User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  4
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: How to see when lens is set to 50mm?

  1. #1
    Former Username : Wetpixels Dazz1's Avatar
    Join Date
    08 May 2013
    Location
    South East Queensland
    Posts
    3,261
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    How to see when lens is set to 50mm?

    The current competition requires 50mm. I don't have a prime 50mm lens, so I am wondering how I can tell when my 18-55 zoom is set to exactly 50mm? (this is on my Canon 600D) Is there a setting/info screen somewhere that displays the actual focal length as I alter the zoom?
    80D, 600D, Sigma 150-600mm F5-6.3 DG OS HSM Lens - Contemporary, Sigma 18-250mm 1:3.5-6.3 DC Macro OS HSM lens, EF-S 18-55mm f3.5-5.6 IS STM lens, EF-S 18-55mm f3.5-5.6 IS II lens, EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS II lens, Yongnuo YN500EX flash, Velbon Sherpa 5370D tripod, PH-157Q head, Klika W1003 monopod, AF Macro Extension tubes, LED Ringflash Software: DPP4, Gimp, UFRaw, Rawtherapee, DigiKam, Hugin

  2. #2
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,641
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Take a tet shot and review the image on your LCD. Use your manual and there is a way to make the details like settings etc (the EXIF) appear on the LCD. Then you can adjust as needed.
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  3. #3
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,795
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Canon 600D? No idea, unfortunately. Is it shown anywhere in Live View when you select different display modes? In my camera I can ONLY see
    the FL after I have taken the shot and view the info. If nothing else, it should be displayed that way. Then make a mark at the zoom position, I suppose.
    Am.
    CC, Image editing OK.

  4. #4
    Former Username : Wetpixels
    Threadstarter
    Dazz1's Avatar
    Join Date
    08 May 2013
    Location
    South East Queensland
    Posts
    3,261
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ricktas View Post
    Take a tet shot and review the image on your LCD. Use your manual and there is a way to make the details like settings etc (the EXIF) appear on the LCD. Then you can adjust as needed.

    Yes, the info button shows various things, speed, aperture, ISO time, size etc, but focal length doesn't appear to be one of them.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by ameerat42 View Post
    Canon 600D? No idea, unfortunately. Is it shown anywhere in Live View when you select different display modes? In my camera I can ONLY see
    the FL after I have taken the shot and view the info. If nothing else, it should be displayed that way. Then make a mark at the zoom position, I suppose.
    Am.
    Good idea, just tried live view, but no, doesn't seem to be displayed.

  5. #5
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,795
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well, EXIF will/should have it.
    (And you should be able to see it in playback with correct display set.)
    Last edited by ameerat42; 10-12-2013 at 1:06pm.

  6. #6
    Former Username : Wetpixels
    Threadstarter
    Dazz1's Avatar
    Join Date
    08 May 2013
    Location
    South East Queensland
    Posts
    3,261
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ameerat42 View Post
    Well, EXIF will/should have it.
    (And you should be able to see it in playback with correct display set.)

    It certainly has it, just getting it to display is the trick.

    I just found one way, although not ideal. I attached the camera to my computer via a USB cable and ran a program called Entangle, which allows remote control of the camera. When I take a shot using Entangle, it displays the Exif INCLUDING the focal length. I took a series, slowly changing the zoom until it read 50mm, so I think I know where to set the lens now. I just hope I don't take a winning shot, only to find I am 1mm off on the zoom

  7. #7
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,641
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    or..buy yourself an early christmas present. a nifty 50 can be had very cheap

  8. #8
    Former Username : Wetpixels
    Threadstarter
    Dazz1's Avatar
    Join Date
    08 May 2013
    Location
    South East Queensland
    Posts
    3,261
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ricktas View Post
    or..buy yourself an early christmas present. a nifty 50 can be had very cheap
    Sssh, if my wife hear's you, there'll be trouble...

    - - - Updated - - -

    btw. meant to ask - under the rules of the comp, can we use close up filters, as long as the exif reads 50mm?
    Last edited by Dazz1; 10-12-2013 at 1:48pm.

  9. #9
    Member oxygen45's Avatar
    Join Date
    17 Jun 2013
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    156
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Do you use Lightroom?

    If so go to Library, Enable Filters then select the focal length you are after.

  10. #10
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,641
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by wetpixels View Post
    Sssh, if my wife hear's you, there'll be trouble...

    - - - Updated - - -

    btw. meant to ask - under the rules of the comp, can we use close up filters, as long as the exif reads 50mm?
    filters etc and what you do in editing is up to you. Though you need to consider if members would vote for an entry in a 50mm comp that may not appear to fit the theme (for the persons voting). Sometimes getting outside the box works, other times it can be detrimental if voters feel the link to the theme is lost.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •