User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  5
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Boot device query?

  1. #1
    Ausphotography Regular
    Join Date
    27 May 2009
    Location
    Northern Beaches - Sydney
    Posts
    774
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Boot device query?

    My computer (Dell laptop running Win7 Pro) has suddenly started asking me to specify the boot device every time it boots.
    I have attached a screen shot of the box that pops up.

    I have checked that there is nothing in the DVD drive. I have several times gone into the setup and checked the boot order, and it is correct (Boot from Hard Drive).
    If I press ESC it boots normally using the Hard Drive (default).

    Any ideas how I can get this to stop?

    Thanks for any help.

    20131228_094551_s.jpg
    David

    Nikon D810
    Nikkor AF-S 24-120VR, Nikkor AF-S 16-35VR, Nikkor AF-S 70-300VR, Nikkor AF 50 f1.8
    Tamron 90mm Macro

  2. #2
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,643
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Umm. depending on your BIOS, there could be another setting that states something like 'ask for boot device at start-up' y/n

    Some have it, some BIOS do not have it.

    Also it could be a loose connection to your HDD, so if you are capable, open it up and trace the cables from the HDD back to the MoBo and check they are securely seated in their sockets at each end.
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  3. #3
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    27 May 2009
    Location
    Northern Beaches - Sydney
    Posts
    774
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi, thanks for the reply.
    I have looked through the Setup and couldn't find anything that asks for that setting. I can open the computer to check the drive connections, but the fact that it boots fine if I press ESC I think says that the hardware is OK, it must be something else. Puzzling...

  4. #4
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,643
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    The cabling could be loose, but not loose enough to stop it working, but enough to trigger a message from the BIOS.

  5. #5
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    27 May 2009
    Location
    Northern Beaches - Sydney
    Posts
    774
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    After some research and thought I have come to the conclusion that it is a sticking F12 key causing the problem.

    Now I have to figure out how to fix it, if it was a desktop I could just buy a new keyboard, not so easy with a laptop.

    Update: just found a Dell keyboard to fit my laptop on ebay, Aussie supplier, $25 incl delivery, so I bought one. I can fit it when it arrives, should fix the problem.
    Last edited by davidd; 30-12-2013 at 12:15pm. Reason: Update

  6. #6
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    27 May 2009
    Location
    Northern Beaches - Sydney
    Posts
    774
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    A Final follow-up. I ordered a new keyboard (from Broadway Computers in Victoria), amazing service, the keyboard was delivered in less than 24 hours from ordering.
    I changed over to the new one (less than 5 mins work) and now all seems fine! Thanks for the help.
    Happy New Year to all.

  7. #7
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,811
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reading the early posts I was going to say: battery on the way out. (If that's an issue these days with such laptops.)
    Glad it's fixed. A "keyboard error" gremlin.
    Am.
    CC, Image editing OK.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    24 Mar 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    521
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ameerat42 View Post
    Reading the early posts I was going to say: battery on the way out. (If that's an issue these days with such laptops.)
    Glad it's fixed. A "keyboard error" gremlin.
    Am.
    FTR, modern computers do not require a battery to sustain BIOS settings; they're stored in EEPROM or FLASH memory that retain their contents when powered-down.

    To be honest, a stuck F12 key would not have occurred to me at all - or at least for a very long time - so kudos to davidd for diagnosing that!
    --
    Nikon D90
    Nikkor 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II, Nikkor 35mm f/1.8G
    Nikon SB-700 Speedlight
    RRS BH-55 Ballhead & B2 AS II Clamp
    (no legs yet)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •