoring when videoing the kids' stage performances.
    Mark

    Canon 70D w/Grip l Canon 60D w/Grip l EF 100-400 f4.5-5.6L IS USM l EF 70-200 f4L IS USM l EF-S 15-85 f3.5-5.6 IS USM l EF 100 f2.8 USM Macro l EF-S 18-55 f3.5-5.6 IS STM l EF 50 f1.8 II l Canon EF-S 10-22 f3.5-4.5 USM l 430 EX II Flash l Rode Stereo VideoMic l Manfrotto 055XPROB + 498RC2 Tripod l Benro MP-96 M8 Monopod l Lowepro Vertex 200 AW Backpack l Lowepro Pro Runner 300 AW Backpack l PS CS5 Extended l Lightroom 4.3

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    31 Jul 2010
    Location
    Perth Northern Suburbs
    Posts
    3,712
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by unistudent1962 View Post
    I've been using LM on a 60D and 550D for a couple of years now with no problems at all. Most used features for me are the magnified focussing and audio monitoring when videoing the kids' stage performances.
    Sorry to but in, Mark - How well does the magnification work? and is that on the 60D as I've towed with the idea of putting ML on 50D. I use Liveview a lot for landscape work.

    Cheers
    They call me "Blue" it's a red head thing.
    "My Flickr Site"
    Canon Bodies - 1DMk2N + 50D - Lenses - 17-35mm F2.8 L - 24-70mm F2.8 L - 70-200mm F2.8 L - 300mm F4 IS L - Sigma 18-50mm F2.8 - Sigma 10-20mm
    " I Never get tired of looking at our diverse country, even if its through the lens of someone else".
    CC is always appreciated.


  6. #6
    Member
    Threadstarter
    Ragsy's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Jan 2014
    Location
    Para Vista
    Posts
    74
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks all for your contribution


    Another question for you guys that use it, how did u manage to copy ML to a SD card?? Can you use a card reader or does that only read the cards?


    Ragsy

  7. #7
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,815
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ragsy. Yes. That's right. Usually, you copy it to the root directory of the card, so, if for example, your card
    shows up as Drive E: on your computer, put ML in a folder structure that will look like:
    E:\ML.

    That is, of course, unless the instructions tell you to do something else. Then follow your camera instructions for how to load and run it
    for use in the camera.

    Am.
    CC, Image editing OK.

  8. #8
    Member
    Threadstarter
    Ragsy's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Jan 2014
    Location
    Para Vista
    Posts
    74
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanks Am

    how do you copy it?? with a card reader, will a card reader write onto the card or only read it??

  9. #9
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,815
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    With a card reader(/writer). So it's too long to say card-reader/writer, so...
    Hook it up. It acts like a disk drive. Copy the files onto it (the root directory), and
    put the card back into your camera. Anyway, you can just hook the camera direct to the computer with USB, too.
    Am.

  10. #10

  11. #11
    Ausphotography Regular
    Join Date
    14 Dec 2009
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    686
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have only heard of people having problems when they've created te problems themselves.
    My website has my most recent work - mostly music photography. I am a photographer for Violent Soho, The Smith Street Band and more.

    I also have some photography tips for those with new cameras.

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    20 Jan 2012
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    750
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Agreed - I installed it for my 60D as well and have had no problems at all
    Steve


  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    11 Apr 2014
    Location
    Burleigh Waters Gold Coast
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have installed the basic Magic Lantern version and the RAW version about a dozen times now. The only problems i had was the camera going dead and having to remove the battery and the card. But all is well. Yesterday the sensor overheating icon came on after the camera had been switched on for an hour. that is the first time i had the sensor overheating problem. The reason why the guys give the big disclaimer is to protect themselves legally - if you install Magic Lantern then you need to take full responsibility but from what i have read on the Internet and my own experience so far there does not seem to be any real danger with ML. Hope this helps.

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    19 Jul 2010
    Location
    Parramatta
    Posts
    96
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I tried installling Magic Lantern on my 60D a few months back and couldn't get it working. However, it was really late (or, more precisely, really early the next morning) and I was tired and in a rush to get it done so I could go to sleep, so I might have missed a step or two.

    Going to try again soon, and see if I can get it working properly.

    - - - Updated - - -

    I tried installling Magic Lantern on my 60D a few months back and couldn't get it working. However, it was really late (or, more precisely, really early the next morning) and I was tired and in a rush to get it done so I could go to sleep, so I might have missed a step or two.

    Going to try again soon, and see if I can get it working properly.
    Nick T.

    Canon EOS 60D; Canon 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM; Canon 70-200mm f/2.8L USM; Canon "Nifty Fifty" 50mm F/1.8 II; Canon 100mm f/2.8 IS USM Macro; 2x Sigma EF-530DG Super flashes; Manfrotto 190XProB + 804CR2

  15. #15
    Lightbender
    Join Date
    15 Apr 2014
    Location
    Oakhurst
    Posts
    2,069
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This looks interesting. I shoot with a 500D and note theres a port for that body.

    From those who use it, what are the long exposure benefits? The wiki has some info but not much specific to the 500D.

  16. #16
    Member bes's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Jan 2014
    Location
    Cowra
    Posts
    84
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Grant S View Post
    This looks interesting. I shoot with a 500D and note theres a port for that body.

    From those who use it, what are the long exposure benefits? The wiki has some info but not much specific to the 500D.
    I have on the 1100d and with mine you set "bulb" to basically as long as you like. I'm not sure what else apart from maybe the Intervalometer and advanced bracket controls that may help long exposures.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Grant S View Post
    This looks interesting. I shoot with a 500D and note theres a port for that body.

    From those who use it, what are the long exposure benefits? The wiki has some info but not much specific to the 500D.
    I have on the 1100d and with mine you set "bulb" to basically as long as you like. I'm not sure what else apart from maybe the Intervalometer and advanced bracket controls that may help long exposures.

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    10 Dec 2010
    Location
    sydney
    Posts
    463
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If this thread is still alive, I have just installed it and it works fine for me.

    A couple of things to note:

    Format the card in your camera - as per instructions.

    Insert card in computer.

    Copy files to the card's root directory.

    EJECT the card. (I"m using XP and you open the drive list and right click the disc and scroll to EJECT")

    Put it in camera, "updates software" let it run.

    You see a screen saying it is done, and that's it.
    +===========================================+
    Canon EOS 550D 18-135 (IS) lens 90-300 lens
    +===========================================+

  18. #18
    Member FenderFan's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Apr 2013
    Location
    Liverpool
    Posts
    21
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have ran ML on my 600d for over a year no problem, great for taking photos of lightning.

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    22 Oct 2008
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    132
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yup old thread but I also never had issues with my 60D
    Hayden

    Canon Collector
    My Flickr

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •