User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  3
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Sunset/Sunrise Timelapse using GoPro

  1. #1
    All lines lead to Home ...
    Join Date
    12 Apr 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    847
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Sunset/Sunrise Timelapse using GoPro

    I recently purchased a Hero 3 Silver. And I'm just wondering is there anything that we need to change on the GoPro if I want to shoot a sunset?

    I took a series of shots (1.5 hrs worth) just before sunset, and towards the end of the timelapse, many of the pictures were overexposed, and it did not show the pretty red/orange colours of the sunset.

    I know this had to do with the metering on the camera, however I'm not sure how I can change this on the Gopro. I'll upload what I shot the otherday later this evening. I'll have to resize the files, because I did a test conversion the other night and the end product came out to 1.1Gb

    Is there a sunset mode or do I need to make those changes in post?
    Regards,
    Phil

  2. #2
    Photo taker
    Join Date
    19 Jan 2009
    Location
    bathurst
    Posts
    623
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    im hoping you can as i had the same experience
    Canon 5D MKiii / Sony A7Rii / Canon 16-35mm f 4 L /Canon EF 24-70mm f-2.8 L USM / Canon EF 70-200mm f2.8 L IS USM / SIGMA 50mm F14. ART


  3. #3
    All lines lead to Home ...
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    12 Apr 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    847
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ok, i have exported the files using LR to 500K each, however when I merge them together using CS4, the size of the movie (*.mov) goes down to 913Mb. Is this a normal size (seems a little big to me)? What do others use to create timelapse?

  4. #4
    All lines lead to Home ...
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    12 Apr 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    847
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Here we go. Down to 19Mb


  5. #5
    All lines lead to Home ...
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    12 Apr 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    847
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by harper View Post
    im hoping you can as i had the same experience
    G'DAy Harper,

    I'll try shoot a timelapse of the backyard today using spot metering, we'll see how I go.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    17 Sep 2008
    Location
    old bar
    Posts
    314
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Not 100% but i think i read that it meters off the first shot and then does not change, a guy who works for gopro recommends using the 4K video mode for timelapses, good articles: http://abekislevitz.com/understanding-your-new-gopro/

    interested to see the results with the spot metering.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •