User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  3
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Have you tried Locking up the mirror

  1. #1
    Ausphotography Regular
    Join Date
    28 Mar 2011
    Location
    Modbury
    Posts
    784
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Have you tried Locking up the mirror

    Well due to family issues haven't had much of a chance to get out and try anything except yesterday down at the port to try to get some shots of the Tall Ships that came in. But the weather was dull and not real happy with shots more my lack of knowledge and ability than any thing else but will try to post some soon.

    My next have you tried is locking up the mirror.

    I have a Nikon D5000 but not had much luck but probably me so if you haven't tried well I'm going to try reading up on it a bit more to try to get a handle on the process over the next week.
    Nikon, D750, D5000, 35mm f/1.8, 18-55mm & 55-200mm kit lens,
    Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8, Sigma 120-400mm, Sigma 150-600S, SB-910, Metz mecablitz 58 AF-2
    Manfrotto 680B Mono + 234RC tilt, 055XPROB + 804RC2.

  2. #2
    Who let the rabble in? Lance B's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Aug 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    7,630
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you are locking up the mirror to take a long shutter speed photo is really only of benefit if you are on a stable tripod. It is also best to use a remote release to also minimise camera shake when you press the shutter for the second time to release the shutter.

  3. #3
    Ausphotography Regular
    Join Date
    27 May 2009
    Location
    Northern Beaches - Sydney
    Posts
    747
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Are you sure the D5000 has mirror lock-up? The mirror lock-up for shooting is available on the high end Nikons. They all have the Mirror lock-up for cleaning, but you cannot use this for shooting. Check your manual to see if this feature is available on the D5000.
    David

    Nikon D810
    Nikkor AF-S 24-120VR, Nikkor AF-S 16-35VR, Nikkor AF-S 70-300VR, Nikkor AF 50 f1.8
    Tamron 90mm Macro

  4. #4
    Who let the rabble in? Lance B's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Aug 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    7,630
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by davidd View Post
    Are you sure the D5000 has mirror lock-up? The mirror lock-up for shooting is available on the high end Nikons. They all have the Mirror lock-up for cleaning, but you cannot use this for shooting. Check your manual to see if this feature is available on the D5000.
    Good point. I had forgotton that it is only on the higher end Nikon cameras.

  5. #5
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    14,817
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Bad luck! Looks like the only fun you can have with the mirror up is to clean the sensor
    CC, Image editing OK.

  6. #6
    Sunrise Chaser
    Join Date
    10 Jul 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    6,346
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Oh well that stops me on commenting as well
    Canon : 30D, and sometimes the 5D mkIII , Sigma 10-20, 50mm 1.8, Canon 24-105 f4 L , On loan Sigma 120-400 DG and Canon 17 - 40 f4 L , Cokin Filters




  7. #7
    Ausphotography irregular Mark L's Avatar
    Join Date
    21 Nov 2010
    Location
    magical Mudgee
    Posts
    16,381
    Mentioned
    22 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    For any photos I take using a tripod ,I'll use live view, which means mirror is locked up.
    "Enjoy what you can do rather than being frustrated at what you can't." bobt
    60D, Canon 28-105, Sigma 150-600S, Sigma 120-400, a speedlite, a tripod, a monopod, a remote release and a padded bag to carry things in.

  8. #8
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    28 Mar 2011
    Location
    Modbury
    Posts
    784
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well Dito for me also in that case. I was aware of it for longer exposure times but wasn't certain of availability on in my case the D5000.

    I had tried the lock up for cleaning but at the time it didn't seem right so In my case it's a no go area. But if you have a camera that does allow then you are probably already using it.

    Unfortunately I didn't get time to add more into the original post as I was needing to leave so it was a rushed effort so if it sounded a bit vague or half put together that's the reason so so apologies for a lack of thought before posting.

    I was also going to add to this weeks, Exposure Compensation which I haven't tried and only briefly looked at so that's one which I probably need to look at. So will try to get another shot of the Tall Ships tomorrow morning and give some of these a bit more of a try.

  9. #9
    Ausphotography Addict geoffsta's Avatar
    Join Date
    07 May 2010
    Location
    Bruthen, East Gippsland
    Posts
    4,606
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Long exposure is reasonably simple... Set camera on tripod. Set timer to "on". Place camera into Manual. Set Aperture & ISO. Push the info button. Adjust shutter speed while watching the exposure meter. When expose is in the middle, take the shot. If it comes out too light, lengthen the shutter speed. If it comes out too dark, shorten the shutter speed.
    Geoff
    Honesty is best policy.
    CC is always welcome
    Nikon D3000 ... Nikon D90... Nikon D700 Various lenses, Home studio equipment and all the associated stuff
    Flickr

  10. #10
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    28 Mar 2011
    Location
    Modbury
    Posts
    784
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Have tried a few times and now have a variable ND so just trying to find the time to get out and try and will have to find out at what point mirror movement becomes an issue with the lenses I have unfortunately time is my problem.

    I do want to get a remote trigger but haven't researched enough to decide how little to spend for the trigger but still allow for expansion of a lighting system later or if they communicate with other brands but I have a long way to go before going that far but maintaining flexibility is one thing I keep in mind.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •